We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #130 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location with sea views. We had one of the smaller rooms with a small bathroom, but that was fine for us. Staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The courtyard was well kept and full of flowers. We had a quick swim in the small pool which was warm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon_75_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    63
    19
    20
    9
See reviews for
109
127
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The views were outstanding and the grounds were beautifully kept with flowering plants everywhere. Our room was also recently remodeled so everything was bright and clean. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel!! I have stayed the last two times I've been in San Diego. It is in an excellent location with outstanding views. Watching the sunset from a beach chair overlooking the ocean with a glass of red wine in hand is now my favorite thing to do here. I highly recommend it :)
Rooms were very clean. Hardwood floors and marble tiled bathrooms give it an upscale, modern touch. The courtyard is replete with rose bushes and other beautiful plants, a nice swimming pool.
Another thing I really love about this hotel and its location is the fact that it feels so private and intimate, despite being fully booked both times I've stayed.
I'll definitely be going back the next time I'm in SD. Have and will continue to recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hotel is excellent! I have stayed here twice and will always come back to this spot, the staff is very helpful and friendly and you can even park right at the hotel which is very convenient, if your looking for the best bang for your buck with ocean views literally right outside your hotel room you cant go wrong with this place! i would definitely recommend this place anybody 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel is really nice, view is beyond amazing, plants are well kept and rooms, and last thing it's good for couple to have a romantic stat!! Only thing that's a bummer is it's kinda far from downtown. I would def recommend this hotel to my friends and family! California has the toughest place to park but this place has your own parking, I came with my family and we had couple of car, it was easy for us to park!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KobeSurfsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

...then you probably aren't going to click excellent. First, let's start with all that's good - really good - here. The location is incredible. The staff are some of the nicest, helpful folks you'll meet. The cleaning folks are top-notch. The grounds are beautiful - especially if, yes, you are having a wedding here. But, unfortunately, for most guests, there is more time spent on the roses and flowers than are spent on rooms. We booked the 2 bedroom suite with the full kitchen; fully furnished with dishes and utensils which is nice. But, the rooms smell. This used to be a smoking motel and if the windows aren't open and the breeze blowing through, you can still smell the smoke. The floors are a wood laminate that creak when you walk on them, and continue creaking long after, even randomly. This is disturbing when someone gets up in the night... Bring your earplugs, even though you want to hear the sounds of the water, the creaking overpowers it every time and will wake you. The bathroom is small and cramped. The furniture is old and out-dated.

On our 2nd to last night, there was a group of folks above us who had just attended a wedding rehearsal. They were drunk and loud - even if they had not been drunk, you hear every footfall because of the wood floors with nothing between the floor and ceiling. We complained to the night manager (nice guy!) and he went up there twice to ask them to quiet down. The next morning, beginning around 7:00 a.m.m they started getting "ready" to attend a wedding - 7 people. All walking back and forth and back and forth. We spoke to Leo (again, another great guy who was as helpful as could be). He gave us a discount on the room for the night and moved us to a more expensive end unit on the 2nd floor, again discounted slightly for the inconvenience.

Pictures are attached of the excellent view from the window. But, look at the pictures of the lamp. The telephone for gosh sake. You wouldn't give this stuff away at a yard sale, you'd throw it in the trash. The refrigerator and microwave were old and tucked in a closet - very cramped room. No place to put your suitcase unless it's on the loveseat or the floor in front of the bed.

This is not a getaway for relaxation. It is not luxury. It is an old, out-dated very high-priced for what it is. I am tired of TripAdvisor reviews where everyone claims how great a place is - just because the view is great and people are nice does not make a place Excellent. Call it like it is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denverfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize our hotel was not to your satisfaction. Glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds. The smell is common and comes from the ocean during this time of year, we were never a smoking motel and actually prefer people smoke off property. We are always trying to upgrade our rooms as we can. Due to the ocean breeze and salt air, many things rust at a stunning rate. It may be rusty but not old. We have upgraded many pieces of furniture and lighting throughout the entire hotel. Your room is scheduled for remodel and we would like to invite you back to experience what our other trip advisor members are sharing about. Relaxation...Tranquility...Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this place. We had our wedding here and it was utterly perfect! We got married here on 09/07/13 and I wouldn’t change anything about our fantastic day. Gavin (the hotel manager/events coordinator) was amazing and a pleasure to work with. He made sure the day went off without a hitch and took away any worry that we may have had. This is a great location to get married and have a reception at, everything is close by and the venue is so gorgeous that there really is not too much need for additional decorations. The staff is incredible and made my friends and family feel so welcome. If you are looking for a place to get married in OB, look no further, you couldn’t find anything better than The Inn at Sunset Cliffs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsZavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#144 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#171 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Property: The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel and brand new oceanfront patio! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing