We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect for a wedding/vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #143 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect for a wedding/vacation”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This quaint hotel is filled with fresh flowers growing, crashing waves by the patio, views that cannot be beat, and a staff that is fabulous.
Best kept secret... in a quiet neighborhood. When you enter through the glass doors, it is like a dream world. The outside world becomes a distant memory. You are met with beautiful roses, and the vast ocean in front of you. Whether you are sitting on the lower patio by the wood stove, or up on the main patio on wooden rocking chairs, the air is full of ocean breezes and the sunsets are amazing!
A perfect venue for a wedding. We were 100% satisfied with setting and the staff. It is a dream come true for a wedding. Gavin and his staff were the best !!
A perfect venue for a vacation. How could anyone complain with a setting such as this? The staff (all of them!) will be there to make sure your needs are met. They have great coffee at all times in the lounge area, too.

Room Tip: There is not bad room in this place !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnieplusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    63
    20
    20
    11
See reviews for
112
128
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is a hidden gem! Great location, friendly staff and breathtaking view! We stayed here for ten days in january and it was amazing! The apartment (two bedrooms one bathroom) was huge and clean with fully equipped kitchen; no worries if there's no restaurant as there are many places nearby where you can have breakfast/lunch/dinner, and Ocean beach rocks! We didn't use the swimming pool as it was too cold, but it seemed gorgeous, and surrounded by a lovely and well cared garden! The lounge facing the ocean is perfect and you can see terrific sunsets! The only lack is that they're not pet friendly, that is a bit annoying for such a great place! I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter, less crowded and with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLovesSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just got married there and had the most amazing time. The staff was incredible, extremely helpful! Our families had so much fun, and our friends said it was the best wedding ever! The different rooms allow for all your different sized families and friends. Great for people traveling with children (bring your baby monitor out on to the dance floor!) Great location, you can walk to downtown Ocean Beach, and a quick cab/drive to Shelter Island/Liberty Station.The manager is a huge help in planning and in day of coordinating. We could not have asked for anything more!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dsmccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just got married at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs and it was soooo AMAZING!! The hotel is awesome, the rooms are awesome, the location is awesome, and most importantly Gavin and his staff are amazing!! Gavin did such a great job with our wedding, he took the time to figure out exactly what we wanted and carried it out perfectly. We received star treatment the whole time, he lead our rehearsal perfectly, and on the day of he took care of everything (timeline, vendors, etc) so all we had to worry about was ourselves. My family and friends are still talking about how perfect everything was, how nice the staff was, and how cool of a location it was. It was such an amazing experience, I recommend everyone get married here! Thank you to Gavin and the staff at the Inn! We had such a wonderful day!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! You can hear the ocean from every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL--we simply could not have picked a better location. Everyone kept raving about the gorgeous view. And with most guests staying at the Inn, we loved the community of the experience--everyone already knew each other by the time the wedding took place. Gavin and his crew were excellent, as well, ensuring that our event was a success. I highly recommend it to anyone vacationing or planning a special event!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This beautiful Inn was the perfect spot for our October Wedding. The staff was amazing, the rooms were beautiful and the location was incredible. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The staff helped us to plan the wedding of our dreams. There is a beautiful lower terrace where we exchanged vows that is about as close as you can get to the ocean with out getting wet. I recommend this Inn to any one planning a romantic, intimate wedding or looking to get away and enjoy the view. AMAZING! AMAZING! AMAZING!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaRlpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Found this great property on LA Times. Just wanted to get away from Los Angeles and enjoy some ocean breeze. The property is situated in a residential area but is close to 1 rest and 1 liquor/mart store.

Small and quaint with a great ocean view from their property. I was able to have dinner and enjoy the view from one of their outdoor tables and coffee and a newspaper in the morning enjoying the morning before heading out to breakfast.

Rooms are small, but who stays the room when there is such a great view.

Million dollar view and the rate was really reasonable. Great staff too.

Room Tip: There is a very small rest just about 200 ft from the property where you can order takeout seafood a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your business and hope you return in the near future. The hotel is here for guest just like you, who enjoy an amazing ocean view. We like to hear how you enjoyed the location. We are always updating rooms throughout the year. Hope you will be back soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#147 of 279 in San Diego
741 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#174 of 279 in San Diego
325 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
878 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Property: The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel and brand new oceanfront patio! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelPower so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing