We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice View, Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #114 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice View, Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here after a conference in San Diego. The Inn has a beautiful location along the cliffs. It is in a residential neighborhood at the intersection of Sunset Cliffs Blvd and Point Loma Ave. Its at the north end Sunset Cliffs trail which leads along the cliff edge 1.5 miles to the Sunset Cliffs Natural Park. Along the cliffs you'll spot pelicans, gulls, cormorants, and lots of surfers. Further south is Point Loma itself. Don't miss the Cabrillo National Monument, but we forewarned it has limited hours.

The hotel itself is a beautifully renovated throwback to the 1950's. The courtyard rooms are small but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and well laid out. There are tables and chair arranged on the cliff side of the property, the perfect place to have take-out while watching the sunset. There is adequate parking on the Point Loma Ave side of the property. Check in and check out were efficient. They have coffee and tourist brochures next to the small lobby.

All in all, an excellent value for a waterfront property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    60
    18
    18
    7
See reviews for
102
118
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week and had a great stay. The location is amazing right on the ocean. We stayed in the Poolside Queen room. The room was good for two people and had a good size fridge. The staff were friendly and had a nice bottle of wine in our room with a rose as we were celebrating our honeymoon. The coffee was delicious and the Point Loma Beach Cafe next door had great breakfast burritos and smoothies. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinglaura22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently had an opportunity to spend a couple of days in the San Diego area and my wife found and booked this Inn. It was an absolutely great place to stay. The view of the Ocean is the best. Chairs with tables set along the back of the Inn, overlooking the Pacific, where you could watch Pelicans fly overhead and the porpoise/dolphins play in the water. The hosts were very accommodating and gracious. The hotel is very kept up very well and the flowers on the grounds are beautiful. We went for a walk along the coastline that began almost right next door to the Inn. Close to a number of fun local restaurants. Nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. Truly a very nice Inn that we plan on visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petesher82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was in San Diego for the Ocean Beach Street Fair, and found this within easy walking distance. Great location, and clean. Only a limited amount of rooms which makes it not crowded at all. Very nice to sit on the patio each morning and enjoy a cup of coffee looking over the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you are looking for a small hotel with breathtaking views, without the hustle and bustle of downtown this is it. Nicely renovated, clean, gorgeous flowers, nice staff and great outdoor places where you will be mesmerized by the crashing of the waves and enjoy the sunset. From room 214 you can take in the views right from your bed - it doesn't get any better!
While staying at the Inn make sure to visit Cabrillo Park with an awesome view over San Diego.

Room Tip: Room 214 right is right upfront with a private view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ahhh...just what we needed -- a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing vacation overlooking the Pacific Ocean. If you are looking for a breathtaking and endless view, peaceful atmosphere, gorgeous gardens and comfortable rooms, then this is where you want to be. My husband has been coming here since he was a little boy and is still captivated by the place, and now I am equally enamored. There is nothing finer then waking to a cool morning and walking the cliffs, getting opportunities to see dolphin, watching the sunset and falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean - only to have these special moments repeated the next day. We didn't want to leave and spent each evening bringing dinner in so we could dine on the oceanfront patio. The staff gave us great tips to get food from Ortega's (Mexican) and Pepe's (Italian) - and both were excellent! We met a lot of friendly folks at the Inn who were equally enjoying their time. I can't wait until we get to return again - I hope it is soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcschulz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukiah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was raised up the hill from "The Inn" and must have walked by it a 100 times on my way to the beach. I was recently at a funeral for a friend and the staff was so comforting. They took care of the taxi service where i needed to go; and also suggessted a nice dining area within walking distance. Such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. KUDOS to the STAFF!!!!!

Room Tip: Listening to the waves as you go to sleep is the best
See more room tips
Green Features: Very clean and green could not be a better place to stay in all of san Diego they recycle everything
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#143 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#154 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Inn by the Sea
#14 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#14 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Property: The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#35 Family Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel and brand new oceanfront patio! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing