We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #138 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ahhh...just what we needed -- a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing vacation overlooking the Pacific Ocean. If you are looking for a breathtaking and endless view, peaceful atmosphere, gorgeous gardens and comfortable rooms, then this is where you want to be. My husband has been coming here since he was a little boy and is still captivated by the place, and now I am equally enamored. There is nothing finer then waking to a cool morning and walking the cliffs, getting opportunities to see dolphin, watching the sunset and falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean - only to have these special moments repeated the next day. We didn't want to leave and spent each evening bringing dinner in so we could dine on the oceanfront patio. The staff gave us great tips to get food from Ortega's (Mexican) and Pepe's (Italian) - and both were excellent! We met a lot of friendly folks at the Inn who were equally enjoying their time. I can't wait until we get to return again - I hope it is soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcschulz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 376 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was raised up the hill from "The Inn" and must have walked by it a 100 times on my way to the beach. I was recently at a funeral for a friend and the staff was so comforting. They took care of the taxi service where i needed to go; and also suggessted a nice dining area within walking distance. Such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. KUDOS to the STAFF!!!!!

Room Tip: Listening to the waves as you go to sleep is the best
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs during memorial weekend. The trip was absolutely amazing. The view from my room was goregous. They even had an area with chairs, rocking chairs, and tables that overlook the pier... with a view you would fall in love with.

I had spoken with a young gentleman at the front who gave me a few great restaurants to try out.. there was a little wine and dine restaurant that was absolutely gorgeous.

Also, the young gentleman told us that the owner comes and is the one to check on his garden of flowers... Which is so beautiful!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed here twice now.. There is a corner room with a great room! They also have a few rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckiejem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this inn in May for a week. I was in town on vacation and to get married. It was an amazing stay and the all of the workers are very nice. The views are amazing from the deck. I also like how quiet it is and the relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a quiet getaway. The location is also perfect and driving distances to local attractions never takes too long. I look forward to staying at this inn again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Unbelievable view especially for the price... I have been to San Diego the past five years and this definitely is a hidden gem overlooking the ocean. Laid back staff but helpful when needed and the rooms were clean with an ocean theme inside them. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolekramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff here really made my stay top notch. I told them i was planning an important evening and they went above and beyond to help me out, and they did so without me asking. We loved the room and it was a very memorable night. The Hotel has beautiful ocean views, and is a hidden hotel gem in San Diego.

Room Tip: Garvey suite is incredible.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sd g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were recently married at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs and it was more than we could have ever hoped for! We were looking for a unique setting near the ocean to get married and it doesn't get more unique than this. I think almost every room has a view of the ocean and you cannot imagine how relaxing it is to hear the ocean when you go to bed at night and when you first wake in the morning. Most of our guests were traveling from all over the country so renting out all the rooms at the Inn worked out perfectly. Some people even threw little parties in their rooms! Every one of our guests remarked what a great experience it was and how much fun they had at our wedding. Gavin and his staff at the hotel were constantly supportive of everything we needed for our big day and I cannot thank them enough for all their hard work. If you are looking for an amazing place to get married and follow it up with an amazing party, then look no further. I can’t recommend the Inn at Sunset Cliffs enough!

Room Tip: Every room has its pros and cons. The rooms towards the west have better ocean views/sounds for mor...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#153 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#178 of 278 in San Diego
340 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#133 of 278 in San Diego
218 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $162 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing