We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“HotelExcellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #125 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“HotelExcellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff here really made my stay top notch. I told them i was planning an important evening and they went above and beyond to help me out, and they did so without me asking. We loved the room and it was a very memorable night. The Hotel has beautiful ocean views, and is a hidden hotel gem in San Diego.

Room Tip: Garvey suite is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    62
    19
    19
    9
See reviews for
109
126
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were recently married at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs and it was more than we could have ever hoped for! We were looking for a unique setting near the ocean to get married and it doesn't get more unique than this. I think almost every room has a view of the ocean and you cannot imagine how relaxing it is to hear the ocean when you go to bed at night and when you first wake in the morning. Most of our guests were traveling from all over the country so renting out all the rooms at the Inn worked out perfectly. Some people even threw little parties in their rooms! Every one of our guests remarked what a great experience it was and how much fun they had at our wedding. Gavin and his staff at the hotel were constantly supportive of everything we needed for our big day and I cannot thank them enough for all their hard work. If you are looking for an amazing place to get married and follow it up with an amazing party, then look no further. I can’t recommend the Inn at Sunset Cliffs enough!

Room Tip: Every room has its pros and cons. The rooms towards the west have better ocean views/sounds for mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Friday and Sat nite (4/19-4/20).In the end unit bottom floor (114 I think). 3 windows overlooking ocean!!! Great views small pool,chirs and tables on two decks,BBQ,upper deck where most of the chirs and tables were, lower deck a few chairs benches and a fire pit!. The rooms were clean and nice, TV mounted on wall, bathrobes, microwave, small frig and the requisite soap, conditioner etc. Bathrooms a little small no fan , but no biggie, we had a great stay!!! 10 minutesto Seaworld and SD Zoo, great location.

Room Tip: 114 is bottom corner room with view 214 is top with obviously better view but they do not do 2 nite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week last year. Our travel service really messed up our reservations but the staff at the inn went to work making sure we had a room for the entire week. After 3 days we had to move to another room, but we didn't mind. They went the extra mile to work us in & correct the problem. We had a great view from both rooms. It's a convenient location & is in a great neighborhood. The complimentary bottle of wine & a great relaxing view mixed with the sound of the ocean after a long tiring flight...Aaaahh, Paradise...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albert
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife left a small article of clothing at the Inn. We e-mailed them right away and they said that they had the article and would mail it to us after charging our card. They never did mail the the article ( no charge on card either) . They have never responded to any of our follow up e-mails both from our e-mail and from their web site. Very unprofessional.

As for the Inn .. Nice location. Nice to walk next to the ocean. Our room was filled to the brim with a double bed.

Parking is at a premium and if you arrive late, you will have to find a spot on the street.

Staff had no suggestions for local restaurants .

Room Tip: There is one handicap parking spot that is far from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, General Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not receive the item we found in your room after your departure. We are not responsible for any lost items. We shipped via USPS. Your emails were responded to promptly. Please check your junk/spam mail as most of our mail will go there. The item was never charged on your credit card because the charge amount was so small. Actually, our manager paid money out of his own pocket to return your item because the mail office won't charge anything under $5.00 on a credit card. He was trying to be nice. As for the local suggestions, all rooms have our local directory, which suggest only local businesses within our community. We hire staff that live within our community so they can personally suggest locations when asked. Sorry we were not more aggressive with suggestions. All staff are very informative and take pride in making sure you enjoy your meal, adventure, or just a simple cup of coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

. . . to this place that feels like home. February 2013 was the 4th time that my wife and I have stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. And we aren't the only folks that keep coming back. This hotel is located at the edge of Sunset Cliffs park, on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. They don't have beach access, but do have a fabulous patio overlooking ocean waves. A variety of room styles are available. We like the 1 BR kitchen suite; with BR, bath, full kitchen and small living room. It's easy to eat in, relax, and enjoy the location. A comfortable walk to the night-life of downtown Ocean Beach and a short drive to Cabrillo tide pools or downtown San Diego. We love this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadyacres13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently spent 2 days at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. The 2 bedroom room was clean although not luxurious by no means. You are provided with a mini fridge, coffemaker, free wifi and a small wall heater/AC unit (Which was not needed), but the best amenity is the location. The Pacific Ocean waves lap up right outside your window. Its not called Sunset Cliffs for nothing. There's an area with chairs, tables and couches for viewing the ocean and sunsets.

Room Tip: Free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#143 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#166 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#124 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Property: The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel and brand new oceanfront patio! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing