We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachfront location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #145 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently spent 2 days at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. The 2 bedroom room was clean although not luxurious by no means. You are provided with a mini fridge, coffemaker, free wifi and a small wall heater/AC unit (Which was not needed), but the best amenity is the location. The Pacific Ocean waves lap up right outside your window. Its not called Sunset Cliffs for nothing. There's an area with chairs, tables and couches for viewing the ocean and sunsets.

Room Tip: Free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 379 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here about 20 years ago when it was clean but run down but the position on the edge of the cliffs at San Diego is amazing with breath taking views. We returned in September last year and the new owner has done miracles with the internals of the rooms leaving the outside as it was except for decorating it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and because they had to do some emergency work under our room during the day we were not charged for that night and were given the following night at half price. We stayed in the Garvie Suite on the second floor overlooking the sea and we both had a bath watching the sunset. If you have to sell a grandchild and stay here you won't regret it. You can always get another grandchild but you might not get another chance to stay here Grumpy

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and book the Garvie Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stumbled upon this little hotel while searching for a weekend getaway in the San Diego area. Reading through all of the reviews, it seemed too good to be true (especially for the price) but after staying here, I can assure you it's every bit as great as the reviews say.

The location in Ocean Beach was ideal for us, the hotel itself is gorgeous on the outside with roses growing in the courtyard, a lovely little pool & a huge deck overlooking the water.
The room we stayed in was one of the standard rooms, quaint but very nice, well kept, and included some nice personal touches such as a hand written welcome note.

Staff was friendly but rarely seen unless we had a question or needed something. (just the way I like it)

We will definitely stay here again and have even talked about having our wedding at Inn at Sunset Cliffs!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarizonaHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was by far the best beach hotel I have ever stayed at. I have done my fair share of traveling to other countries and have stayed at some of the best beach location hotels and still rate this hotel to be the best of them all. You can't beat the friendly staff and the cute little hotel mascot dog to greet you as you check in. This hotel has impeccable decor, and lavish sunsets that can't be beat. I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and can't wait to come back! I have had the opportunity to spend the night in the presidential suite with my love as well as a one bedroom suite. I have had my family stay at this hotel as well and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit San Diego or a local who just wants a little get away from everyday life. I recently learned that they hold weddings at this hotel and can't imagine why anyone would want to get married anywhere else. The set up of the ceremony right over the water is so romantic and probably the best place anyone could every say their vows to the love of their life. Don't waste your time trying to decide which hotel to stay at in San Diego..... I promise you this hotel will over exceed any of your expectations and just like me you won't be able to wait to come back here to this little gem!!!

Room Tip: treat yourself to the presidential suite I promise you will experience nothing else like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tootie13112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are locals to San Diego and decided we wanted to stay at a beachfront hotel for the weekend. This hotel is not luxury - but it is comfortable and clean. You can tell that they have made recent updates and the rooms have everything you need. The bathroom is really nice (although no bathtub, only a shower). They also have a microwave and fridge, which I love so you can bring home leftovers! In the courtyard is a small but clean pool and some nice chairs/tables to view the beach. You can walk down the steps to where you are very close to the beach, close enough that the waves actually splash up onto the deck. It is such a beautiful view with the waves crashing on the rocks. In fact, we were able to open our window at night and see and hear the waves at night - it was very relaxing and just great.

I also like that this hotel is supportive of locals. They have discounts to local restaurants and a spa. It is in close walking distance of some nice places to eat and a great trail where you can walk along the water and cliffs. I know of a lot of people who stay in downtown or at other fancy places when they come to San Diego, but if you truly want to get a true San Diego local experience, this is definitely the place to go!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikki224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights in february, 2013. staff very accomodating (let me check in early AND gave me the 10% discount for locals) and friendly, rooms are clean and fresh. coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave in room very handy. firm bed that was noisy though....every time i moved in the night, it squeeked loudly...
interesting shower with a shower head on opposing walls. great view of the ocean. felt very safe and secure. would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoTravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife loves the ocean and it is hard to find a hotel where you can see the waves and hear them crash on the rocks. Sunset was fabulous. It was really a joy to watch her face when she saw this place

Yes, a little quaint but superb service, very clean and recently remodeled. The best thing I can say for this place is that we will be back. Again and again....

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to the ocean, then watch out your feet don't get wet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 279 in San Diego
1,069 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#137 of 279 in San Diego
220 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#158 of 279 in San Diego
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#171 of 279 in San Diego
349 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $162 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing