We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #138 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Where to start....ok, got it! The view is AMAZING, the staff is FRIENDLY, the location is CONVENIENT, the town of Ocean Beach is FUN and FUNKY, the flowers at the hotel are SPECTACULAR, the hotel room is SPOTLESS, and the pool is REFRESHING! Being from Phoenix, I've been to San Diego a million times, but we always stay at Mission Beach, Pacific Beach or La Jolla. This was our first time to OB and our first stay at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs and now i'm hooked! I can't imagine going back to the other side now that we've discovered this amazing Inn! Go explore Point Loma...cool tide pools and awesome views! For dinner we loved Nicks for seafood (and the pulled pork sandwich is very good too) and Ortegas for Mexican food. Ortegas is a little restaurant with only 5 booths so go early or b prepared to wait. We went at 5 pm on a Saturday and got right in no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKtoAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 376 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2011

As an extended family (grandparents, parents, and two girls, 6 and 9) we booked two rooms for three nights. The rooms are two bedroom suites with a sitting room and with refrigerators and microwaves. We've stayed at this property twice previously, although many years ago. The inn is literally on the edge of the Pacific coast with surf breaking on Sunset Cliffs not more than 10 feet past the end of a patio. The girls loved watching the surf, observing the effects of the changing tides, and the sea lion that was sunning itself on a large rock until the breaking waves urged it off. The swimming pool was nicely heated. The location, while on the edge of the coast, is convenient to Sea World (about 2-3 miles), the airport (about 3 miles), Point Loma, the harbor area, Balboa Park, etc. The girls summed up their visit this way, "We love this hotel!" (We all did, too.)Everything was clean, worked well, and the relaxing atmosphere was excellent. There is also a public transit bus stop directly across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Easyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We attended a wedding at the property next door, so we wanted to be close. We rented the 2 bedroom suite for my husband and I, and my sister and her husband. The room was nice and " beachy". Not like a typical, cookie-cutter room from a hotel chain. There was a flat screen on the wall in the living area and the bathroom was very clean and new. The only downside were the beds. They weren't the most comfortable and the bedding could use some updating. But the bedding was clean, so it didn't bother me so much.

The service at the hotel was great! The staff were all so pleasant and easy going. They also let us check in a little early since we were there and our room was ready. I also appreciated the coffee that was set up in the lobby in the mornings.

Now, for the best part, the location!! What a little treasure, that this hotel is right on the beach!! We opened the windows and listened to the waves crash every night! It was so relaxing. Now be aware, that this IS oceanfront property, but it's cliffs, not beach sand. Don't expect to walk out of the hotel onto a sandy beach and lay out. If that is what you want, there's a beach, with access, a few blocks down. For us, this was not a problem at all. In fact, it was better because you aren't dealing with all the hustle and bustle from the noisy people at the beach, right outside your bedroom door. We loved the location and the quaint town that is Ocean Beach! What a great change from chain hotels and chain restaurants. I encourage you to visit and support the local businesses. Good news is, all the great attractions that San Diego has to offer, is still very conveniently located just minutes away from The Inn at Sunset Cliffs. We just wish that we could have brought our dog, she would have loved it!! ( Dogs aren't allowed in the rooms, but are allowed on the property. You will see people with their dogs everywhere!)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmbsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My family and I LOVE the Inn especially Gavin, Liz and Alex, they are considered part of the family. I was married there Aug 2009 and my son will be married there this Sept 2011. The veiws are amazing, my husband & I feel like it's our home away from home. We always spend 2 to 3 wks there vacationing with family and friends coming and going, just like having our own place in SD. ALL of the staff is fabulous. Rooms are always clean. We would never go anywhere else in SD.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonfly725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

As I have been reading past reviews, it makes me wonder why anyone would ever give this place a bad review. January 2011 was my 10th stay at the Inn, and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in San Diego. Gavin, Liz and the other members of the management team are probably the most professional and courteous staff I have seen at a hotel. The view from the lower terrace is unbelievable, and I dare someone to say they have a better view of the sunset. There is a little private beach about a block away, plenty of room for playing football or just relaxing. I would definitely suggest renting a beach cruiser, its a great ride (approx 1 mile) to Newport Ave. There they have a bunch of little shops and my favorite fish taco place, South Beach Grill!! There is some villas right next door where they have weddings just about every weekend. You won't even notice them unless you walk over there. I love this place and can't wait to get married there in September!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medicpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

WE arrived in a hurry to get to an event. I pulled back the bedspread and there was BLACK HAIR on the sheets.later I found some more hair on the living room table. Chris, the staff member, offered to move us to a 2brd if we paid more??? It wasn't our fault their cleaning help screwed up..why should we pay more?????? Finally he offered clean sheets. He tried to hand them to us to put on but we shook our head and he put them on. Alex later fixed the remote so I guess some of them can get it right..
Not a good place for light sleepers..Wedding next door was noisy on Friday unitl 2am..SAturday they were all tired so they quit at 11pm. Bathrooms redone, new beds are needed..Staff cleaned our breakfast dishes but had a big sign for "tips please"..Need better training and management..Good location..GREAT VIEWS..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveler49117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

The presents of one hair on one sheet does not determine the cleanliness of the entire suite. As for noise issues. We walk the property hourly, 24 hours a day. If there is something we do not hear or see that may be disturbing our guest, we have 24 hour staff that will handle the issue immediately if notified. There is a small tip envelope personalized by each housekeeper that is 3x4 inches on the desk away from your attention. The management team has been here for three plus years. We continue to progress and will serve our guest to best of our ability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

This is the second time I've stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs, and it definitely won't be my last! The location is the best in the area. Breathtaking views and peaceful solitude. My first night was in the King Studio. Nothing better than waking up to the sound AND view of crashing waves. The 2nd occassion, I stayed in the1 bedroom Kitchen Suite and enjoyed it just the same. This time, I fell asleep to the sound of the courtyard fountain. The rooms were always exceptionally clean, linens extremely soft, and decor exceptionally quaint. The double headed showers were a personal favorite of mine! The courtyard was full of beautiful flowers that added a nice finishing touch to the whole experience :)

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emuscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#153 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#177 of 278 in San Diego
340 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#135 of 278 in San Diego
218 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $162 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing