We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #71 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highland, United States
1 review
“2-day stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was disappointed not being able to use my AAA discount because I didn't ask for it at the tiem of check-in. The room was very clean but the bed was little uncomfortable. Great location with the trolly across the street that enable you to tavel in the city at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our convenient location in the heart of Mission Valley and close to all the city has to offer. I’m sorry that you were unable to get your AAA discount, but please let us know upon arrival of your next stay and we would be more than happy to apply it to your reservation. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    366
    147
    58
    38
See reviews for
306
200
52
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stay at this location at least once a year. The rooms are always very clean and the staff has always been very friendly. Location is very accessible to any activities in the city. The hotel parking should be free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, WA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great hotel. Specifically enjoyed the tennis court in the back. The breakfast in the mornings could have been a little different day to day, because the same thing got very boring. I did not like you you had to walk through the pool entrance to get to the fitness room. My sneakers got wet and there was no floor mat to dry them off creating a slipping hazard. Please advise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Saleh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your wonderful 5 star review. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that were impressed with the complimentary tennis courts we have on property for our guests. I appreciate you sharing your candid feedback about both the selection at breakfast as well as the lack of a mat on the fitness room floor. I will be sure to relay your feedback to our management team so that these concerns can be addressed. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back for a visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is nice as was the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, however, I still have not resolved an invalid charge to my Visa. Upon check out there was a $21.00 charge unfamiliar to me. I was told Windows (the charge) was their restaurant. We never even went in the restaurant. We ate at a nearby Applebee's. The desk clerk removed the charge , showed the charge as (allowance) he said for bookkeeping purposes, shredded the 1st bill, gave me a new bill with the correct charge and I was on my way.
Two days later the $21.00 shows back up on my Visa as a separate charge. I called the hotel and was told it was clear on their end and I needed to consult my credit card company. Of course, my card company only confirmed that it was indeed submitted as a charge. Now, I am having to go through the hassle and process of disputing the charge. This is bizarre to me and I should not have to be subjected to this ordeal. I have my documents, but it certainly has caused me a huge unnecessary inconvenience. BEWARE OF EXTRA CHARGES!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to San Diego. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the hotel as well as the friendly and efficient service you received from all the team members. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you were accidently charged for something that was not yours. It is never our intention to overcharge our guests and this was purely an accident. I am very sorry for any frustration or inconvenience this may have caused you. I want to make sure that this issue is resolved and that there were no unjustified charges made to your card. Can you please email me at your earliest convenience at katie.ellison@hilton.com to further discuss this issue. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this Doubletree for 4 nights from November 7-11, 2013. It is very central to all freeways, the trolley station is right across the street, a major mall about 1km away etc. The staff were pleasant, the hotel and grounds very clean, the pool area inviting, valet $20 a day or self park in the adjacent parkade $10 a day. It's a good mid level hotel, yet there was some things lacking. Despite the $190 a night plus taxes and other municipal charges, they want you to pay $14 a day for wifi......or you can hang out in their lobby for free. In this day and age, all hotels should provide wifi. The cost is nominal for the hotel, and even if they charged a one time $5 fee for each guest room night, it would be a profit centre. No in room movies??.....even Super 8 has these. The flat screens were nice, about 40in. but the signal was brutal. Mentioned to front desk, and never fixed. The hotel was never busy. Yet the one time we went for breakfast, the front end host told us it would be a 20 minute wait, and the restaurant was clearly 60% empty. The fixturing is very nice, the restaurant service pleasant, but the food was cold. This could use some improvement. There is a little snack shop with the usual high prices. A very good sports bar in the adjacent building, called Randy Jones. I'll look around a little before going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalleyGog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our future guests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our convenient location close to all the best San Diego has to offer. I am delighted to know that you were impressed with the property as well as the friendly service you received from the team. I am very sorry that there were some aspects of your visit that you were displeased with and I apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We continually strive to provide our guests with the best service and amenities at all times and I am sorry that some of these things were lacking for you. I will be sure to relay your feedback to our management team for consideration. Thank you for your review and I do hope you reconsider choosing to stay with us on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

DoubleTree hotels are a great quality and service, this is no exception. Personnel is really friendly; it has a great rooms, and amazing location. Trolley is just crossing the street; and Hazard Center Mall is walking from the hotel ( actually it has an exit directly to it ).
There's a small coffee shop in the lobby ( serving Starbucks ), great pool and even a nocturnal bonfire where to have a great time during the night.
The building is a bit old ( it could use some renovation ) but the rooms are fully renovated so experience and sleep is great.
Recommend largely this hotel.
Only thing still puzzles me is that there's no complementary WiFi ( as no Hilton hotel has... ) seems a bit old policy

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the DoubleTree years ago and had a wonderful experience; great facility and centrally located. I decided to stay here again as I was in town for a professional conference at USD. Excellent location, nice rooms, lovely indoor pool. I inquired at the front desk about early checkout ( had reserved room for 4 nights) and by simply asking the front desk clerk and manager incorrectly assumed I could not pay. It was a business trip, fully funded by my university. They made me feel like a second class citizen. The rooms-keeper, snapped their fingers at me while I was on the phone.

I will never stay at Double Tree Hotels. They have serious problems in how they train their employees or poor supervision. The only reason we stayed was because my 9 year old daughter loved the indoor pool ( and I did too).

As a frequent traveler and professional I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkzapopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am sincerely sorry to learn that you were made to feel uncomfortable and that you were displeased with some of the interactions you had with the team. I want you to know that this is never our intention and I never want any of our guests to feel dissatisfied or upset during their stay. I would like to discuss this matter in more detail with you to figure out what happened and see what we can do to rectify the situation. Please email me at your earliest convenience at katie.ellison@hilton.com. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 7450 Hazard Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-4539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#36 Green Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley is the premier hotel in Mission Valley and is centrally located between Hotel Circle and Qualcomm Stadium, home of the San Diego Chargers. Boasting beautiful newly renovated guestrooms with a California casual design paying homage to the nearby world famous beaches. The renovation included new beds and mattresses, new carpet and vinyl wall coverings, a unified and highly functional desk, dresser & hospitality unit, new chairs and drapery, new lighting and colorful art from a local photographer, 37” flat screen TV’s, and new exterior double pane windows and balcony doors to soundproof any highway noise. Each oversized guest room is amply appointed for the business or leisure traveler.Relax by our sparkling outdoor pool and whirlpool surrounded by tropical palms. Also enjoy our indoor lap pool and sauna and 24-hour Precor Fitness Center with cardio and resistance training. Tennis courts are also available. Start your day off right with a delicious breakfast in Fountain Café featuring a Mediterranean-influenced atmosphere. Also dine in Windows Lounge overlooking the pool patio where you can grab lunch, dinner or just a cocktail while catching your favorite game on one of our many flat screen TV’s. Our hotel is also perfect for your next meeting or private function, with 17,889 square feet of banquet space. Our friendly, accommodating team looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm DoubleTree by Hilton Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookie at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Doubletree Mission Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing