We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #74 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
san diego, United States
1 review
“great hotel great location!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

this was a great hotel for the price you pay! it definitely exceeded our expectations in many ways! they upgraded us to a suite since it was our anniversary and the suite was awesome! well decorated and overall beautiful. the hotel is conveniently located about 10mins from downtown san diego. highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were truly impressed with the property. I am pleased to know that you appreciated our convenient location, close to all the best San Diego has to offer, and that you would definitely recommend coming for a visit. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    392
    168
    62
    45
See reviews for
344
219
53
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, train right across the street, Starbucks within walking distance also just over the highway is Fashion Valley Mall. Within walking distance is a Trader Joe's, a Corner Bakery and a Mimi's. Additionally there is a CorePower yoga studio nearby. The room was nice, remodeled and spacious, the bathroom was a bit small and it had a sliding door so not a lot of privacy. Upon entering the room, I saw there were only two towels and I immediately called housekeeping (sorry but I need one for my hair and one for my body). They brought it up pretty quickly, our only dislike for this place was the lack of water pressure but I made that work by using leave in conditioner. Oh we paid a bit extra for a balcony and it was really not worth it. The balcony was very small and having the door open was not worthwhile since we faced one of the highways and it was a bit loud 11 stories up. Overall a nice place, parking was $18 a night which was relatively inexpensive for San Diego and you are in a covered garge. We will defintely be returning and utilizing the train the next time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SioPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a wkend trip. Staff is exceptionally helpful, friendly and professional. Hotel has big outdoor pool with lots of pool towels. There is an indoor pool with showers and lockers. 2q rm was spacious and clean. Staying here again!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelMomWith2Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful weekend getaway. I am delighted to learn how courteous and accommodating the team was during your stay and that you loved all the amenities we have to offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here overnight with our 2-year-old twin boys. The room was spacious and clean and had an upscale feel. The beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was delicious! Everyone from the front desk staff to the waitress at breakfast treated us with kindness, respect, and hospitality. We stayed for free using Hilton Honors points and were treated the same as if we had paid for the stay. My only criticism is that the parking was quite expensive ($18 per night), but that's to be expected in a big city. Thank you, DoubleTree, for an excellent stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JW90503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review and for choosing to bring your family for a visit. I am happy to hear that you were impressed with our spacious and comfortable guest rooms and that you loved our delicious breakfast buffet. I am delighted to learn that you received friendly and efficient service from our entire team, helping make your stay that much more memorable. For future reference, there is first come, first serve free street parking directly in front of the hotel if you would prefer. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was very helpful, rooms great and clean and when I mentioned a light was out and an outlet didn't work, they had someone fixing the issues within an hour. An indoor and an outdoor pool, but they seem to lease the indoor pool to others for physical therapy and/or yoga classes, so it was often occupied. No shuttle to/from the airport unless reserved in advance and it is still $20. The location is good, near several restaurants and at a trolley stop, so its very convenient to shopping, Old Town, downtown, Mexico, etc. They should have a few more choices for breakfast, there is either a full buffet/restaurant, or a coffee cafe with bran muffins and sugary cinnamon rolls. A happy medium would be nice. Good place to stay if you don't have a car. If you do, there is a parking garage for an outrageous $18 per day. Be sure to budget this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_monster_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to San Diego. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the wonderful and efficient service you received from our team throughout your visit. I am delighted to know that you were happy with all the amenities we offer our guests and that you were impressed with our convenient and central location, close to all the best the city has to offer. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the breakfast options and I will be sure to relay your helpful insight to our management team. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everyone at this hotel, from the valet to the front desk to the restaurant staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable and to make your stay enjoyable. The location is great and near several movie theaters, malls and restaurants. The trolley which takes you right to the downtown area stops right across the street as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review. I am ecstatic to hear that the entire team, from arrival to departure, was friendly and accommodating, making you feel right at home. I am pleased to learn that you appreciated our convenient location close to all the best San Diego has to offer as well as the trolley line which provides easy and affordable transportation throughout the city. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremont, ca, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I always enjoy staying at the Double tree in San Diego. The staff is so nice and accommodating. The only bad thing was the buffet for morning breakfast. It was 17.00 for buffet. I just wanted oatmeal. The server told me to go ahead and serve myself the oatmeal only from the buffet so I did. $11 is what I was charged for getting my own oatmeal. Not even a slice of toast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us and our future guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found all the team members friendly and accommodating. I am sincerely sorry that the breakfast buffet was not what you were hoping for and the prices were a bit more than you would have preferred. I will relay your feedback to our Director of Food & Beverage for review and consideration. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 7450 Hazard Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-4539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#35 Green Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley is the premier hotel in Mission Valley and is centrally located between Hotel Circle and Qualcomm Stadium, home of the San Diego Chargers. Boasting beautiful newly renovated guestrooms with a California casual design paying homage to the nearby world famous beaches. The renovation included new beds and mattresses, new carpet and vinyl wall coverings, a unified and highly functional desk, dresser & hospitality unit, new chairs and drapery, new lighting and colorful art from a local photographer, 37” flat screen TV’s, and new exterior double pane windows and balcony doors to soundproof any highway noise. Each oversized guest room is amply appointed for the business or leisure traveler.Relax by our sparkling outdoor pool and whirlpool surrounded by tropical palms. Also enjoy our indoor lap pool and 24-hour Precor Fitness Center with cardio and resistance training. Start your day off right with a delicious breakfast in Fountain Café featuring a Mediterranean-influenced atmosphere. Also dine in Windows Lounge overlooking the pool patio where you can grab lunch, dinner or just a cocktail while catching your favorite game on one of our many flat screen TV’s. Our hotel is also perfect for your next meeting or private function, with 17,889 square feet of banquet space. Our friendly, accommodating team looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm DoubleTree by Hilton Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookie at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Doubletree Mission Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing