We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sociable place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great sociable place”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

great location. Learnt how to surf. wifi provided. Very sociable area. Very calm and relaxed. easy to get around with great places to eat nearby. surf boards vailable for cheap. beach is approx 72 second walk away! area is safe day and night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    80
    25
    13
    15
See reviews for
12
45
228
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed with a friend in a private room with 2 bunk beds. The hostel is in a very good location, but the standard is quite low even for a hostel. The room had a toilet, a sink, 2 lockers and the 2 beds. Everything was basic but functional - except for the beds which made a terrible noise everytime you moved a little bit. The sheets were apparently used many times before but appeared to be clean. This is also the general summery for the hostel: It was okay in terms of cleanliness (for a beach hostel) but quite old.

Everything else was wonderful! Nice staff, free food, perfect location (beach, surf, bars, restaurants), good prices, nice and open minded guests.

Bring earplugs. Parking on the streets is easily available if you can walk a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Firstly the location is perfect which is why I'm giving it 4 stars overall. Its so close to the beach and I've picked up some of the best waves there in my life. Loads of shops and restaurants nearby but a little light on the bars. This is a surfers hostel really.

There wasn't much of an atmosphere. No social areas where people can get to know each other. You aren't allowed to drink on the patio either which is really annoying. It's quite expensive (£35 a night) and there aren't enough bathrooms, you have to wait for ages.

For the location however, you can't go wrong. If you're on a budget, find somewhere else cos staying here for a week will bankrupt you. We spent the last night in the car before driving back to LA.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, België
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed in the Ocean Beach International Hostel for 2 nights and I can honestly say it's the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Yes, the breakfast was awesome (pancakes and strawberries and scrambled eggs and toast, nomnom) but that didn't make up for the huge inconveniences the hostel has. First there's only four toilets and showers for all the guests, which is way too little. Second, the hostel is not clean AT ALL. My friend went into the bathroom on the first night and there was literally [--] all over the bathroom. Third, the rooms are incredibly small. We were six people crammed into a room of not even 15 square metres. Fourth, the hostels crew was not nice at all. After two days in this hostel I left San Diego, but my friends moved to another hostel in San Diego!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapoetesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great Hostel! Location is perfect. You can basically step on the beach from the front door. I stayed there for 4 nights in January. Staff was friendly and breakfast is great.

The rooms are alright but don't expect anything fancy. Some of the lockers in my room seemed a little bit wrecked but nothing was stolen during my stay. Allover nice people and a very friendly/ layed back atmosphere. The area is great you got lots of little shops, bars and restaurant with a typical beach community feeling. In addition, some of S.D. greatest food places are just around the corner (Southbeach Grill, Hodads to name a few)

If'd come back to S.D. this is the place were I'd wanna stay!

+ Great Location
+ Friendly Staff
+ Breakfast
+ Free Locks
+Free Towels
+Cheap

-Bathrooms seem a bit dirty
-Beds are pretty worn out
-Only 2 chargers per room (though there is plenty outside)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in April in a 4 bed dorm. The free breakfast was great, even being vegan. Think rolled oats, fruit, toast and pancakes (made by a friendly woman who works at the hostel, so everything is clean). I found the staff to be reserved but friendly. While there were a few odd people staying at the hostel, it wasn't anything off-putting, and you do need a passport or student card to stay there.

Overall the hostel is clean, just old and the dorm rooms were small but have curtains going across each bunk for privacy. If you can, try and avoid the bunk by the window in the room as a whole bunch of light gets in - or bring some tape and towels. The individual shower rooms off the hallway also contain the only toilets and even though there were signs up saying to avoid using the showers in the morning they weren't obeyed which made for some dancing on the spot. If you get really desperate there are free public (and clean toilets with soap) at the beach near the lifeguard building.

The location of the hostel is great for people who like the beach. Ocean Beach is just down the road and a great spot for surfing. There are cafes and bars all along the street and it's each to catch a bus into downtown. I felt safe staying in the area.

Food options for anyone who is vegetarian or vegan minded, within walking distance:
Ocean Beach Peoples Organic Food Market (stacks of vegan and vegetarian food upstairs and groceries downstairs), Ranchos Natural Foods (Mexican with many vegan options including dessert and an awesome pineapple sangria!) and OB Noodle House.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hostel and noise wise it was normal for a hostel, most people were res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hostel scared me about the quality of hostels in the US, This may have been down to me and my friend not having much information about Ocean Beach to start with, but we were completely blind sided. Me and my friend stayed for 3 nights It was character building,

The hostel is situated in a large Art Deco building which has is in real need of some repair and updating.

The Staff can be hit or miss in terms of friendly and helpful, On Check in the price may get cheaper as they help cover the cost of transfers which was brilliant.

The dorms are clean but crampt with not enough room for 4 peoples luggage. I suggest not looking at the state of the bedding and if possible putting something between it and your self. All the mattresses are covered with a plastic sheet which isn't the nicest to sleep on, but necessary I guess. You must put your bag on your bed everyday which is slightly inconvenient more so if on the top bunk and there are not enough plugs in the rooms. Our dorm did have an on suite shower room which was clean enough

We didn't use the kitchen although it looked clean enough just, This space is very intimidating and dominated by 2 fixed seating what can only be described and municipal park tables.
The free breakfast is alright i didn't venture much past the toast.

The location for amenities is good with beach, bars and restaurants all close to hand, although it is still quite aways on public transport from the centre of San Deigo. Ocean Beach is a Rough and Ready sort of place though, It has a high number of Homeless and can appear quite daunting, or it was for us. There are a number of nice bars and restaurants in the area and its perhaps a more realistic view on San Diego than your average tourist receives.

Overall this Hostel was a very interesting experience, and its a bed for the night. We were lucky we ended up being on our own in our dorm 2 out of the 3 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebagishalffull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Property: USA Hostels Ocean Beach
Address: 4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3112 (Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Ocean Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach just 2 blocks away, a newly remodeled hostel with all new rooms, beds, and hang out space, and a free shuttle to area attractions and downtown, there’s no better beach choice than us! Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel, now with new owners and new management, you get the best of the Ocean Beach vibe and the amenities that USA Hostels is known for. You’ll make great memories here as we have loads of activities designed to help you make new friends and have new experiences. Join us for our beach bonfire with hot dogs and s’mores, show us your beer pong skills or relax after a day of sun and sand at our ‘family dinner’. If you want a beach break we’ll take you to the Zoo, SeaWorld, Downtown or La Jolla and even drop you off at the airport for free! Our dorm rooms feature USA Hostels exclusively-designed ‘privacy pods’ that not only provide screening from roommates but a reading light, shelf, usb plug and outlet. Free security lockers are also provided. Most rooms have a sink and some rooms are with full bath. Amenities include a FREE shuttle to the Zoo, SeaWorld and downtown. We loan out beach gear and have low cost rentals to try your hand at surfing too. We’re surrounded by restaurants, bars and shopping in the heart of Ocean Beach but also have plenty going on at the hostel to keep guests busy. Check out our list of activities and amenities below: Hostel Activities: • 4x a week free shuttle to the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, USA Hostels downtown Gaslamp location and airport • La Jolla free shuttle twice a week • Beach bonfire 2x a week with free hot dogs and American camp fave S’mores • Weekly Beer Pong tournament • Coastal bike ride tour twice weekly • Yoga class twice weekly • Weekly farmers market • Pub crawl twice weekly • Hostel dinner nights FREE Amenities including: • Daily breakfast of baked goods, oatmeal, fresh juices, fresh fruit, coffee/tea and more • WiFi • Lockers • Bed linens and bath towels • Beach towels/mats, umbrellas, chairs and coolers • Guitars, board games and foozball Discounted: • Surf lessons • Wet suit rental • Bike rental • San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Harbor Cruise tix ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your USA Hostels Ocean Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach International Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing