We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great San Diego Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great San Diego Hostel”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 5 days and interacted with many people - reception, room service, etc. This was a really good experience. If you are looking for a hostel, this is a great one. The employees are knowledgeable and friendly. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, you may be disappointed. The social atmosphere is good, location in SD is perfect for access to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
You're kind words are very nice to hear, and we are very happy to provide a good experience for you. We strive to ensure all our guests leave with a positive experience of Hostelling International and San Diego. Safe travels to you and I hope we can host you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    132
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
10
64
113
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've arrived at this hostel may 1st, probably the cleanest hostel i've seen in my life, staff very helpful especially if you need to store luggage before you are flying out or even take a shower, staff very helpful ( especially "Vo" who went out of his way to help us with nice dinner location). My only dissapointement is that you cant drink alcool anywhere wich makes the ambiance a little boring on a rainy nigth. But I do understand the positive side of it. Thanks to you guys and did I say it was clean and looking very nice??

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolling1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Your kind words are appreciated. A note about the alcohol policy: currently the Hostelling International (HI) hostels in the U.S. are alcohol-free, this is something that may change in the future but is currently out of our hands, unfortunately. Thank you again for your stay with us and taking the time to leave a review! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Downtown HI San Diego about 5 times now and I have always been treated very well...that's why I keep coming back. The staff is so helpful and full of fun. With the new renovations the hostel looks just awesome and the kitchen is state-of-the-art. The breakfast is served up with visual impact and the breads, cereals, and fresh fruit sure beats the pancake breakfasts that a lot of hostels provide. The mattresses on the bed are so comfortable you are guaranteed a great nights sleep. The hostel is kept very clean by a viigilent housekeeping staff and they are more than happy to supply you with any additional linens you might require. The neighborhood is happening and there are all kinds of restaurants, bars and coffee shops where you can sit outdoors and enjoy people watching. I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your business and kind words. We are happy to host you, and we'll see you on your next trip to San Diego. Safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Overall, the hostel is situated in a great location, near all the bars/restaurants/nightlife. The staff does its best at keeping the hostel clean. I would like to point out the front desk staff member by name of "Vo", who was very friendly, professional, and an absolute delight to deal with.

Vo conducted the check-in process flawlessly, and promptly assisted with storage of the luggage. I think retaining such high-caliber staff members like Vo makes this place really stand out. I wish there were more such terrific employees like Vo. It was just a fantastic experience. It's an asset for this hostel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diesel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay. We make every effort to employ knowledgeable, empathetic staff and generally have a very low turnover rate for staff. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here and I hope we can host you again! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We were coming to San Diego's HI with the experience of the great San Francisco Downtown HI and I tend to compare this on to the SF HI. Well in essence it can not hold a candle to the HI in SF. The private room we got had a bunk bed and faced the street with all the bars, so nights were noisy - there is a reason why the have free earplugs at the front desk - other then that the room was comfortable but nothing special. The whole atmosphere of the hostel is rather cold and technical it doesn't makes you want to stay an other day.
In addition to that the WiFi was the worst experience ever in California: slow, unreliable disconnects you from time to time. What makes this hostel stand out is the front desk and a men named Henri who's recommendations on how to explore San Diego were priceless.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skysurf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay and support of Hostelling Internaitonal. The GM has contacted you privately regarding the Wi-fi, but I would like to add for future readers that we have multiple types of private rooms: with private bathrooms, with shared bathrooms, single beds (bunk beds) and double beds to accommodate varying needs and preferences. Additionally, I strongly urge any guests (either currently with us or with future reservations) to request an interior or courtyard room if they are in need of a quieter space. We will always do our best to accommodate these requests, as we know that our location is a double-edged sword; being in the middle of everything is incredibly convenient, but it can also be noisy. Thank you again for your stay and taking the time to review us, all feed back is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A pretty nice place. . . given that the people at the front desk were really helpful and
we didn't really have any problems during our stay. There were other issues though, as far as I'm concerned. Not allowing outside guests is problematic to me. I think a system were you can check people in and out would be nice. There was some Coke left in our fridge, which makes me think that cleaning didn't happen very thoroughly. It wasn't a bad place by any means though. I'd suggest it to people. It's well located, and worked out well overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the candid feedback. Regarding not allowing outside guests upstairs, we have this policy because our facility has a mix of both private rooms and shared dormitories. Allowing people who are not current guests at the Hostel upstairs creates a security risk, and everyone's safety and comfort is our number one concern. That being said, I will bring this point up in next week's meeting to see if there is a solution that would satisfy everyone. As for the beverage left in the fridge, I have already talked to our housekeeping staff to make sure that they double-check inside the mini-fridges. Thank you again for your review and stay! Safe travels in 2013 to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 2 nights. The hostel is located right in the centre of the gaslamp quarter, a district of many bars and restaurants, which was great for us. Parking was free on 13th-17th streets, approx 5 mins walk from the hostel. We stayed in a private double room, which had a really comfy bed and a sink in the room which was a nice touch. The room overlooked a small courtyard, and had an old time colonial feel to it with a ceiling fan and original artwork. Bathrooms were clean and plentiful, each having a shower, toilet and sink. There was loads of original artwork on the walls which was for sale. The kitchen was modern and fully equipped, and breakfast was provided free (toast, cereal, coffee / tea). All in all a really nice place to stay in the heart of the gaslamp quarter. Regarding entertainment, there was a nice bar on the crossroads of 4th street, opposite the hostel, which showed all sporting events and had a good selection of food and beer. We found San Diego to be an extremely fun place, with the beaches being a highlight (Pacific Beach was particularly nice) but also the most expensive place in California we visited, moreso than Santa Monica, Santa Barbara and San Francisco!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! There are several things you mentioned that I would like to highlight: the free parking (as correctly indicated between 13th and 17th Sts. is an 8-12 minute walk away); the art work is all made by local artists and students that we highlight quarterly in the "Hostel Takeover" art and music show; our bathroom to person ratio is 1:5 (roughly equivalent to an average family household), finally, staff is on hand 24-hours to make sure we can help you find economic options for food, drink and fun. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we would love to host you again! Safe travels and sunshine to you two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
821 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Property: Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing