We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good for the price...”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My first room was on the street facing side......wayyyyy too much noise you get kept awake by the drunks and sirens/crosswalk talking i moved to an internal room which was much quieter.The rooms are fine not 5* hotel quality if thats what your after but the private ensuites were more than good.Location is 100% perfect for a good night out as being in the gaslamp district its where the action is =) loved the tempur matress i have one at home and couldnt wait to sleep on one again!!! Staff were pretty good heaps of cool little directions slips on the wall to take with you to find your way around, area is quite safe spent alot of time wandering on my own, can hail a cab right outside the hostel if needed or busstop right there too.Only gripe i have is wifi is miserable found it to connect and disconnect alot with poor signal strength even right across from the W.A.P.

Room Tip: Tip: specify and internal room away from the street if your susceptible to noise when sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us after your stay. As noted, we are a hostel and not a hotel, but our private rooms with en suites offer many of the same things one would come to expect from a hotel (blow dryers, mini fridge, AC units in the summer, etc.). We also recommend that guests request internal rooms prior to arrival so we can do our best to accommodate light sleepers with our quieter rooms. Our location is fantastic, but it does get noisy being in the middle of it all! Safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    132
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
10
64
113
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here in November and found this hostel to be in a great location, right in the mist of things. My friend and I also had a private room which was quite clean and a decent size. The Hostel however didn't have a very good environment, not very social and not great to meet people which everyone likes to do when they travel. We were with some mates one night in the lounge area where we were playing a few card games and were having a couple of drinks, we were not being loud or rowdy at all and a staff member stormed in and said "I have you guys on camera with your alcohol, this will be your last night here". We firstly weren't even told that we couldn't have alcohol in there in the first place and the guy was plain rude! Especially when we were just having fun and not causing any problems at all. Lucky it was our last night there anyway. Otherwise the breakfast was good and everything else was, but they don't let you have a lot of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to write a review! For better or for worse, all Hostelling International (HI) hostels in the United States do not currently allow alcohol (beer, wine, etc.). We definitely want people staying with us to have a good time, but it is our mission to promote and improve cultural understanding among the guests who stay with us. We have every single guest who stays with us sign a contract at check-in that states we do not allow this, and it is also listed behind the lobby counter on the board under "House Rules", but I will talk to the overnight workers about their approach to dealing with this situation. I'm pleased that you otherwise enjoyed the facilities, and thank you again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was very skeptical about booking a hostel in San Diego, but this was a last-minute trip and I needed to stay within the Gaslamp District and had to be thrifty about it. I did my research and found that the HI in San Diego was a good and cheap choice so I went with that. I stayed on a Monday evening and booked a private room with shared bathroom. When I checked-in the clerk was able to upgrade me (at no extra charge) to a private room with my own bathroom- I was thrilled about that! I had a room that was facing the street, which wasn't all that loud when I had my window closed. There was a full-sized bed in there that was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was nicer than the one I had at the Motel 6 in Downtown San Diego too. Since my stay was so short I didn't get to take advantage of the other things they offer there like the complimentary breakfast and their room with the computers and etc., but all of it seemed nice. I would gladly keep booking this place from now on for anytime I need to stay in San Diego. For the location alone where you're in the middle of all the nightlife- it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbright31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I'm sorry that you were not able to partake more of our facility's offerings, but I'm always happy to help convert someone into a hosteller. I love that people are beginning to become aware that many hostels offer private rooms, and some even have en suite bathrooms (as written about here) to help accommodate different travel needs. Each HI facility is a little different, but we all meet an annual inspection held to strict company standards, and each of us strive to provide clean, welcoming facilities and authentic local experience. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
632 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went there for three days when we came back from a luxerious hotel in Vegas. Haven't expected such a crash in standard. First they wanted to give us a room with a loftbed really high up and the kind of AC they had was broken. Then we changed a better room, it had a queen sice bed for two tall guys standing next to the wall. In the night was really hot cause the AC wasn't really working well. The kitchen is rather nice and it has a lot of bathrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not at the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and your candid review. Just to clarify a point: we only offer A/C in private rooms with en suite bathrooms; otherwise all rooms are equipped with ceiling fans and/or window fans. (This may have been the confusion over the A/C not working). Our goal is to offer affordable travel options for those travelling on a budget. While there are more luxurious places to stay, we strive to offer clean, comfortable and affordable beds and rooms. We will be taking your comments into consideration as we will be remodeling some rooms in this upcoming year. Thank you again for your stay and I hope you otherwise enjoyed your time in San Diego! Safe travels in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a place with perfect location, cheap and simple. Big advantage is the huge kitchen, with full equipment. The complimentary breakfast is great and there are several activities for guests during the week that we appreciated. The wi-fi is not very reliable however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blodenwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay and clear, honest review. The Wi-Fi has long been a problem in this old building of ours. We have been beefing up our internet incrementally over the last two years, and will continue to do so in the upcoming Spring. In the meantime, connection strength does tend to be best in certain areas (kitchen, TV room, hallways). Also mentioned was the weekly activities--we now offer three group dinners per week, two walking tours, a pub crawl, and a screen printing workshop to make specialized shirts/hats/bags/etc. of your trip to San Diego. Thank you again for your stay and safe travels in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great location. Close to the waterfront, great for transit, and close to grocery store nearby (Ralph's). Can be a bit noisy if room is facing the street, but such is the drawback of the great location. Included breakfast was nothing fancy, but very adequate and healthy to start the day off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback! Safe travels and a happy New Year to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadley rille
Level Contributor
304 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Right in middle of gas lamp district with lots of yuppie restaurants and bars.... Large hostel. Perfectly serviceable. No parking. Good value. Can walk to trolley stop. Can be noisy. Bring earplugs. Safe. A good hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for the concise, and detailed review. We truly appreciate the business of someone as well traveled as yourself. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Property: Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing