We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi Hostel Gaslamp-Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great location. Close to the waterfront, great for transit, and close to grocery store nearby (Ralph's). Can be a bit noisy if room is facing the street, but such is the drawback of the great location. Included breakfast was nothing fancy, but very adequate and healthy to start the day off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback! Safe travels and a happy New Year to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 355 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Right in middle of gas lamp district with lots of yuppie restaurants and bars.... Large hostel. Perfectly serviceable. No parking. Good value. Can walk to trolley stop. Can be noisy. Bring earplugs. Safe. A good hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for the concise, and detailed review. We truly appreciate the business of someone as well traveled as yourself. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hostel is located at the heart of gas lamp quarter, a beautiful area in San Diego. The hostel is very comfortable, the kitchen is large enough for several people cooking and eating at the same time. The rooms were ok, although they haven't heavy curtains for blocking light in the morning. There are old restrooms that deserve maintenance and a deep cleaning. Breakfast is included but nothing special. The staff is really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcosnqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you very much for the awesomeness that is this review. I appreciate the comments about our public bathrooms, and we are in the process of remodeling them now. So, hopefully the next time you stay with us, they will be as beautiful as bathrooms can be :). I really and truly appreciate the kindness you have expressed in your review, and I look forward to your next visit. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hostel itself has excellent facilities, tons of resources for travellers (coupons, discounts, and advice), an excellent location and tip-top staff.

It's not the quietest place, but it shouldn't be - it's in the heart of San Diego.

Room Tip: Co-ed rooms are available for mixed groups / couples travelling together.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for the review and the kind words within it. Street noise does tend to be the biggest downside to staying in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. Things I recommend to combat this hassle are: call us before your stay and request a quiet room as soon as you can and we will do our best to accommodate, bring earplugs or grab some for free at our reception, sleep during the day :). Hope these suggestions are helpful. Once again, thank you so much for your great review, and your business. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were just arrived in San Diego without a plan , we've been so lucky to run into this beautiful hostel , clean , so cute and with a really nice staff! The room was perfect and the price really affordable! the breakfast was included and had everything , and the place is in the middle of downtown who is really cute and full of places where to go!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoitaSinagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Awesome! I am so glad to hear that we were your oasis in San Diego. Thank you for the wonderful review. I hope that the next time you visit you choose us again. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Ok during our stay we had some problems about activities that did not go well and a bad start but we talked to the manager and I have rarely seen such professionalism and good spirit.
Thanks to that, we loved our stay even more. The kitchen is great and always very clean. And the staff is very helpful and kind. I recommend this hostel. It was very quiet when we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200,481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hello! I recall the situation in question. I' m glad I was able to resolve it for you and let you get on with enjoying your vacation. Our goal is to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible at our hostel, and ultimately to show them what a great city San Diego is. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon and visit us again. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The property is right in the center of market street. Even visiting in November everything was active and lively and comfortable. I had my window open and got a nice breeze. I felt like I was front row center at a great party, and the atmosphere rocked well into the morning. I think a few people from out of town would come in and crash in the rooms. The rooms were comfortable and I had adequate privacy when needed and conversation with other patrons when desired. Staff was helpful and friendly and gave good recommendations. The lockers were a little well worn and the building itself is an antique. Had some issues with the plumbing in the bathroom but staff worked to address it. Hostels don't get much better than this. Ideal for anyone looking for a fun college-like experience. Stayed in a dorm, eight beds I think.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwin727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm glad to hear that you felt like you were right in the middle of it all. We definitely have a one-of-a-kind location. Good to hear all else was well too. I agree with your comment with regards to our lockers. Currently, all of our premium four bed dorms have new lockers, and we will be looking to replace the lockers in the bigger dorms, which are ten bed and six bed, as soon as we have the capital to do so. Thanks again for the kindness. We hope to see you again next time. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
858 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
238 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $46 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing