We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOSTEL EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
“THE BEST HOSTEL EVER!”
Reviewed September 26, 2006

First of all, you're staying AT THE BEACH.Literally. Great people, really funny staff and situated on the coolest place in SD. People welcome you and really make you feel home...! I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Liked — localization
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — book it in advance!
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pri_brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    50
    27
    19
    24
See reviews for
Families
0
8
80
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

If you are travelling to have a massive party, stay up till 4am every night, get drunk etc then this is defiantely the palce for you. It has a great location, right on the beach and every night there is a different activity (keg nights, bbq etc). Which is great. Unless you want to get any sleep/have a shower etc because it is massively noisy, everyone shouts and screams all night and the shower was totally filthy- reminded me of the toilet in 'Trainspotting'.

I did have a good time here but surely it's not too much to want a place where you can wash youself and maybe to be able to sleep in your bed without being woken by screaming drunk people at 5am? Especially as it costs $25 per night for a dorm room which is more than most of the immaculately clean hostels i've stayed in elsewhere. Just a thought.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The showers
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 4MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

The location of this hostel is superb, right on Pacific beach and within easy access to the awesome nightlife. It is a hostel remember so you shouldn't expect nothing to fancy.

I've stayed in quite a few hostels though but this was probably the worst in terms of cleanliness, the atmosphere was very clicky and you probably need to be a hot girl to get any service!

Seems like a place where people stay long term and so everyone knows each other and their businees and don't really like outsiders.

Apart from this the location and Pacific Beach more than make up for all the shortcomings. The Bungalow also has a lot of party night with cheap booze up for grabs.

Happy partying all

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go alone if you're an ugly girl
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gino_4_stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

The hostel is outdated and showing signs of its age. It is definitely not clean - rooms or the communal areas. Whilst the front desk staff were nice, the overall atmosphere was cliquey and not at all friendly or inviting. It seemed that most of the people staying there were workers not travellers and it was as if we were gate crashing their private party. I will not go back or recommend it to anyon.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Michaela_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

I loved Banana Bungalow! Three of us went into San Diego early before business meetings and decided to stay there and even though we were moving over to The Catamaran Resort, we didn't want to leave! It's so much more than drunken folks, truly. Yes, there's drinking but there were also plenty of folks who weren't getting drunk. We're women in our 40's and 50's and we loved staying there. Of course, we had a private room - but still, in the evenings, we mixed with the other people from all over the world and it was a great time.

  • Liked — The location and the people
  • Disliked — Could use more private rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Understand this *is* a hostel. Go with open mind and heart and know you'll be around young 'uns
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iamriversong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2005

Beware of 5 star reviews. If your idea of a good place to stay is hanging out with drunken English yobs, hobo's, drug addicts and waking up in filth.Then this is the place for you.Yeah they throw parties every night big deal.For the price your paying you expect a clean room and sheets.The room I was in looked like it hadn't been vacumed in weeks.There was sand everywhere.Outside during the day on the deck you get hassled from the bums by the fence at the boardwalk.While I was in my chair sitting down, one hobo asked if I could go inside and get some hot water for his noodles.I told him to p--- off!Now here's the good part.The staff was upset at me for doing this like they're friends with this lot or something.I couln't believe it, like I was the bad guy.Anyway in all the staff and some guests who live here are in their own cliqey little world.Don't wast your money here.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Give-me-a-break-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2005

this place was gross. like an adult day care with many guests apparently "living" on premises. being close to the beach was great, but I'd rather haved camped somewhere. room was old, ratty & filthy and sleeping was uncomfortable - hard beds and noise coming from all directions. constant party playground here...definitely not for those who want a relaxing place to stay on vacation. the price brought us here, but we should have known better. save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,991 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#226 of 278 in San Diego
173 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Hostel

Property: Beach Bungalow Hostel
Address: 707 Reed Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3961 (Formerly Banana Bungalow San Diego)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Bungalow Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay and play at San Diego's most popular backpacker's beach hostel! Beach Bungalow is close to San Diego's finest attractions, a renowned marine preserve at La Jolla Cove, and walking-distance from 150+ bars, clubs, restaurants, and shopping catering to students and surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Beach Bungalow Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing