We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ITH Beach Bungalow Surf Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$289
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$249
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$217
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
156
53
27
21
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
53
27
21
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific beachtijuanabunkpbplugs
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 281 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2009

called into BB on an invite, was staying in DT San Diego and it seemed kinda average, planned to stay one night in BB ended up staying about 5 nights and then came back a few weeks later...
The Perfect hostile for a backpacker - great people - great laugh - cheap as chips - and savage location.

For anyone on a budget and for those who fancy good company over a clean toilet no better spot. Sure it aint luxary but for $20 a night! great craic well spent,

Get ur practice on in the flip cup, beer pong, 1$ burger tuesdays provide a good basis for a session and some great bargains on quality keg beer,
you may wake up with a bit of a head on you but you will wake up to a savage view and good chance of going surfing with some dolphins r just chill out with the crew on deck....

If you dont do social, dont visit, its a place to be if you like interaction, if ur a little on the high maintance prob best avoid it although in saying that plenty of stunners around and they seemed to roll with the place - it aint a spa weekend away but for anyoe who enjoys a laugh, book away

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Hey guys I raccomand u to get a Banana Bungalow week time if u r going to san diego...!

cheap, funny, friendly, alcholic!!!

I m used to sleep in cheap place when i travel and sometimes that means dirty and nasty, but not at Banana!!

JOIN THEIR ACTIVITIES coz the staff is very cool!!
very party people!!

"TO THE NIGHTS WE'LL NEVER REMEMBER AND THE FRIENDS WE'LL NEVER FORGET."
B.B

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Massimiliano V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Banana Bungalows was by far the most welcoming and the most fun i had throughout my month long trip around America. I wanted to go right back when I left. I met so many great people, that i still keep in touch with now. The guys put in a lot of effort to make sure people enjoy themselves when they stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lambo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

this was the frist hostel i ever satyed at and i thought i would hate it. we booked for one night then booked it again, and we actually stayed for over a month. the staff are amazing, the sunsets were amazing, the parties.... amazing! the location is great close to bars, restuarants, transport amd shops. if you are travelling by urself and feel the need to meet new people this is the spot to come! i still keep incontact with loads of the people i meet there from all oveer the world! this place is good for the travelling budget, FREE breakfast, $1 tasty burgers, and cheap drinking with all ur new friends! each room had personal lockers however this place is safe there was no need to use them. the cleaners would come in every morning to clean the floors and bathrooms! the bungalow is not the prettiest place i have ever seen but its a roof over ur head, good times and amazing people! the worst thing i would say about the place is leaving it! i will definitely be back to stay again

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

The Banana Bungalow San Diego is the greatest hostel i've ever been to! Well, it's probably not the cleanest, but the atmosphere there is just amazing and it's directly at the beach, what else could you want? The staff is very friendly and helpful and there are parties every night. If you wanna meet a lot of fun and young people from all over the world, have party every night and get the real californian beach feeling, this is the place to be!

You can reach bus stops easily to go downtown or to old town; and for this price (~ 20 bugs a night) you really get a great deal!

Banana Bungalow 4 ever!!! ;)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Erika4289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews