We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Service, Great Value, Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #64 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
“Great Service, Great Value, Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was so great! Very modern and hip hotel but also still have a So Cal beach feel. The gigantic front door is a very cool grand entrance which leads you right to the front desk.

Service was phenomenal! From the valet (Jenny) to the front desk (Johnson) and everyone in between I never felt that I wasn't being taken care of as a valued guest. Truly felt like a VIP. In addition the value was unbeatable. The pool lounge area was really cool and relaxing.

On a map this location may seem far from Petco but it really is not. Very easy walk to and from and you get to pass all the restaurants and bars on the way there and back.

You can definitely tell Kimpton values its guests from the minute you arrive til the minute you leave. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the downtown SD Gaslamp District!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chandlos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks chandlos23 for the great review. Johnson and Jenny are our SoCal Rock Stars. We look forward to your return. Check out SummerSalt our perfect pool bar. You will love the food and drinks.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    315
    135
    49
    30
See reviews for
146
412
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was my first stay in a Kimpton Hotel and it was truly wonderful. The hotel itself was incredibly lovely and our welcome was excellent. Rooms were clean and well appointed, everything was very chic (love the bathrobes) and the bed was very comfortable. The location was good - close to nice bars and restaurants, I also had a wander up to Balboa park while staying here (it's quite a bit further but the walk was expected and enjoyed). Wine hour is just fabulous here; on our first evening we sadly missed it but the receptionist kindly gave us a couple of vouchers for the bar, although it is really lovely to be given the chance to socialise with other guests comfortably in a hotel setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are honored to be your first Kimpton stay. Thanks for the great comments. Make sure you check out the Palomar Chicago and Sable Kitchen and Bar in your neigborhood. We want you to keep feeling the love.

Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I bought a package for 6 massages (Girls Day Out it was called) in their spa. We also decided to reserve a couple of suites to celebrate my birthday at the same time. From the moment we walked in, we were treated like royalty. All of us were more than satisfied with the services we received in the spa and the ammenities there were perfect. When we went to check in they offered to upgrade our rooms without us even asking. They even had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room because I had told them in advance it was a special occasion.The room was absolutely fabulous, very spacious, with the high-end appliances, feather down comforters & pillows, and an amazing view. Anytime we called down to the front desk for anything, they'd arrive immediately at our room happy to accommodate us. The staff was always polite and friendly. This hotel is was everything we expected and more. Thank you Hotel Palomar for making it our most memorable Girls Day Out ever! We will be coming back for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is so nice to know we rocked your girl's weekend and your birthday Maria. Sé Spa and the Palomar are an amazing place to spend a girl's weekend. Please come back and see us soon. Make sure you try Saltbox next visit. The food and drinks are amazing.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the minute you arrive you are greeted by people (Gilbert and others) who will remember your name from your previous visit; which was especially impressive since I hadn’t been there in over a year. The enormous luxurious warehouse-style door was just the beginning of an enchanted 40th anniversary weekend. We were greeted by Johnson Menezes (Assistant Front Office Manager) and Michael Chacon (Concierge) with a warm welcome from him and everyone with the staff. I was very impressed that the staff was the same as it was from the last time I visited. Awaiting our arrival at our room were freshly baked goods and champagne. Low turnover in staff is a sign of a well run organization, no matter what the business nature.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who begs to be completely satisfied....It will happen.

Room Tip: We prefer a higher floor with a corner room, and go ahead and pay for a suite....its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much Howard for your comments. Gilbert, Johnson and Michael are amazing. They truly love taking care of our guests. We expect to see you next year again Howard. I'm really happy we were able to celebrate your 40th anniversary with you and your wife.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We only stayed one night and flew out the next morning at 4AM so didn't get to enjoy all it had to offer. Very pretty hotel, nicely laid out. The $40 valet service was a bit pricey but comparable for other downtown hotel parking. The king room was a bit small but was very clean and nice. Wish the TV was in front of the bed instead of on the side wall. The bathroom slide door was difficult with kids in the room. When someone was in the restroom the door had to be slid on one side and people go to the other side of the room. There was a gap where you could see in it. Very sleek looking though and nice for adults.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with TV at the end of the footboard side of the room so you don't have to lay s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbarthels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks bbarthels for the great review. I'm glad you loved our nice, clean hotel. It sounds like it was a quick trip. Hope you can come back and enjoy Saltbox or Sé Spa on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Palomar is located in the Gaslamp district of San Diego, a $15-20 taxi ride from the airport. It's near a lot of bars and restaurants, but there are quite a few homeless people in the area. We had the best burger and brownie shake at Burger Lounge at 528 5th Avenue, a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
Our room (1506) was simply HUGE. Massive lounge, 2 toilets, a big bathroom with a shower and a bathtub and a big bedroom with a balcony. The gym is well equipped for a hotel. The hotel has 2 bikes, free to use for guests, but they are given on a first come first served basis. We rode the bikes to 5th Avenue port and took the boat to Coronado Island, a real highlight of San Diego, with beautiful beaches and restaurants. If you have a car, you should visit La Jolla, a seaside district of San Diego.
The hotel staff are friendly and courteous. If we visit San Diego in the future, we'll definitely stay at Palomar again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
You really got to get out and Live Like a Local EKGK. I'm glad you loved our big door. We call it the big easy. Next time try Saltbox and their hamberguesa. It's one of the best burgers in town.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had such a great experience at the Hotel Palomar San Diego. Arriving after a long trip, even at 11pm the front desk was smiling and helpful. We got up to our room to find fresh baked cookies which was exactly what I needed. Everyone there was extremely friendly, cocktails at Saltbox were good, and the suite was large and clean. We will definitely return for our next San Diego Trip!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank edeidre217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I am so glad you had a great visit Edeidre217. I'm glad you enjoyed Saltbox, the room and your stay. SummerSalt our poolbar is open for the summer. Hope to see you up there soon.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#47 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,777 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#56 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#25 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#38 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#49 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-5101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing