We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #64 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prince Edward Island
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My sister & I stayed here this past week for one night while traveling through San Diego. We were greeted by amazing front desk staff, who were smiling and very helpful. We were offered PIE because of PI day, and told about the free wine from 5-6 in the lobby. What a great welcome! We joined the wine hour and were greeted by another friendly staff member as well as the manager.

Our room was absolutely perfect. It was clean, and had a street view. We were on the 4th floor, which there was a function at the pool. We thought this might end up being noisy but it was done at 9pm. The decor is modern, and clean in the room and through out the hotel.

Location was perfect. Walk out the front door and you are on the edge of Gas Lamp District. We walked the assortment of shops, restaurants, and bars. Coffee in the lobby in the morning.

Overall we really enjoyed our experience at the Palomar San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room! We only had a view of a parking garage on the 4th floor. The 4th Floor is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    369
    156
    56
    37
See reviews for
165
483
54
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very friendly, clean, and modern. When walking in the lobby to check-in we fell in love with the decor. Every employee you see makes you feel at home and welcomed. When opening our door to our suite we felt right at home. Loved the decor and layout of the rooms. They look like little apartments with a huge hallway and bathroom. It was so spacious for 3 people staying in my room. The pool deck was so much fun and thank god for the heated pool. The location was so great couldn't have been happier about that. It is right down the street from all the night clubs and bars. No taxis needed!!! Overall,we were pleased with our stay and have decided this is where will be staying from now on when in San Diego! Thanks to all of the Palomar employees for making our stay so much fun and outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moskiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks Moskiee for such great comments about the hotel and our amazing staff! Come back and see us soon.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a spontaneous trip to San Diego while visiting my sister in Long Beach, CA. Hotel is nice and all, but too highly over rated! Valet parking is $38 a night with in and out privileges, but there's parking across the street exactly for $28 a night but no in/out privileges. Room was tiny with a king bed but the bed didn't seem to be a king, well not as big as my normal king at home. The counters had a sticky mess of something by the mini bar. The bathroom was not private whatsoever! It has a sliding glass door that doesn't close completely so others in the room can see clearly inside, the shower is a waterfall fountain but no door so the shower once again others can see everything. This hotel isn't worth 4 and 1/2 stars at all in my book! Complementary wine from 5pm-6pm in Lobby and free coffee & tea from 6am-10am again in Lobby. Also the front door is a huge Vault door so we walked past it the first time, beware. Enjoy San Diego's Gaslamp District!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkZ-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Sorry you didn't enjoy the design of the room MarkZ-PDX. Let me know if you are returning to San Diego.

Thank you,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

One of my favorite hotels in the world because of the great people and service. My husband and I stay at the Palomar about every other month. We always have a wonderful time. Anything we need is quickly taken care of. Make sure you meet Johnson when you are there. He knows how to make us feel welcome every time we visit, as well as goes above and beyond to make each trip special. Whether its to help us celebrate a birthday, give us dining options or provide something for us in our room, he always hasn't special touch of going above and beyond!!! Can't say enough good things. Highly recommend all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decker8163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks decker8163 for the great comments. Johnson is a rock star of ours and I'm so happy you and your husband keep coming back to see him... And the Palomar!

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I'm not usually a fan of faux-tique hotels, generally avoiding the Palomar chain. This one didn't do anything to improve my impression. Firstly, as I was here on business, the painfully slow Internet prevented me from working at all. I ended up curtailing my attendance at the locally-hosted conference since I couldn't get any work done. The walls were fairly thin (I could hear the TV next door clearly if the AC was off). The bar/restaurant was actually pretty good, and the location of the hotel is convenient. Overall, I'd probably look elsewhere next time but wouldn't be aghast at the prospect of a repeat stay (as long as I had no business to conduct).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLien_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear ATLien Traveller,

Sorry about the slow internet. Not sure what was going on because our internet service is normally incredibly fast.

I would like to discuss your stay. When it is convenient please contact me personally.

Sincerely,
Mark
mark.vancooney@hotelpalomar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Palomar for 10 nights last month, booked through BA.
It is a superb hotel and located in an excellent spot for access to restaurants, shops, buses and trolleys.This was our first visit to the US, visiting our daughter, a Kimpton hotel would definitely be my first choice if we make it back to the States.
The staff in the hotel & restaurant were great. Special thank you to Astrid for the wonderful room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_S186229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are so happy you chose us for your first visit to the US, visiting your daughter. I am glad you had a wonderful stay and got to meet Astrid!

Let us know when you are coming back!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and we very pleased we did, the staff really helpful
,good size room ,good location for gas lamp district, good breakfast will definitly
stay here again thank you ps sorry if we drank too much wine at happy hour in lobby

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th floor quiet and rooms a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britabroad902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,451 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 278 in San Diego
1,567 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#63 of 278 in San Diego
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing