We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in the Gaslamp District” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #65 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in the Gaslamp District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Upon check in, we knew that the Palomar was going to be a great find. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to cheek into our room at 11am and gave us great recommendations for lunch. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were very good, served in a lively atmosphere. Every person that we came into contact with at the Palomar was very friendly and helpful. But the number 1 reason I would come back is because of the over the top service we received from the concierge. I needed an old newspaper to stuff in my boots, which had become waterlogged from the rain (the best way to dry them out). All of the newspapers from the day were gone. He had one of his coworkers go down the street, in the rain, to go find a newspaper for me. It was 9:00 at night! We will definitely come back again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oregonstarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
WOW! Thanks so much for the feedback. We have some rock stars with us here. Wet boots are no fun, especially in beautiful San Diego. So glad we made a special trip for a newspaper to make that better.

We hope to see you soon!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    351
    148
    53
    36
See reviews for
159
454
51
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We can't say enough about the friendly, helpful and professional staff at the Palomar. Just returned from a wonderful trip with my two sisters and we were treated like royalty. We had a couple of small issues with our adjoining rooms but one call to the front desk and within minutes, all was good. Astrid and Johnson went out of their way to give us special recommendations and care as did Mike at the concierge desk who orchestrated our fantastic day at the Coronado Hotel. My sisters had pedicures and I had one of the best massages ever at the Se Spa..highly recommend. Can't leave out Mike, our attentive waiter every morning for breakfast at the Saltbox giving us a pleasant start to each day. Great location, great people, nice room..highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks jersue for mentioning Astrid, Johnson, Mike our concierge and Mike our server! They are the best and we are lucky to have them!

Let us know when you're coming back. Sé Spa and the hotel are waiting for you.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Palomar was very nice! The staff were absolutely the best part, professional and friendly. Take advantage of the free happy hour nightly and the pool. Only downside is the rooms are not soundproof at all, be prepared to hear doors and people, so bring earplugs! Overall, great location and beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjenn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I completely agree rjenn2011 our caring staff are the best part the Palomar. Glad to hear you enjoyed our nightly wine hour!

Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

When we first arrived at the Palomar, we were a little taken aback. LOur room was fairly spartan, but we were able to upgrade - for $50 a night! - to a beautiful suite with balcony. every day we liked the hotel better.

All the staff was both friendly and obliging. All our requests, and some might have seemed a bit strange, were met readily.

The hotel has a car and they took us to all our dinner reserfvations. they also made our dionner reservationsat some excellent restaurants which they suggested.

At 5 PM every day they have courtesy wine hours in the lobby, which was very enjoyable.

The breakfast was also excellent.

We would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: A suite is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for the feedback IndyMarion. I am glad you enjoyed the upgrade and our friendly staff.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Friendly, comfortable hotel in the heart of San Diego. Helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere and reasonable price made it ideal for our family visit. Parking was difficult -- and expensive ($38 per night for the valet parking), but the tea-time hour of free wine helped ease it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks Keith M for choosing us during your trip to San Diego. It was nice to hear you loved our friendly staff!

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

A relaxed and friendly atmosphere in this chic, modern hotel which is located in the trendy Gaslamp Quarter. An easy walk to most restaurants, cafes and bars and it's only a 20-25mins ($30) taxi-ride to Mission beach. A taxi to the world famous San Diego Zoo is short ($13) and to/from the airport it's around 20mins ($23) each way. The concierge was very helpful and arrange our whale-watching tour with a private company (Sail San Diego) - reception even managed to rearrange the time on the day as we missed our boat slot! I was really impressed with the hotel and it wasn't too expensive (although we did go off-peak- ie. during Xmas/New Year). Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
You really made the most out of your visit to San Diego Vicky D. The world famous San Diego Zoo, whale watching, Mission Beach and the Palomar!

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see you soon.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my first stay in a Kimpton hotel, and my experience was unparalleled. Nicole at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly ,and I was checked into a lovely suite in no time at all. The suite was styled modernly and had everything I needed. I was in town for some sight seeing, and to attend a friend's wedding. The crafted cocktails, and small plate menu in the Saltbox lounge were wonderful, and the staff, again, helpful and friendly, (Pedro took good care of us). On another evening, I enjoyed the wine tasting happy hour, and visiting a bit with a few other guests.
The location was walkable to the Gaslamp district, which was very enjoyable. I was only able to spend a few hours at the pool area, but it was very relaxing. Although a hottub would have made it even more relaxing.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, and I look forward to staying at a Kimpton property again.

Room Tip: Corner suite was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#58 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing