We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #64 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Beds”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel has wonderful beds. The rooms we had were so so. Kind of felt like a cheap Ikea decor from the laminate flooring to the wobbling lamp. I felt like the hotel was not a good value for the price. The employees were not warm and helpful - the huge front door was never opened for us by the doorman who was busy doing nothing. Just outside of this hotel is the biggest collection of homeless (and aggressive) people I have ever seen in the USA. Everywhere we went smelled like urine on the streets and had people yelling and asking for money constantly. San Diego can be proud that they have turned into the homeless capitol of the US. I should mention that I am happy to give to those in need, but these "seemed" to be there out of choice. They have a nice pool here, but they close it at 8pm. I like to have an evening swim, but that was not possible here. This is a "wanna be" hotel that needs further training for employees.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tentsleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    369
    156
    56
    37
See reviews for
165
483
54
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Stayed here a few times when it was Se San Diego, first time back since its a Kimpton Hotel. Still a great hotel with great rooms with wonderful details. Booked a suite for a great price. Bed is really comfortable and in room amenities are fantastic. The wooden floors were dirty when we arrived, kind of sticky. Also parlor furnishing were stained and look pretty dirty, did not feel comfortable sitting on the sofa. I called housekeeping manager and asked that when they cleaned the room that the floors and sofa stains be addressed. The manager was very accommodating and when we returned to the room after a day out the room was cleaned to my expectations, although some stains Doud not be removed from the sofa. Not a big deal to have a problem like this when the hotel owns it and corrects the problem. Kudos to the housekeeping manager for taking such quick action.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travvelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very cool 4 star property in the Gaslamp District. Excellent dining @ Saltbox, see separate review. The hotel's Saltbox Bar and Lounge is not huge, but definitely ultra-ish, and had an eclectic mix of people. Great vibe / changing scene. Noticeably business casual up to formal, exceptions were trenders, and was surprisingly busy for midweek. Bar / Lounge service was excellent. Valet, Doormen, and Security were on spot and we felt well guarded. This review is for the Palomar Saltbox Bar and Lounge only, we did not stay, but were able throughout the day / evening, to explore this Kimpton Hotel with our Hosts. The Lobby and Saltbox Bar and Lounge impressed us, so did our meal at the Saltbox Restaurant. Standard rooms are very nice, although a bit on the cramped side with QQ, but seemed very clean / comfortable, nice bathroom. The Palomar offers quite a bit, especially at less than 4 star pricing, with a great pool deck (including a separate bar and food services, lounge areas), full spa, etc. and unique common areas that are definitely on the sophisticated side. We enjoyed our day in and out of this Kimpton hotel, especially when the whole Saltbox Lobby Bar came alive. This 5 helps to keep Palomar at the top of the 4’s.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledgelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here 3 days for a wedding. The location was pretty good. It's about 8 blocks away from the stadium, but really close to bars and restaurants. There was some road construction nearby which made it a little harder for cabs, but no too bad. We really didn't do much at the hotel though. Restaurant was fine but overpriced. We would pick this place again without reservations.

Room Tip: Elevators were super fast, so floor probably doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We came in town for a wedding and stayed here because the host hotel that the wedding was being held was booked up. AND it was probably a good thing because this hotel was less expensive and a lot nicer. The Location is a bit dodgy as it's on the edge of DT and there are a lot of bums roaming the streets but other than that... everything is a plus. The staff, the rooms, the lobby and especially the roof top bar and pool. This was such a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuamTopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for a girls trip and loved this hotel! The staff are all very friendly and helpful! Over the top service with our room keys delivered to us at the poolside bar to recommendations on outings! The wine hour in the lobby was fun and a great perk! We had great service, drinks ( recommend the cucumber vodka drink!) and food at the pool bar, and would loved to have dined In the restaurant, it has great views, delicious menu ( we had the beef cheek tacos at the bar...Delicious!) and comfortable seating. The whole hotel is beautiful with hardwood flooring, love the entry door, and the rooms as well. The bathrooms have a huge slate rock shower with the rain shower head, and the amenities were high quality luxurious! They had everything you needed: fluffy towels with extras, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion - all great products! The beds are the most comfortable beds ever! The mini bar and fridge is super convenient, and of course the animal print robes are a fun and functional perk!
I can't wait to return here!
Location couldn't be better! Right on 5th and broadway in gas lamp, we walked everywhere; the mall, bars, shops, star bucks! Although you don't need star bucks because they have coffee in lobby in the morning!
Poolside: great atmosphere and comfortable cushioned lounges! Spent the whole morning relaxing on a lounge enjoying breakfast and coffee, it was a great way to wake up and relax!

Room Tip: I liked the corner room, it had a great long hallway from the bath to the room affording a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
It is great to hear you had a great girls weekend with us Kathy M. Thanks for all of the great comments on the hotel. Cucumber vodka drinks and animal print robes sound like part of a great girls weekend!

Please come back and see us soon.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed November 8-11 in one of the 19th floor villas. Very modern and roomy. The room had several small but annoying problems.
The 'famous' steam shower didn't work and the in-mirror TV in master bath also didn't work. The guest bathroom door didn't close. It just seems like the maintenance is lacking.
Our room had a fabulous view, but window treatments in the living area would have been helpful to screen the afternoon sun.
The staff was friendly and attentive. We could have used some hints on how to work some of the lighting features.
The bed very comfortable. Linens and towels very nice.

Room Tip: No hot tubs in hotel. Book spa treatments early. No vending machines in building, CVS 1/2 block aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmahaEater1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear OmahaEater1960,

I am sorry you had issues during your stay with us. Small issues are big issues to us. I would like to speak with you personally about your stay. I can be contacted directly at the hotel.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,997 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,452 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 278 in San Diego
1,570 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing