We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice you don't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #59 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for a week, while in San Diego for a bit of business, and a bit of vacation. What's great about this hotel is that it accomodates both activities very well, and very comfortably.

When I made my reservation online, I was offered the option of an "instant upgrade" at the time of check-in for a nominal additional cost of $10/night. I went ahead and opted for this. So glad I did. Because not only did my upgrade come through, I got a "double upgrade" to a flat on the 18th floor, probably because I was going to be with them for an entire week.

There are many things I like about this hotel. The room is stylish, clean, and very comfortable. The bed is fantastic! Very comfy, plush matress with fantastic sheets. The hot water is instant and perfect temp. The room is quiet at all hours. There are large windows that allow lots of natural light into the room. The wireless connection is flawless. The flat screen TV is brand new and offers a huge selection of channels. You get The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and a few local newspapers every day in the lobby for free. The fitness center has everything you need, and I never saw a single person in there, so had it all to myself.

The location is also excellent. Only a two block walk to the heart of the gaslamp district and basically any type of cuisine you can imagine. It is also exactly 0.5 mile from Little Italy, another great place to dine. And the cab ride to the airport cost only $12 -- a huge plus.

I ordered room service two of the nights I was there. Again, excellent. The hamburger could well be the largest, juiciest, tastiest I have ever had! Maybe it is the heaping amount of guacamole they put on it. Make sure you try it!

If I wanted to nitpick, I could mention that the mini-bar is exhorbitantly expensive. That's easy to solve -- just don't use it. Or I could mention that you get a lot of noise from the loud music being played by the DJ if your room is on the side of the hotel above the pool. That's easy to solve as well -- just don't stay on that side if you think it may bother you. It is only a couple hours during the late afternoon and evening. And I think it is only on certain days (i.e. weekend). And I know the parking is extremely expensive, with not a lot of nearby options. My solution to that was not to have a car, since I was working/playing downtown during my stay. Cab rides are cheap compared to renting a car and then paying the parking. So my "nitpicks" all come with an easy solution, and really aren't "problems" at all.

All said, this hotel does such a great job that some evenings I found myself just wanting to stay in and enjoy the comfort of the room. It truly is so good that you don't want to leave. I will definitely be back, and am already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you Eilig for the great comments. We are so happy you had a great week with us in San Diego. We have the DJ on the pool deck on a few weekends in the fall to celebrate our warm fall weather! You really got to get out and Live Like a Local... and spend some quality time at the Palomar.

We hope to see you back here soon.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at Palomar a few times and find the rooms stylish and pleasant. Lobby is hip and a scene--but a low key scene. Location is good. Excuse homeless, this is the city and unrelated to hotel!
Good service by young staff who are eager to please. Join Kimpton InTouch for free $10 from mini bar every stay and free wifi.
The price point for this hotel seems to run 160-180 and for this price you get a more interesting place than a Marriott, with reliable good quality.
FYI, frosted glass doors in bathrooms make it unwise to share a room with anyone you are not intimate with!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for three nights at the beginning of October. The hotel itself is very stylish with a strong theme on design and art, which extend to its rooms.

My room was a nice size with plenty of the usual ammenites that one would expect from a hotel of this rating.

However a few issues occured/arose. My in room safe was still locked from the previous guest, meaning that a member of the hotels security team had to come and unlock it for me.

The sinks in the bathrooms do not have any plugs, so if you want to have a quick wash it makes it very difficult to do so.

The televisions comes on at a ridiculously high volume and the controller is so slow to react if can be about a minute before you have the thing under control. This is something I'm sure neighbouring rooms wouldn't appreciate if you like to watch the news first thing in the morning.

The room my parents were allocated was of similar size but at the rear of the hotel with a nice view of the hotels air conditioning plant. Their room had a mulitude of issues: no safe at all - one had to be fitted, no plug for the sink, no towel rail or hook for the bathroom (holes in the wall where there once had been one, but not replaced) a bedframe too big for the mattress causing many scraped shins and no full length mirror. We figured this room may have had things taken out of it to replace other broken bits in other rooms but never got resolved itself?

To the hotels credit they did sort out the security/safe issues, however they need to check all their rooms have the basics of a shower rail/hook in their bathrooms.

This hotel has a nice location with plenty of easy (but expensive) local parking, however its style makes certain aspects of holidaying here impractical.

If I return to San Diego, which by the way is a lovely city, I doubt very much that I'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms towards the front of the hotel would afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobfromTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear RobfromTheUK,

I am sorry you experienced issues with your guest room. I know this did not make a great first impression. I hope that you will give us another try next holiday. I would like to chat about your stay. I can be contacted at the hotel.

Thank you,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Palomar in San Diego last week. The decor is lovely, edgy, staff was nice and helpful. I would say the room we stayed in was a king sized bed...and that is it! Very very small room, to the point where I could hardly make it around the bed without hitting my ankle or knee on the frame or dresser. Small tv, curtains needed attention, as they were not attached at the top and the ceiling is prob 16 feet...so the light came in early. They needed to be rehung or something, and the staff should have noticed this when tending to the room. I could have called, but we were there only one night, and by the time we figured it out, I was ready for bed. Pricy place for such a tiny accommodation.

Room Tip: ask for a larger room, maybe a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlkYorbaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

I am sorry you were not impressed with the size of your room nlkYorbaLinda. It seems like you live close to San Diego. I would like for you to return and try some of our other guest rooms. We do have other rooms with a bit more space.

Please contact me personally at the hotel.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at the Palomar San Diego this week while I was in town for a work convention - it was amazing!

From the moment I arrived, the service was nothing short of top-notch. My flight got in well in advance of check in - so I arrived to the front desk at 11 a.m. to see if they could hold my bag until check-in time. Not only was this not a problem, they told me they were happy to allow me to check in right then! After going to my room, I found that I'd been upgraded from a standard King room to a beautiful king suite, complete with living room, bedroom, two bathrooms, one of which was huge and included a beautiful walk-in shower and oversized bathtub. What a nice treat!!

Within an hour of checking in, I was at the outdoor pool with my laptop ready to work away. Wifi works at the pool as well - great way to enjoy the weather while still getting work done. The pool had a nice bar, eating area, comfy loungers and even a DJ playing great music.

The next morning when I headed off to the cenvention center, the front desk greeted me by name and offered directions.

I had room service twice on the trip - both times delicious. The in-room dining attendant also called my room two hours after delivery to make sure I enjoyed the meal and to ask if I was ready for the dishes to be cleared - such a minor detail but again another proof point to the amazing service.

I highly recommend this hotel - it's in the heart of the Glasslamp district and easy walking distance to shopping, dining, bars, live music and an easy walk to the Convention Center.

Special thank you to Johnson at the front desk and Sebastian with in-room dining for going above and beyond during my stay - what a great example of Kimpton service!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovelyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thanks for the amazing comments LovelyInSeattle! I am so happy you had a great stay. Johnson and Sebastian are two of our Rock Stars!

We look forward to your return to San Diego soon.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice location, short walk to Gaslamp quarter, jogging distance to San Diego Zoo/Balboa Park.

Had some issues with the room at first, door didn't lock and fridge wasn't cool. Notified front desk, and maintenance staff came in minutes.

Room is clean and comfortable. Coffee is provided in the morning at the lobby, but I wish they had an in-room coffee machine; not a big room, but there's enough space for a coffee machine.

Valet-parking is quite expensive, but there are cheaper lots near the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms just above the pool (5th floor) are very noisy during pool hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aqua2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Palomar Hotel in San Diego Gaslamp Quarter and I enjoyed it from the very first moment arriving without my luggage. Everybody took care of me. They helped me with everything necessary for the first night, gave me an invitation to enjoy some really nice Chardonnay in the Restaurant. My room was on the 10th floor just facing the Petco Stadium. How amazing - sitting in a cosy room and watching the game! I like Kimpton Hotels and Palomar is just great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgitta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are so happy you love our hotel! At Kimpton we love Forgot It We Got It! We are happy to go and get something if you need it. Most of the items we have stocked in the hotel. Glad you got to enjoy some vino on the patio and take in Petco Park and our home town Padres!

Hope to see you soon,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 278 in San Diego
2,095 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#73 of 278 in San Diego
1,634 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#51 of 278 in San Diego
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-5101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $135 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing