We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location, Great bed to sleep in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin San Diego
Ranked #43 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great bed to sleep in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location. Walking distance to Little Italy and Gas Lamp Quarters. The rooms are clean. the bed is very comfortable. You are provided with a fridge in the room. I have been to other Westin hotels that I had to pay for a fridge in the room. It has a nice small gym. You get a free bottle of water every day.

For the parking, there are plenty of parking spots around the hotel for $15 a day. There is one in the corner of West A Street and Columbia Street. Also you can park on the street after 6 PM till 8 AM. One side of the street you are allowed to park on Monday, Wed, Friday till 6 AM and other side of the street on Saturday, Tuesday, Thursday till 6 AM.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perspolise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
perspolise1-

The Westin San Diego is centrally located between all of downtown’s greatest attractions. We are walking distance to Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter and the harbor! It is easy to walk or take public transportation from our location.
We know that parking is difficult in downtown San Diego. Our competitively priced valet offers unlimited in and out privileges that the other lots and garages do not offer. Our staff can always help advise you on any of the questions you may have. I look forward to seeing you again soon in San Diego.

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    257
    62
    21
    9
See reviews for
123
205
45
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Was "upgraded" to one of 18 pure allergen free room from a tradition room. I did not think the room smelled fresh. The air purifier wasn't turned on (when we turned it on, it actually smelled "moldy").

We were able to find a meter parking space on the streets two blocks away late saturday evening. The self parking garage across the street on Columbia was gated off on both sides, maybe because of the marathon Sunday morning. However, when we checked out on sunday morning, we saw the steel gates lifted. Odd.

Opted for the welcome points instead of continental breakfast, so can't comment there. The room was very small, and the hallway was even smaller. Very odd configuration.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shsiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Shsiang-I am happy to hear you participated in our PURE program. We love to provide allergen-free rooms as an additional option for our guests. I apologize for any odor from the air purifier-that is not what we aim for and a definite ‘oops’ on our part. Self-parking is available downtown based on availability, on the streets and in parking garages. Our room shapes vary due to our landmark crystal-shaped towers, known as the Emerald Plaza. We hope to welcome you back to America’s finest city.
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed for only one night in late May. I chose the hotel due to the closeness of the Amtrak station as I boarded the train at 6 am the next morning. I was very pleased with the check-in procedure and the room. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends or family. If the Gaslamp noise level concerns you, this is far enough away (but within walking distance) to not be bothered by Gaslamp partiers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Williamsm-I’m so happy you chose to stay with us! I’m glad you enjoyed our premier downtown location, close to all the amenities of San Diego such as transportation, restaurants and nightlife. It’s also lovely to hear of your seamless arrival experience and enjoyment of our fresh and welcoming rooms. I can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit to San Diego!
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

First time staying in Westin. The bed was super comfortable and the room had nice furnishings. I the room. The hotel is in a convenient located near the Gaslamp Quarter and a 10 minute drive to the airport. The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars was because the room layout was super awkward and there was a sticky substance on the bathroom counter when I checked in (room service came up and wiped down shortly after my call). I think the weird layout was specific to our room. I looked at the floor map near the elevator and our room was the only one that was shaped this way. Also, the room wasn't well ventilated - my swimsuit was hung in the bathroom for two days and it still didn't dry.

Room Tip: Don't park in the Westin ($45) or across the street ($20) - park at a meter. The meters are free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Mike M-I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your first time with us, including our updated rooms, comfortable Westin Heavenly beds and convenient downtown location. I love how we’re central not only to the infamous Gaslamp Quarter but also a quick trip to the airport. Our room layouts are unique in that not all rooms are shaped the same due to our diamond-like towers.
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The team at the Westin went above and beyond to make our stay - and surprise engagement - so special. I had no idea we were getting engaged that night and the team made sure I didn't think something was up. My fiancé worked with the team to ensure that nothing about the reservation I booked looked suspicious, yet all the while, they were plotting to bring me several surprises! The accommodations were amazing (hello, I could live in that bed full of pillows) and the staff was incredible. Our special thanks to concierge Molly, who was in on the surprise and now an integral part of 'our story'. Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Rebecca O-from everyone here at the Westin San Diego, thank you for sharing this rave review! All of us, especially Molly, are thrilled to have been a part of your engagement. Congratulations again! I love hearing your compliments of our ‘amazing’ staff and Westin Heavenly bed, a signature of our brand. We can’t wait to welcome you and your fiancée back for your next stay! Perhaps an anniversary celebration next year is in order?
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The room was comfortable and clean. The bed was very cozy - the bedding seemed softer than most hotels at this price range. When we arrived, there was a power outage, so the hotel provided free drinks at the bar while we waited. Nice location and in walking distance of most places of interest downtown. Parking is pricey, so park across the street in the parking garage. We had no problem parking the car there overnight.

Room Tip: Park overnight in the parking garage across the street - it's less expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbiFetish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear BobbiFetish- I am glad to hear you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and Westin Heavenly Bed, a signature of our brand that practically guarantees a restful night of sleep. We are in the perfect downtown location, conveniently within walking distance to all of San Diego’s amenities. Parking is scarce downtown and we are happy to offer valet parking service for our guests’ convenience (priced at the lower end for the area). I am happy our staff went above and beyond in offering complimentary refreshments at the lounge while the unexpected power outage was quickly remedied. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay soon!
Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a wonderful 'dog friendly' hotel in a great location in the vibrant middle of the city, adjacent to an exciting mall, that provides top notch service to its guests. Found in downtown San Diego near the 'Gaslamp District' and connected to Horton Plaza, within short walking to Petco Park, Seaport Village, the San Diego Harbor and tons of great eating venues. And while in San Diego with the family or on a solo trip, if you have the time you can't miss visiting the San Diego Zoo - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDmanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
SDmanT-I am thrilled to see you enjoyed our premier downtown location and dog-friendly service. We love to not only welcome your pet but also provide Westin Heavenly Dog bed and bowl upon request. We know your furry ones are family too! I love to hear how you took advantage of walking to such gems as Seaport Village, Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter. We can’t to welcome you back on your next stay in San Diego!

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#26 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#14 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,716 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego

Property: The Westin San Diego
Address: 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Hotelprovides a retreat to one of downtown San Diego's landmark hotels. Experience The Westin San Diego's $15 million dollar transformation, introducing the brand's new modern design. The hotel now has a distinctly upscale, contemporary feel, inspired by soothing elements of nature. With a complete revitalization of guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, public areas, San Diego meeting space, two new Legal War Rooms, Tangent and a new Westin Fitness Studio, the newly refurbished urban retreat will transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. The Westin San Diego is located a few blocks from the famous Gaslamp Quarter and just minutes from all of San Diego's major attractions: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and more. Enjoy Westin San Diego Hotel's panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape from your guestroom. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Westin
Wyndham San Diego Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing