We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excllent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin San Diego
Ranked #62 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excllent Service”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I had an overnight at this hotel. We were especially impressed with the Concierge who managed to sort out a number of items relating to our travel needs. The room was at basic rate but very nice. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer001948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
golfer001948 -

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin San Diego on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read our concierge were able to assist you and ensure your stay was a good experience. They are one of the many staff members here to create a great guest experience for you and ensure you have everything you need.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future should your travels bring you to San Diego.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    315
    82
    34
    18
See reviews for
154
251
55
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting relatives so didn't spend long in the hotel but the thing that we remember is the great comfortable bed it is huge and fantastically comfortable. The hotel is well located and easy walk to 5th avenue which was brilliant for a good night out a people watching.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tennisbanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Tennisbanch -

Our beds are amazing and the best in the hotel industry. The famous Heavenly Bed provides the best nights rest possible, leaving your rested and feeling better than when you arrived. You can purchase the exact same bed for your home through the Westin at Home online store, also, at Nordstrom’s or Pottery Barn. It is the best sleep experience there is and I am happy we were able to create that memory for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will look to Westin when you travel.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Westin in San Diego is located downtown near federal courthouse buildings and office buildings and serves as a half-way point between may of the neighborhood-type restaurants nearby and the primary tourist area down towards the water. We were in town for business but decided to stay a few extra days to see San Diego and nearby La Jolla.

Location: The hotel is located in downtown San Diego, a bit removed from most of the tourist attractions and waterfront by about a 15-20 minute walk. However, a number of great restaurants are north of the hotel, so it serves as a nice half-way point for our few days. The area at night was desolate, however, so if you are looking for restaurants and bars open in the evening, staying down towards Gaslamp is probably a better bet. Though we had not rented a car, it did look like the hotel had overnight parking, though at a significant premium.

Rooms: The rooms were larger than expected and supplied with the typical Westin amenities. It was clean and well air-conditioned but nothing jumped out as either a significant positive or negative. We had opted for the king sized room, which was plenty of room for 2 people, but it would likely be tight for a family traveling together.

Staff: The staff were attentive and friendly. They were particularly helpful at directing us to fun restaurants and dessert places in the area and tourist activities we would have otherwise dismissed. The concierge was even able to get us into a prime restaurant when reservations had been books a week in advance. We really appreciated the service that went the extra mile.

In general, the Westin would serve as a good hotel in the city center, especially for people traveling on business. If you are looking for more of a tourist experience, staying down near Gaslamp, where most restaurants and bars are may be a better bet. We would stay at the Westin again for business but would choose a hotel near the water were we to return solely to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Austin M -

Thank you for the detailed review on Trip Advisor. I truly appreciate your feedback, as it is valuable to us as a hotel operator, but also helpful to our guests who utilize Trip Advisor to decide where to stay in San Diego.

Our concierge team is quite seasoned and has the right connections to help take care of our guests that may not have an opportunity to book reservations in advance. They also can offer discounted tickets to many area attractions, saving you money and time at the entrances.

I look forward to your return trip and hope your business brings you back sooner than later.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a 3 day meeting here and it was wonderful. But more amazing with the service provided to us by Ron Romero! Above and Beyond is an understatement, this man made you feel like "a big somebody" at all times. Nothing went unnoticed or unanswered. It was a first time experience of this kind of service for a seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
K D

I am so happy to read that Ron left such a memorable impression on you, especially as a seasoned traveler. He is a true asset to our team and he really enjoyed servicing your group. I appreciate you taking the time to recognize him for his efforts.

We hope to welcome you back again whether it be for another meeting or a weekend getaway/vacation.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our company had a two day meeting at the hotel and besides the fact that the hotel itself is excellent with updated rooms and a great location the staff is what made the experience exceptional. We had the chance to spend some off-time at the lobby bar (...in the lobby) and the servers were impeccable. I can't say enough on how accommodating they were for our large group but in the end what made this a memorable event was Ron Romero from Banquets. Ron took care of us all day long each day and was so attentive you never felt like you were missing anything and if by chance you did Ron was right there to take care of it. You could tell Ron loves what he does and his attention to detail should be commended.

Thanks Ron!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Jason L -

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor from your recent stay and meeting held at the Westin San Diego. I am pleased to read your overall experience exceeded your expectations from the staff, to the venue and the new modern design, as a result of our recent $15 million transformation. We are so proud of our new property and it shows through the staff's enthusiasm and desire to provide the 5 star service your received by so many, including Ron.
Thank you for personally recognizing Ron for his efforts and I will be sure to share your feedback with Ron and his team. This is how it should feel!

Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ron Romero went COMPLETELY above and beyond during our meeting. He was attentive, engaging, and sought out every way to exceed our expectations during those three days. Ron demonstrated an exceptional level of service to us. Thanks Ron!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
AV V -

Ron Romero is a star associate here at the Westin San Diego. As you can tell from several other reviews, he embraces the Westin culture and strives to exceed all guests’ expectations, allowing guests to experience all that Westin has to offer. I am pleased to read that your event/meeting was successful and I am confident you left the hotel feeling better than when they arrived.

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Ron’s efforts - I will be sure to share your feedback with Ron and his team.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just held a meeting at this property. Everyone was service-oriented with a positive attitude. One in particular, Ron Romero, was excellent. That gentleman knows how to serve his customers. Thanks Ron!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Chandler T -

Our Banquet team does a great job and I am happy to read we exceeded your expectations while here at the Westin San Diego. Ron is a true asset to our team and he often leaves guests with a lasting impression of his fabulous service. I will be sure to share your feedback with both Ron and the hotel team. I appreciate your taking the time to personally recognize his efforts.

Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
985 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,433 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego

Property: The Westin San Diego
Address: 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Hotelprovides a retreat to one of downtown San Diego's landmark hotels. Experience The Westin San Diego's $15 million dollar transformation, introducing the brand's new modern design. The hotel now has a distinctly upscale, contemporary feel, inspired by soothing elements of nature. With a complete revitalization of guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, public areas, San Diego meeting space, two new Legal War Rooms, Tangent and a new Westin Fitness Studio, the newly refurbished urban retreat will transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. The Westin San Diego is located a few blocks from the famous Gaslamp Quarter and just minutes from all of San Diego's major attractions: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and more. Enjoy Westin San Diego Hotel's panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape from your guestroom. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Westin
Wyndham San Diego Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing