We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience Thanks to Ron!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin San Diego
Ranked #64 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our company had a two day meeting at the hotel and besides the fact that the hotel itself is excellent with updated rooms and a great location the staff is what made the experience exceptional. We had the chance to spend some off-time at the lobby bar (...in the lobby) and the servers were impeccable. I can't say enough on how accommodating they were for our large group but in the end what made this a memorable event was Ron Romero from Banquets. Ron took care of us all day long each day and was so attentive you never felt like you were missing anything and if by chance you did Ron was right there to take care of it. You could tell Ron loves what he does and his attention to detail should be commended.

Thanks Ron!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Jason L -

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor from your recent stay and meeting held at the Westin San Diego. I am pleased to read your overall experience exceeded your expectations from the staff, to the venue and the new modern design, as a result of our recent $15 million transformation. We are so proud of our new property and it shows through the staff's enthusiasm and desire to provide the 5 star service your received by so many, including Ron.
Thank you for personally recognizing Ron for his efforts and I will be sure to share your feedback with Ron and his team. This is how it should feel!

Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 982 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ron Romero went COMPLETELY above and beyond during our meeting. He was attentive, engaging, and sought out every way to exceed our expectations during those three days. Ron demonstrated an exceptional level of service to us. Thanks Ron!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank AV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

AV V -

Ron Romero is a star associate here at the Westin San Diego. As you can tell from several other reviews, he embraces the Westin culture and strives to exceed all guests’ expectations, allowing guests to experience all that Westin has to offer. I am pleased to read that your event/meeting was successful and I am confident you left the hotel feeling better than when they arrived.

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Ron’s efforts - I will be sure to share your feedback with Ron and his team.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just held a meeting at this property. Everyone was service-oriented with a positive attitude. One in particular, Ron Romero, was excellent. That gentleman knows how to serve his customers. Thanks Ron!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Chandler T -

Our Banquet team does a great job and I am happy to read we exceeded your expectations while here at the Westin San Diego. Ron is a true asset to our team and he often leaves guests with a lasting impression of his fabulous service. I will be sure to share your feedback with both Ron and the hotel team. I appreciate your taking the time to personally recognize his efforts.

Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ron Romero provided above and beyond service during our 3 day meeting. From going to the store to buy Coke Zero to moving our snack time to best serve our needs, Ron exceed our expectations. He deserves recognition across the Starwood franchise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLake86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

CLake86 -

Ron is a great asset to our hotel team and the Banquet Department. Thank you for taking the time to personally recognize him and his efforts. I will be sure to share your comments with him and his team.

Sincerely,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Every May we visit San Diego and stay at the San Diego Westin. Rooms are great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Most of all, the location is the best. Walking distance to the harbor, Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Park your car once and leave it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Jessica L -

I am glad to read we are your hotel of choice in sunny San Diego. Thank you for your loyalty and your great review.

Kindest Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My 4-star rating is based on the quality of the room and customer service, which was very good. Staff (other than the heavyset girl at the coffee bar) was phenomenal, and very accommodating. As for the coffee bar girl, she was quite friendly with the men in front of me, but gave me attitude because I asked for a sesame seed bagel. Her response (quite haughtily) was, "Those AREN'T sesame seed bagels, we ONLY have everything bagels." I asked for the bagel toasted. It was not very busy, and she began to busy herself with the tip jar. I noticed that my bagel had popped out of the toaster and she did not move to retrieve it. I mentioned that the bagel was ready, and she gave me this LOOK, like, "I'm busy, OK?" She put down the tip jar and handed me my bagel. Later that same afternoon, I walked past the area and she once again gave me the same haughty look. Also, $40 a day for valet parking?! Luckily, we were able to find parking next door for $20 a day (which happened to be where the hotel valet parked your car!). Of note, the valet told us that the $20 rate required parking after 12:00 noon, and moving the car out before 12:00 noon the next day. Once again, good service/tip. Moving the car was no problem, as we took a drive to Coronado in the morning, and returned in the late afternoon. In room, a complimentary 16 oz. bottle of water every day if you have housekeeping. Otherwise, everything else is a charge. Only one free movie channel, all other movies are pay per view. Gaslamp area is at least 5-6 blocks away. Some areas seemed more safe to walk through than others to get there. Suggest State Street to G Street, then take G all the way to 5th (Gaslamp area). The walk to the embarcadero not bad. Just plan on doing a lot of walking. However, the trolley stop is just a block away, so easy to get to other places like the zoo and Old Town! We could hear the trolley at night, which my husband thought was cool, as he thought it sounded like thunder. All in all, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are actually a view of two to three skyscrapers with a peek-a-boo view of the bay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greysquirrelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

greysquirrelGirl -

Thank you for the detailed review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and all that we have to offer. It is unfortunate to read of your experience with one of our staff members, as this is far from the norm, and I sincerely apologize it left the impression it did on you.
We are known and recognized more frequently for our great customer service and we strive to ensure all our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived.

I hope you will give us another try, as I am confident we would earn a 5 star rating from you.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

we stayed at the westin, san diego over the weekend. we arrived early on Saturday (before the 3 pm check in) and the hotel staff was able to accommodate both an early check in and a late check out. the location is perfect b/c it's not in the hustle and bustle of the gaslamp quarter yet it is walking distance (a few blocks) from gaslamp. the view from the hotel room is perfect as it overlooks the san diego bay. our California, king size bed was super comfortable and the room was as clean as could be! while we didn't eat at the hotel restaurant or bar we did walk through it and it looked very appealing. another neat characteristic of this hotel is that it's inside of a high-rise office building. i'll definitely be coming back the next time we're in san diego!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naheedazimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

naheedazimi -

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back and know this is a typical Westin experience that our guests are accustomed to receiving. Our beds are the best in the industry and can be purchased online at Westin at Home, as well as, at both Nordstrom’s and Pottery Barn. You can then sleep heavenly while on the road or at home.
Our location is also one of the most favorable aspects of this hotel - we are nestled in between a few ideal neighborhoods allowing you easy access to the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy, the Harbor and Seaport Village. We are also just minutes from Balboa Park.

See you on your next trip to San Diego.

Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 286 in San Diego
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego

Address: 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#38 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $117 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Hotelprovides a retreat to one of downtown San Diego's landmark hotels. Experience The Westin San Diego's $15 million dollar transformation, introducing the brand's new modern design. The hotel now has a distinctly upscale, contemporary feel, inspired by soothing elements of nature. With a complete revitalization of guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, public areas, San Diego meeting space, two new Legal War Rooms, Tangent and a new Westin Fitness Studio, the newly refurbished urban retreat will transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. The Westin San Diego is located a few blocks from the famous Gaslamp Quarter and just minutes from all of San Diego's major attractions: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and more. Enjoy Westin San Diego Hotel's panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape from your guestroom. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Westin
Wyndham San Diego Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing