We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Cottages to your Saves list
The Beach Cottages
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4255 Ocean Boulevard, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I would recommended staying here. The Beach Cottages are right on the beach and is very close to restaurants and little shops. We stayed upstairs on the east side and the room didn't have any air conditioning. The service was really good. I wouldn't really change anything about the rooms, overall it was a really good place to stay but they didn't have a swimming pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    58
    18
    13
    1
See reviews for
72
34
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

With the beach and boardwalk on one side and shops and restaurants of Mission Boulevard on the other, it's hard to beat the location of the Beach Cottages. Plus, there is lots of free parking for guests. We spent part of our stay in a 1-bedroom apartment on the second floor before moving into a 1-bedroom cottage. Both units were spotlessly clean and well-maintained, and the apartment was quite spacious. The only reason it doesn't get a five-star rating is that the units are a bit outdated, particularly the bathrooms, but they are by no means inadequate. We loved the ocean view from our apartment unit, but our cottage was just a few steps away from the beach. We had a monthly rental, which saved quite a bit on the room charges, but be aware that monthly rentals get maid service every fourth day. We found that was plenty, and the maids do a splendid job. The maintenance staff get top marks too, prompt and courteous whenever we needed them. To sum up, it's a very well managed property with reasonable rates and an unbeatable location. Book early for the summer season.

Room Tip: Many regulars prefer 2nd or 3rd floor apartment units for the ocean view and spectacular sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrewS172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have stayed here many times, and lucked out getting a last minute reservation for a 1 bedroom cottage. There were 4 of us and it was plenty of room for all of us. We like the cottage as it has a full sized kitchen and a patio with a grill. Only the front cottages have an ocean view, but no matter what cottage you are staying in you are only a hop and skip away from the beach. It is easy to maneuver all your beach items, bikes etc. right onto the beach. The kitchen is fully stocked and if something is missing, in our case a can opener, the office will bring one right to you. There is a Ralph's grocery store within walking distance making it very easy to buy groceries. The location is a bit of a party atmosphere with a lot of bars in the area, but we were not bothered by this at all. The parking is easy, as they have a large parking lot out front just for hotel guests. There is a courtyard of sorts that has a shuffleboard and ping pong tables. Just ask the office for equipment, though ping pong balls are .75 cents. The only negative was the shaky unreliable wifi. Everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Cottages or anything in the main building. The "North" building is very close to bars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocobog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family (3.5 year old and 9 month old) in a 2 bedroom on the second floor overlooking the beach. Location is perfect right on pacific beach. Room was nice, good size and friendly staff. Would recommend for families and will definitely come again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank brijcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent our honeymoon here in February over Valentines Day Weekend. The Beach Cottages were the ONLY hotel in San Diego that was willing to accommodate us for the weekend. We had a great time and will return often. The staff was fantastic. They staged balloons, rose peddles and candles in our room shortly before arriving.

Room Tip: Hands down the best price on the beach. Stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrylSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Second time around at the Beach Cottages and I enjoyed it the first time and loved it the second time!! We had a two bedroom overlooking the ocean with a private balcony. Last time we rented a cottage which was a little small but I was pleasantly surprised at how large and self contained the two bedroom was. I was travelling with six people and a baby and there was more than enough room. With the added convenience of a washer and dryer in the room made life easier. The rooms were clean and staff were friendly. The price was also very good. The location is amazing, even saw a baby seal come up onto the beach one morning for a play! Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: If you're after views the cottages themselves are not the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevjacalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in a studio apartment room in the North Building this past week.

Best:

* affordable
* very clean
* convenient to beach boardwalk, public transportation, grocery store, pharmacy, and restaurants

Worst
* no air conditioning (I wouldn't advise staying here if the temperature is expected to be any higher that the low seventies.) The only way you can get an ocean breeze into the studio apartment is to leave the sliding door or the main door open. This could be a safety issue especially at night)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ddmobile111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#33 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#126 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#142 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Boulevard, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca
The Beach Cottages San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing