We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been coming for years-more to come”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #138 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
654 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Been coming for years-more to come”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Such a great place, unpretentious and nostalgic. The best location possible, whether your tastes are for dining, sunsets, surf or sand castles. This is a great choice for families, retirees OE couples looking for a low key beach getaway.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    59
    18
    13
    1
See reviews for
78
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

have stayed here more than once. great if you dont need all the luxuries, although a pool would be nice, even a hot tub. don't plan on air conditioning but we didn't need it. right on the beach so you can't ask for a better location. across the street from ralph's. bars and restaurants all over the place. better for the younger crowd 20 - 30's but im retired and i love it there.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor facing the ocean. well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewench9146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My family and I went to Beach Cottages in January, 2014 - Price was great, Room was clean and well-appointed, service was excellent and beach was steps away. We were walking distance to everything we wanted or needed so after parking our car in the free lot provided by the Beach Cottages, we only took it out once to go to La Jolla and then to return home. The courtyard with grills was an added bonus. We had a coffee maker, microwave and mini-fridge in the room and a private balcony that I highly recommend. There was a grocery store, fast food restaurants, pharmacy and many restaurants, shops and bars, all within walking distance. The front desk helped direct us to points of interest and even took the time to print out driving directions to those places. I'm only sorry that they didn't have availability for our return trip this spring.

Room Tip: Private balcony was worth the extra expense. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhondalprintdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We made reservations for one week and came 5 days early (we had been there before!). Great place to stay, great beach and great weather. We stayed in the motel, not the cottages, maybe next year. We ventured out in our car once, not counting picking up our daughters at the airport. The staff is very responsive and couldn't be friendlier. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richyoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been going to the Beach Cottages with my family since I was a 2-year old. It's a terrific place to come with kids as they are *right on the beach*. You exit the Beach Cottages, cross the boardwalk (which has no vehicular traffic, just bicyclists, walkers, rollerbladers, etc.) and you're on the beach. The beach is kept very clean by the city, which makes it a pleasure to use.

The Beach Cottages themselves are very old school. All cottages and apartments have fully equipped kitchens, but keep in mind it's not the best quality stuff. You can make do with everything provided, but you might need to be a bit resourceful in the kitchen if you're missing a certain utensil!

None of the apartments or cottages have air conditioning, but you're right on the beach so you only notice this on extremely humid days. There are BBQ grills around the place that you can reserve for fun family evenings. There's also shuffleboard and ping pong for some entertainment, but to be honest, my family tends to spend hours and hours on the beach and in the water, so those we never use them.

There are plenty of restaurants around the area, plus it's short drive to Sea World, if you're looking for some other entertainment.

All in all, I highly recommend the Beach Cottages for a great family vacation.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean facing room, although you do spend a little more for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just stayed three nights in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. The place is impressive- very well maintained for an older facility and wonderful staff. Our apartment was ground level with a private patio just off our bedroom doors. We enjoyed our morning coffees and evening appetizers and drinks each evening out there. We especially enjoyed the casual feel - guests of all ages walking about in their beach attire, all having a great. Great atmosphere for families. This is literally just 30 feet from the pacific Beach boardwalk and beach and within walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants and pub type bars. We are booking for next year before we leave, but will make our stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 150- ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ownerCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here last year and we fell in love with it. So cozy! It reminded me of my childhood with all the 50's motif. Staff was great and very friendly. Loved the convenience and well equipped kitchen. Yet it has Wifi!! Look forward to being there is weekend.

Room Tip: Just key in The Beach Cottages and take a virtual tour. It's a great vacation spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Boulevard, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing