We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family experience but make sure it's for you”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #138 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent family experience but make sure it's for you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our families have been staying at the Beach Cottages for years. Here's the big pluses - right on a great part of Mission beach, shuffle board, ping pong, BBQs and a casual outdoor dining area that you can call ahead and reserve for your party after a big day of fishing! It's easy in and out to a ton of restaurants including the Green Flash next door, little store at the foot of the stairs, lots of beachy type stores around and across the street from the grocery. Excellent laundry area. The views at sunset are to die for. Here's the "make sure it's for you part": no AC, the cottages are clean but still 40's style with wood paneling and they are close to each other so one crying baby next door = no sleep, the older part of the motel is 3 story so only unobstructed view is from the top floor, and the "newer" (relatively speaking) the same. We never have a problem with service, but these guys stay booked with regulars. We love it, but you are own your own looking at photos to see whether it's what you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    59
    18
    13
    1
See reviews for
78
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I love the look of this place and I am really interested in staying in one of the Cottages but no matter what avenue I search through I cannot find a website or a number anywhere to book the Cottages. Can anyone please help me out, preferably with a website or an email address as I am based in Qld Australia.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachCottages4255, Manager at The Beach Cottages, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Megan,

My name is Aaron and I am one of the managers at The Beach Cottages. I apologize that you have had a difficult time booking a room at The Beach Cottages. We are currently working on a new website that would allow for online reservations. I can assure you that we understand the limitations our website has and are trying to release our new website as soon as possible.

In the mean time I can work with you via email. Please send me an email at Beach@beachcottages.com with your itinerary and I can start to put together some information for you and hopefully book you a reservation at The Beach Cottages.

Kind Regards,
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff was not accomadating. They were very arrogant & rude. The rooms are Very basic with no modern conveniences. We Did not feel safe here. We will Never return! Please pass this one by and keep looking for another location.

Helpful?
2 Thank gccamp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just arrived back in Phx from our 5th trip to the Beach Cottages. We LOVE this place. Just a few steps and you are on the beach. Most importantly, those are flat steps! The cottages are cozy, nice kitchens, and comfy new beds. Brought along a work laptop, and worked from the dining table, could see the surf, and the wind was on my face. (Yes, I really did get some work done). We BBQ'd nearly every night, and ate on the outside table. Grocery store (Ralph's) is just across the street. If you want to relax, and stare at the waves, with the breeze in your face, this place is it!

Room Tip: It depends on your price point. Either a 3rd floor studio (great view) or a beach front cottage, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been staying at this property on and off for the last 25+ years. You could not ask for a better location and price. This property is literally steps from Pacific Beach. The property offers cottages, apartments, and motel rooms. The main building has amazing ocean views from the second and third floors. The room in the West Building is a little more updated. In this location you have your own private balcony with side ocean view. This is a excellent location for families with children. The property is secured at night and offers game tables for kids, and outside barbeques. The staff is very accommodating at this location. Parking is also free at location. Restaurants are within walking distance and there is a bus line in front of the hotel is you prefer this mode of transportation.

Room Tip: Room in the man building have a great ocean view and rooms in the west building have a private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisameasaarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Beach Cottages many times over the years, and it has gotten progressively unpleasant in the more recent years. They used to keep the property freshly painted and polished, but they are letting it get all run-down. They've made it all these years because the same people go back year after year...because you must re-up your reservation for the next year before you check out this year.
All of this has made the staff very arrogant in the way they treat the customer. They really don't care what you do because they know someone else is waiting to get on their waiting list. Oh, wait...there is no waiting list! You have to start calling the front desk after October 1st for possible reservations for the following summer. Then you have to give them a deposit...so they keep your money for 6-8 months until you check in with the rude staff.
I have recently tried other area hotels and have found some amazing places since I gave up on this place. And I encourage all to try a different place...my vacations have been wonderful since we got to sample true hospitality at other hotels.
Arrogant and dilapidated...and at these prices! That is unless you enjoy kids careening off one another in the courtyard on skateboards and scooters all night long.
Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mojogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the main hotel. Rooms are very basic – no air conditioners, no hair dryers, pay for ice, etc. Rooms are older but very clean. The kitchenette was a nice addition but very few plates, etc and no freezer. Appreciated have parking that was free. Front staff was helpful but not overly friendly – hardly looked up when we passed thru. The cleaning staff was very friendly. Maria went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed. The location to the beach is wonderful – just out the back gate. Our room had a great view of the pier and with the window open a nice breeze. This hotel is located on the main walkway and during the weekend there was lots of people bar hopping around all day and night. Lots of noise and traffic. The price was great and lots of things were within walking including the grocery store so we hardly drove anywhere. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NShaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Boulevard, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing