We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Apartment Motel right on the Boardwalk- Hear and See the Ocean”
Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #140 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
southern California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old Apartment Motel right on the Boardwalk- Hear and See the Ocean”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

One and two bedrooms available. Full kitchen with standard size refrig and stove. Ocean and sunset view from the 3rd floor units. Walk right out onto the boardwalk or sand. Busy part of Pacific Beach so you can walk to 24 Hour Fitness, grocery store, bars, restaurants, library and downtown. Trader Joes is 3/4 mile. Queen beds got new mattresses in December 2012.
Decor is very dated basic 1970 furniture, drapes and counters. If you don't mind the old furnishings, this is a good place for multiple night stay.
Ping Pong and barbecues in common area. Free internet and parking. Well-managed family owned business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank ready29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    61
    19
    14
    1
See reviews for
83
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

While this place has a convenient location to beach, shopping, and restaurants, our expectations have changed since the '60s, and this hotel hasn't. Our motel room had one chair, flat old pillows, an old bed, dim lighting, airflow around the door, and no security lock. The bathroom appeared to be very clean, and the price was low for the area, but I'm glad it was just a one night stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mbmb310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our first visit to The Beach Cottages. The location of this hotel and cottages is phenominal. We stayed in the hotel part and still had a good view of the ocean. The staff were very personable and they had halloween decorations and candy in the office. We will definitaly stay there for years to come!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LisaMSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We think the Beach Cottages are wonderful. They offer a family style experience with a personal touch. Their facility includes a laundry room and a fairly comprehensive store to get last minute needs and some beach rental items such a boogy boards and umbrellas. The cottages have great patios with Barbeques and the cottages are fully furnished and have many amenities for eating in the room.
Our kids love it there because of the community Ping Pong tables, and a shuffleboard area. They play for hours out there with the new friends they meet and we adults can feel quite relaxed because they are close by and safe. The lobby has a sitting area where there is a book, puzzles and game share area.
The access to the beach is great. There is a Starbucks, a Ralph's Grocery Store,neat surf shops, and bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
We only look at any other facility when we plan a trip if there is no vacancy at the Beach Cottages. And the staff will help with that if needed. They offer good deals throughout the year too.
We highly recommend the Beach Cottages for a fun-filled vacation spot. Wish I were on my way there right now!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank listeninout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been coming to the Beach Cottages for 30 years, it is th best place to stay in San Diego. We always took our children and now we take the grandchildren, our grown children come down too. We love the West view and the cottages right on the beach. The apartments i n the main building are very nice too. Everything is in the room, refrigerators, microwaves, dishes, silverware. We love Ralphs, we go shopping there and barbecue in the courtyard of the cottages and play ping pong with the kids. Walking distance to great places and the best is you are right on the beach. We leave the windows open and listen to the ocean while we sleep. There is a real good place to eat right out front, The Green Flash. Real good food. We will always come to the Beach Cottages.

Room Tip: The main aparments are a little quieter. And the greatest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FrankieT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our family of 3 children enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was great and super helpful with any questions we had and even used their internet to get us bicycle information on Coronado. Hotel is just 5 steps from a beautiful, clean beach. FREE and ample parking which is very hard to find at most other beach front hotels. Rooms are very clean and even the motel rooms include a microwave, mini fridge, sink and dishes! Only negatives are no pool or AC but rooms do have ceiling fan and table top fans also. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that has patio dining. The North Tower was used for the younger, college aged crowd and even with our balcony door open for the cooler air, we slept with no noise at all. I have been telling all my friends about this great spot and will be staying here for years to come, just maybe not in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MyKidsMom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you like quaint, homey, comfortable and the beach as your front yard, you need to stay here. The Beach Cottages are full of charm and friendliness. We have stayed here before and we WILL stay here each time we come. The 1 bedroom apartments are perfect for a family with kids. Complete with kitchen, living room and dining room and fun! We love the Beach Cottages, it is our home away from home!

Susan

Room Tip: If you don't get the cottages, stay in the main building with the Ocean view!!! The rooms are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,037 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#145 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
899 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#130 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Blvd, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109-3954
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing