We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break 2012”
Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #148 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2012”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife & I recently stayed at The Beach Cottages for two nights in the beginning of April. We rented a studio room with two queens, a small kitchen, & a partial view of the beach. The only complaint was that the beds were a little on the hard side, but other than that a great value for a beach location in pacific beach. I would stay at this place again anytime!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4fisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    59
    19
    14
    1
See reviews for
80
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I celebrated Valentines Day on Saturday by leaving the kids with the grandparents and coming down to the beach. We will often just head down to PB and wing-it, finding a room that day (as opposed to booking in advance). My wife had stayed at the Beach Cottages in the past but this was my first time here.

All in all, not a bad hotel if you're looking for a beach front property. This hotel is old and shows it's age, but our room was fine. It was quite small but since it was just the two of us, it worked out perfectly. It also wasn't too pricey but it was off-season, so I'm sure it would have been twice as much during the summer months.

We got a room on the 3rd floor in the main building and the view was spectacular. We were able to park for free in the hotel parking lot (a definite plus in PB) and walk to wherever we wanted.

Because of the location, price, parking, and the view, we will definitely consider staying here again, especially for off-season visits to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mswguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed this past week at Beach Cottages in cottage 512..on the beach.. and we loved it there. We heard good things from family who have stayed there in the past. The sunsets were awesome. We really enjoyed watching the surfers and dolphins...
Very very clean, the beds are comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. Just a quick walk to Ralph's and Trader Joe's for some goodies and we were settled in in no time. Housekeeping stops by every day to see if you need anything.
My only regret is that we rented a car for a week which we hardly used at all. We enjoyed hanging at the beach and took many long walks. The weather was in the 70's every day (they say we lucked out) People at the desk were very nice and went above and beyond one day to assist our guests from LA with a parking issue. The restaurant next door was great. We enjoyed our stay so much and look forward to returning in the future. The sooner the better!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lily53Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were not happy with the hotel that we booked so we drove over to Pacific Beach, CA to look for a beachside hotel. This was Thanksgiving week so I wasn't sure we would be able to find something. Beach Cottages was able to give us a great room with a ocean view for a good price. Comfy beds. We stayed in the room for 3 days then switched to a beach side cottage.(also a great price) We loved being able to step out of our room and have our feet in the sand. The nights were chilly by the beach, so the heater was welcome. Next time we will eat out less and make use of the large cottage kitchen. The staff was really helpful. They have books, puzzles and games in the lobby to use. Very relaxed and funky area. I loved having a Bloody Mary beachside next door at the Green Flash. Looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Great view from room 348. Or book a beachside cottate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank taeweeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! I first found this place when I stayed there while at a work conference in San Diego...and have been going back there ever since. One of the hardest things about the beaches in San Diego is parking....here you obviously get free parking because you are staying there. There are some great places to eat and shop along the boardwalk as well. The other great thing about this place is that they have differen levels of rooms. You can stay in the cottages right on the boardwalk or right behind it there are hotel/motel rooms depending on where you want to stay....no matter what, they were all clean and well managed. And no matter what type of room you stay in...you are close to the beach!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carey3709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been back 5 years in a row as our annual friend trip. We love the location as it is right on the beach and it's nice to walk back and forth to the room. The two bedroom sleeps 7 comfortably. A new bar opened adjacent to the hotel and wow talk about NOISY!
It's definately excellent 20 something hangout. Buses, limousines pulled up often and a lot of drunk people walking the alley behind the hotel, yelling and peeing on the street. Yes we saw one guy in all his glory and I was glad my kids weren't around peeing on a curb. Again we love the location but we are thinking of changing next year because of the difference from a calm atmosphere to a LOUD party atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Isherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

we had been going there for 12 yr. but the price keep going up every yr. we were paying $86 per night now its $120. they do not offer senior discounts. but it is a nice place to stay. right on the beach. great place if you can afford it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bncusa_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
663 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,032 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 279 in San Diego
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Blvd, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109-3954
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelPower so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing