We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beachfront Hotel”
Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #150 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I celebrated Valentines Day on Saturday by leaving the kids with the grandparents and coming down to the beach. We will often just head down to PB and wing-it, finding a room that day (as opposed to booking in advance). My wife had stayed at the Beach Cottages in the past but this was my first time here.

All in all, not a bad hotel if you're looking for a beach front property. This hotel is old and shows it's age, but our room was fine. It was quite small but since it was just the two of us, it worked out perfectly. It also wasn't too pricey but it was off-season, so I'm sure it would have been twice as much during the summer months.

We got a room on the 3rd floor in the main building and the view was spectacular. We were able to park for free in the hotel parking lot (a definite plus in PB) and walk to wherever we wanted.

Because of the location, price, parking, and the view, we will definitely consider staying here again, especially for off-season visits to the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mswguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 191 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed this past week at Beach Cottages in cottage 512..on the beach.. and we loved it there. We heard good things from family who have stayed there in the past. The sunsets were awesome. We really enjoyed watching the surfers and dolphins...
Very very clean, the beds are comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. Just a quick walk to Ralph's and Trader Joe's for some goodies and we were settled in in no time. Housekeeping stops by every day to see if you need anything.
My only regret is that we rented a car for a week which we hardly used at all. We enjoyed hanging at the beach and took many long walks. The weather was in the 70's every day (they say we lucked out) People at the desk were very nice and went above and beyond one day to assist our guests from LA with a parking issue. The restaurant next door was great. We enjoyed our stay so much and look forward to returning in the future. The sooner the better!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lily53Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were not happy with the hotel that we booked so we drove over to Pacific Beach, CA to look for a beachside hotel. This was Thanksgiving week so I wasn't sure we would be able to find something. Beach Cottages was able to give us a great room with a ocean view for a good price. Comfy beds. We stayed in the room for 3 days then switched to a beach side cottage.(also a great price) We loved being able to step out of our room and have our feet in the sand. The nights were chilly by the beach, so the heater was welcome. Next time we will eat out less and make use of the large cottage kitchen. The staff was really helpful. They have books, puzzles and games in the lobby to use. Very relaxed and funky area. I loved having a Bloody Mary beachside next door at the Green Flash. Looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Great view from room 348. Or book a beachside cottate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank taeweeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! I first found this place when I stayed there while at a work conference in San Diego...and have been going back there ever since. One of the hardest things about the beaches in San Diego is parking....here you obviously get free parking because you are staying there. There are some great places to eat and shop along the boardwalk as well. The other great thing about this place is that they have differen levels of rooms. You can stay in the cottages right on the boardwalk or right behind it there are hotel/motel rooms depending on where you want to stay....no matter what, they were all clean and well managed. And no matter what type of room you stay in...you are close to the beach!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Carey3709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been back 5 years in a row as our annual friend trip. We love the location as it is right on the beach and it's nice to walk back and forth to the room. The two bedroom sleeps 7 comfortably. A new bar opened adjacent to the hotel and wow talk about NOISY!
It's definately excellent 20 something hangout. Buses, limousines pulled up often and a lot of drunk people walking the alley behind the hotel, yelling and peeing on the street. Yes we saw one guy in all his glory and I was glad my kids weren't around peeing on a curb. Again we love the location but we are thinking of changing next year because of the difference from a calm atmosphere to a LOUD party atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Isherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

we had been going there for 12 yr. but the price keep going up every yr. we were paying $86 per night now its $120. they do not offer senior discounts. but it is a nice place to stay. right on the beach. great place if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bncusa_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife & I were thoroughly happy with our Beach Cottages experience during the week including Christmas 2010. Booked an oceanfront cabin (5 months prior). The view from our windows? Well, I would have to say it ranks in the top five - ever. Gorgeous Pacific Ocean sunsets. Magnificent swells curling through the Crystal Pier to the North. Early morning walks on the beautiful beach. Breakfast at "Konos" (outstanding value + fun spot). No stuffy "upscale" hotel atmospherics. Jus' friendly folks. I can understand why the rates more than double in the Summer. Even though the December chill prevented swimming (water and air both around 55), the gentle sounds of ocean waves was a definite plus to we desert dwellers. Highly recommend for people and families who appreciate simple, clean accomodations in a nearly perfect setting.

Room Tip: Book early - six months if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cactusbill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#140 of 286 in San Diego
222 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 286 in San Diego
712 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#222 of 286 in San Diego
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#147 of 286 in San Diego
380 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#26 of 286 in San Diego
1,079 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Address: 4255 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-3954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $113 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing