We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #102 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Southern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed March 17, 2007

You can come up with fancy names like boutique hotel, but if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, well then it's a duck. The Surfer Hotel is a 4 storey MOTEL. It's priced as a Hotel and that means you'll be overcharged for basic amenities of a MOTEL. The arrogance of the general manager who insincerely pretended that my disappointment really mattered was very Motel 6. Each room overlooks the ugly rooftop of the restaurant below ironically named "World's Best". The paint coming off the shower walls was an extra delight. If you are a student and you just want to be on the beach go for it. If you are past your College-"let's see how much beer we can drink" -years, and you're looking for a well run hotel where people "wake-up" not "come-to" from a night of shooters and drinking out of funnels and test tubes, stay elsewhere. I wish I would have spent more time visiting the other hotels on the boardwalk before booking. Try the Catamaran across the street, The Oceanside down the road or the Pacific Terrace.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank ConsumerTravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    180
    99
    56
    65
See reviews for
213
188
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We had high hopes for a great stay in this beachfront hotel -the desk staff were lovely and the location (convenient to restaurants, shops and the pier) can't be beat. We had booked a junior suite - found ourselves in a clean but strangely furnished room with two televisions (one remote) a leather sofa, a platform bed, a metal garden furniture table and chairs. An alcove retrofitted as a bar area (with microwave and coffeemaker) completed the "suite" accomodations. It looked like one of those "design on a dime" TV programs gone bad! In addition the room had a headache inducing smell of disinfectant and potpouuri. As noted by another reviewer, the shower is best suited to very short people. The "suite" was on a back corner of the building - not facing the ocean - so it was very dark and loud - there is a very popular bar with a deck 2 buildings over (loud in the evening) and several dumpsters that attracted "dumpster divers" late at night and early in the morning.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank redwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

we booked a king room but all that was availabe was a double.
the room was clean, however we did not have HBO in the room.
the shower head seemed really low, we had to bend down to use it.
The worse part was hearing everything in the room above us, we were in room 202.
If I stayed here again, I would want a room on the fourth floor.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank lucin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

We stayed at this property from January 17th through January 22nd. We had originally booked only two nights but added three more after actually seeing it/staying there. The location cannot be beat. We walked along the ocean endlessly, walked to breakfast, etc. We loved the staff especially April, Juan, and Heather. Very nice and helpful. We stayed in Room 304 and had a great view of the ocean. Very clean room. We were NOT charged for parking. We paid less than $100 per night (in the off-season). The coffee in the lobby (Boyd's) was delicious!!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZumaCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

I just stayed at the Surfer's for 16 days. This is the longest I have ever stayed at one hotel anywhere in the world. I travel extensively and this is a Great Spot, on the beach, and a great price, $105 a night including tax.

Everything here is so close that in reality you don't need a car. I only put 300 miles on my rental. Fox Car Rentals, a new company with great cars and prices. It would have been just as easy and much cheaper to take a taxi from the airport and just walk around the area. There are great resturants, grocery stores, drug stores, Starbucks, and two gyms within two blocks of the hotel.

There is a place to rent bikes, roller blades, and surf boards right next door.

The staff, Heather, Juan, and the Manager April Risk, were more than just helpful they were unfailing nice and upbeat.

The Surfer's was refurbished a couple of years ago and so the rooms are quite pleasant, the towels are great, etc.

The reason to go here though is because all of the rooms face the ocean. Be sure to get one above the 1st floor. The boardwalk is right out front and you can go for four miles on it. Or walk on the beach. If you are worried about noise bring ear plugs. Otherwise jsut enjoy a great location.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ucan2can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

This was the second time weve stayed at this hotel, dissapointed with the room this time.

We stayed in room 206, you could hear EVERY movement the people in room 306 above made, even all their bathroom visits!! When they used the water it was practially impossible to hear anything in our room for the noise.
Our shower head was 4 feet off the floor, we had to sit down in the show stall to shower! the sink was in the bedroom not the bathroom! very poor water pressure aswell.
Patio door wouldnt open, kept jamming. Poor TV reception.

The only saving grace is the Location, however there are others we will use next time in just as good a Location for very little more money.

The restraunt underneath the hotel however is FANTASTIC, World Famous offers fantastic food and views while dining. Even the Cafe" Be Curious" on the boardwalk next to the hotel is excellent value for money, both of these are highly recomended, however the hotel isnt.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank simongunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Positive opinions: 1) Location!! only a few steps and we were right on the beach. 2) Price!! I searched long and hard to find something that would suit a family of 6 on a budget. We rented their largest room and it was still less expensive than other hotel's average rooms. After finding the best offer for this room online, I called the hotel directly and they matched that price. 3) Safety: The access to the hotel was fenced and gated. Anyone wanting to enter the hotel had to have the security code. 4) View!! We loved seeing the ocean and watching the surfers. 5) I think we were the only family there (judging from the comments whenever we parked the minivan) but this large room was great for our family. It was fantastic for me, because I could go to a different room when I couldn't sleep. 6) Good pool for adults and children older than 5.

Neutral opinions: 1) The large room is above the restaurant. This was good and bad. It was good because we didn't have to nag our children to keep their voices down so as not to disturb the people below us. However, if you are an insomniac, be prepared to hear the dull sound of music and voices from the restaurant. 2) Yes, there were parties on the beach at night, especially on week-ends. But really, isn't that to be expected....

Negative opinions: old. Some people mistake old for dirty, but we don't. Our room was clean...it just seemed like everything except the bathroom was 30 years old. Still very worth it for the price!!

Overall, we had a good experience at this hotel. In all honesty, if I were wealthy or planning on spending the majority of my time in the room, I would have booked at the Hilton. However, since I am on a budget, I would come here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank ktrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#129 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#172 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing