We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place & Cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #95 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place & Cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2005

The Surfer Beach Motel is a renovated old-style motel located on Pacific Beach, which is a funky area, that's slightly dingy. We stayed one night in December 2005 for $99. Our very clean newly-renovated room had a beautiful ocean view. There are only 4 floors, so it's better to be higher. The bathroom is small but has a deep jet tub. The motel is within easy walking distance to several restaurants and bars, a grocery story, etc.

Helpful?
6 Thank balthazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    180
    96
    56
    64
See reviews for
209
184
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

If ALL you like to do is party-stay here. For $250 a night I expected air conditioning not a window fan. The first room had a double bed against a king headboard and futon instead of queen convertible bed. Ocean view was the pool fence. Only one TV too. We requested another room... Second room a bit better-King and a pleather broken queen convertible bed-again no air and one TV. This hotel WILL CHARGE YOU 30% of the nightly rate for the reservation if you shorten your stay!! Still, we moved. "Acting" manager was rude and I will deny charges to my CC!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MMiller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Surfer Beach Hotel in March of this year. We didn't know what to expect because the rooms were so cheap, but we were pleasantly surprised. The bed was wonderful!! So comfortable and big! Our balcony overlooked the beach and we were able to enjoy amazing sunsets. The restaurant that was connected had great food and a great view. We enjoyed our trip immensely and would definitely stay at Surfer Beach again!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2005

This is a great hotel for families and people wanting to stay on the beach. Didn't give it five stars because only a select few hotels are worthy of it. Location is the best. Rooms are modern and bed was very comfortable. Clean rooms as well. Restaurant attached is a great place to dine. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a nice beach stay. If you Marriott five star, then look else where. Overall a great stay!!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

After spending time in downtown San Diego, we checked into this place to discover no air conditioning, but it had free food! The fan in the room had filthy dust, the bedspread and headboard had a film of dust, and there was toilet paper on the floor as we walked in. The door to the patio had chocolate finger prints on the handle. But the best thing was the free food in the floor - M & Ms, Crackers and Sunflower Seeds. YUM! This place ruined what had been a perfect vacation to a disgusting one!

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank temauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

Unbelievable location--literally on the beach. Parking close and safe. Request a room on the 3rd floor for a great view of ocean. The restuarant near the hotel (World Famous) was a good option. Fast food and shopping as well as other restuarants within walking distance. Small refrigerator in room. Very stylish but basic rooms. Price was great. Only complaint was walls were somewhat thin--otherwise a great stay. Would definitely go back and have recommended to family. Visited in January, 2005 for a week.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mantisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2005

Just returned from a stay at the Surfer, during the last week of April for 3 nights. It's a great hotel for the price & you can't beat the location. we had a room on the 3rd floor with an ocean view. there are some rooms that don't face the ocean, but we resquested an ocean view room when we made our reservations & got exactly what we requested. we kept the curtins open almost the whole time just admiring the view from our room. we also kept the sliding door half open with the screen shut & never experienced any problems with noise, just the sound of the waves in the ocean. the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable. their rooms are nicely remodeled & very modern looking. the only complaint that i did have was that the shower is made for shorter people. i have read this issue in a previous post, so i knew what to expect. i'm 5'7, & i did have to bend down a bit when washing my hair, but it really wasn't a major problem. the surfer was like a 10 min. drive from everything. i would totally recommend this hotel for someone who is looking for a hotel on the ocean and close to all tourist attractions in san diego.

thanks surfer for making our trip to san diego very memorable!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#176 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing