We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location! Great Price!”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #98 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2005

Just returned from a stay at the Surfer, during the last week of April for 3 nights. It's a great hotel for the price & you can't beat the location. we had a room on the 3rd floor with an ocean view. there are some rooms that don't face the ocean, but we resquested an ocean view room when we made our reservations & got exactly what we requested. we kept the curtins open almost the whole time just admiring the view from our room. we also kept the sliding door half open with the screen shut & never experienced any problems with noise, just the sound of the waves in the ocean. the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable. their rooms are nicely remodeled & very modern looking. the only complaint that i did have was that the shower is made for shorter people. i have read this issue in a previous post, so i knew what to expect. i'm 5'7, & i did have to bend down a bit when washing my hair, but it really wasn't a major problem. the surfer was like a 10 min. drive from everything. i would totally recommend this hotel for someone who is looking for a hotel on the ocean and close to all tourist attractions in san diego.

thanks surfer for making our trip to san diego very memorable!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 720 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
las vegas, nv
11
Reviewed May 8, 2005

My family and I stayed at surfer beach hotel in a jr. suite march 2005. The staff was very nice, however would have expected a better view for being in a suite it was stuck in the corner. When I pulled out the sofa bed for my kids to sleep on I had to move a dresser with a tv on it all the way against the wall, move the sofa against the wall and then there was barely enough room to lay the bed out. Then if you wanted to use the bathroom or balcony you had to step on the bed to get over it and to the bathroom. Whom ever designed this room didnt think it through very well. Other than that it was good. The restaurant attached to the hotel is great.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South Royalton, Vermont
213
Reviewed April 28, 2005

First off, let me say that this hotel is a great value. It is on the beach, and we stayed there for $94.00 /night. While our particular room didn't really "look out" over the ocean, we could hear it (if we left the patio door cracked open). The area outside of our patio door was not private enough to leave the curtains open, and the view wasn't anything to miss anyway. The room itself was clean, nice looking, and had lots of amenities. The bathroom was clean and worked well. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and concerned. Parking was easy, but had an additional cost. I think we paid like... $36 for the week. There were many other advantages to being in this casual a hotel environment (for example, we stored our bikes in the room).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay during the week, but Friday night there was horribly loud partying in the room directly above us, until about 4 AM. It sounded like they were continuously rearranging the furniture, punctuated by occasional audible explosions of beer bottles being tripped over. At one point, I heard another guest yelling across the courtyard at them to shut up.

The next morning, I spoke with the manager. To the hotel's credit, he gave me a discount for the night, and assured me it would not be allowed to happen again that night. He was genuinely upset that this had happened.

Although the manager did what he could to remedy the problem, in the end we decided to go to a different hotel later that morning. We began to understand the unlikeliness that there are any quiet weekend nights at this hotel.

My advice- a great place to stay on the ocean, Monday-Friday. Find another place to stay for the weekend, unless you don't plan on sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2005

My family and I stayed here after reading the reviews on this site. We needed someplace clean, close to the beach and a good value. We weren't disappointed. Although, I don't ideally want to have a direct view of the pool, which all the nearby hotels had, the ocean was a few feet behind it and we were fully able to enjoy it from the balcony--which is an enclosed, shared space for the entire floor. For what we spent per night we felt that we hit the lottery with this hotel. Our room was clean and the bathroom was recently updated and for the little amount of time we actually spent in the room vs. our time on the beach, it was a great find. The restaurant located in the same building, World's Famous, had great food and plenty of fans, which was another huge bonus...make sure to get reservations first!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DomesticallyDisabled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2005

We'd agree with the thumbs-down review of April 11 (and wish we'd seen it a day sooner!) We were disappointed with the view from our junior suite as well (though the constantly-changing colors of the swimming pool at night were mildly entertaining). The pictures on the website are misleading.

Our main problem was with the sofa bed - it was a joke. When we attempted to unfold it, there wasn't enough room unless we moved a cabinet with a television on top as well as the entire sofa itself. Once we moved the furniture and unfolded it, access to the bathroom was completely blocked. Even worse, the head of the sofa bed had two positions - either inclined (as if you wanted your head propped up to watch tv), or completely collapsed, almost touching the floor. The only way to sleep was sideways. To make things even worse, the mattress (which was so thin that I could easily compress it completely with one hand) was covered with crinkly plastic. The blanket had a hole in it and looked to be 20 years old.

If it hadn't been so late (11:30 p.m.) when we dealt with the sofabed, we would have demanded another room.

Other rankling issues: the sliding screen door had no lock, so you couldn't leave the door open to hear the ocean (the sliding door opened onto a balcony shared by all the other units, so it didn't feel very private or secure.) There were a few outdated publications on the table that looked like they'd spent a lot of time in a damp bathroom - yuck.

They're obviously put some money into remodeling. The carpet was new, the paint somewhat fresh, the lighting was good, and the furniture was all right. But they're slipping badly on some basics. Give this place a pass.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank culley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2005

I believed the positive reviews here and booked the place for four nights. We high-tailed it out of there after an hour. We booked the "junior suite" because it promised oceanfront views for those rooms. We checked in, went up the room and found a view of the swimming pool and the mechanical stuff on the hotel's roof. If we looked off to the right (along an open, shared balcony), we could see the ocean. Definitely not what we expected. We might have stayed nonetheless, but then we looked at the filthy kitchen area and walked into the bathroom, which smelled strongly of urine. We're not snooty and don't demand lavish accommodations, but this was really awful.
One staff person at the desk gave my husband a hard time when we tried to check out after this quick look around, but the man we thought was the manager allowed us to flee.
I highly recommend the lovely Best Western directly across the street, which had clean rooms, professional service and private balconies with direct ocean views for only a few dollars more each night.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jck33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans, LA
16
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We didn't have any reservations and we just happend to pull into the public parking lot next to the hotel. My husband ran in to check the price of the room and they had a rate of $99. with an ocean view! The room was very nice with new furniture and an art deco look. The only thing they didn't have in our room was a hair dryer but we called down to the front desk and we were able to barrow one. Also no tub, just a stand-up shower but who really takes baths in a hotel? They had free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. The restaurant that is attached "World Famous" was also very good. The location is very good with plenty of places to eat and little shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#211 of 286 in San Diego
182 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#139 of 286 in San Diego
224 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#177 of 286 in San Diego
495 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#150 of 286 in San Diego
371 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#157 of 286 in San Diego
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $149 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing