We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh well...Surfer Beach Motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #98 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh well...Surfer Beach Motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've been going to San Diego/Pacific Beach for many years and really enjoy the area. This was our first stay at this hotel, and probably our last.

The Surfer Beach Motel is an older property in a great Pacific Beach location. We were in room 403 during late August - the room has a king bed (ok) and ocean view (nice) and view of the roof of the lower levels of the building (not so nice). The staff was friendly and the room was clean, but maintenance was severely neglected: the screws holding the security latch on the door were stripped out and hanging off the frame, the screen on the screen door was ripped out of the track, and the screen door did not even fit on the track. The water pressure in the shower was grossly inadequate. There was definitely room for sprucing up the extremely sparse decorations, (like maybe having a chair in the room?). The pool looked immaculate. he refrigerator worked well. With room, taxes, and $15 parking fee, the room came to $300 per night, I think that is too much even at Summer's end, maybe this is a 2.5 star review at best.

Room Tip: If you stay here, make sure you are higher floors as the "ocean view" from the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your comments and we do take them very seriously. Our team is very focused on providing a clean quality room with great service. It is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectations. We will share your comments with the team and focus on improving. We do appreciate your comments about the staff and will share them as well.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    180
    96
    56
    64
See reviews for
208
184
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My son attends San Diego State, and lives in Pacific Beach. Because of this, we ALWAYS stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel!! It's situated directly on the beach, looking out on to the ocean, and the location is amazing! If you do book a room here, I would recommend requesting a 3rd or 4th floor room with an ocean view. The 2nd floor has an ocean view, but it's not nearly as good as the 3rd or 4th floor. If you do get stuck on 2nd floor, try and shoot for rooms 203-207, and or 209-214, (no matter what floor you're on, consider avoiding the corner balcony rooms if you have a party of more than 2, as that means you share a balcony with your neighbor). The premium rooms are 302-308, 401-408. 310-315, and 410-415. Trust me on this!! I've stayed here at least a dozen times, so I really do know what I'm talking about.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfasiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The weekend of 8/23 was the second time my husband and I stayed at the Surfer Beach Hotel. If you are looking for a place to stay that is located on the beach, has plenty of variety in walking distance (bars, restaurants, shopping, etc), and has a beautiful view, this is the place for you. There are certainly a number of things that might be deal breakers for people -- no air conditioning (but, you are on the ocean for goodness sakes) and a little pricey for what you receive (but, if you care about location and view, it's priceless). we will not ever hesitate at staying at the Surfer Beach.

Room Tip: room service and spa are not applicable for this property (you don't need them :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyKfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My family of four stayed here for 5 nights. It is right in the heart of Pacific Beach and you cannot beat the location if you are looking for a beach hotel. Everything else was so mediocre. I first arrived and waited for about 20 mins to check in. There was a mix up and the manager, Umit, fixed the issue. He came to the room to confirm it had a view. He was the ONE shining aspect to the hotel. They did right by hiring him. Now, for the cons. Rooms looked old and neglected with no thought to the layout. We had a pullout couch but the tv was facing the bed and was not in a location where one could see it from the couch. The bed itself was very comfortable and the fixtures were nice. By biggest beef was that since this was a beach hotel you would think they would give you something to hang your wet suits and towels on. There was nothing but one towel rack in the bathroom. Since there was no circulation in the bathroom your things would not dry overnight (we tried hanging our things from hangers on the shower rod).
The pool was fine but the area was neglected and sad looking. Beware of the parking area. The
parking slots are big enough to get a big SUV into but you will have problems getting in and out of it. Dings and dings and dings. Recommend you try to get an outside lane/spot. So basically the manager and the housekeepers were great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TessaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your comments and we do take them very seriously. Our team is very focused on providing a clean quality room with great service. It is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectations. We will share your comments with the team and focus on improving.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agroura hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well lets start with my room should of been ready by 4pm and should of been the room we booked. They gave me a side view when we booked a straight on view but reduced my rate by $50 a night so that was fine once we saw the view. We could not get into the room until 4:50 so they should of taken off the parking fee but didn't offer. If you book a jr. suite with a king and couch bed bring a blowup mattress because the mattress was horrible and disgusting. The mattress was also turned upside down so the springs were showing and rusted. I slept on it with the couch cushions on top. The carpet looked dirty and bath floor would get wet from the shower from one shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddruc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The front desk staff were really nice and so were the housekeeping staff. The location was perfect, right on the boardwalk. But there wasn't any air conditioning and we had to set up fans from the closet. It wasn't comfortable when you come in from the beach into a hot room. The balconies were right next to each other so there was a security risk if you left your sliding door open at night. Otherwise you're sleeping in a hot room. When we arrived, it was just strange to have to walk by rooms with open doors to the hallways because they were hot. We were told that this is normal for beach hotels but the Best Western next door had air conditioning. Plus outside our room was a trash dumpster and a trashy house, or I think it was a house...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBeachInOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My girls and I traveled from the Arizona desert and spent the weekend at The Sufer. The location is great, the rooms were good and the view was beautiful. What made it all even better was the service we received from Umit in the front office. We couldn't have asked for more and can't wait to see him again when we go back next time. We also have to thank Rebecca. She was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#176 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing