We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the stay, expected much more”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #98 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Upon our check in, we were greeted with a friendly person at the front desk. That was our last experience of friendliness at the front desk. The women who worked there at other times was not mean, but not personable at all. Even upon our check out, she did not ask how our stay was! Maybe she knew it was just ok.

Pros:
-excellent location. Ocean views really are nice and great to wake up to each day.
-public parking helps save money, although 15/night is not terrible compared to other places. We never had a problem finding parking.
-maid service was very good. Never had any issue with stuff not being refilled.
-comfortable bed, and the TV, while not HD, had a good picture and a decent amount of channels

Cons:
-as stated, front desk was ok for the initial check in, and terrible after that. As if they could not be bothered that we were staying there. I mean, we were paying, so they should maybe care.
-the advertised wifi, worked for 30 minutes when we arrived. It never worked again. Multiple times we went to the front desk, multiple times we were given an excuse. Suggestion: either fix the wifi or do not advertise that you have it.
-a lot of dust in the room. Allergies, which were not relevant in our first part of the trip magically arrived after being the room for an hour or so. This includes the fan that you plug in in lieu of the air conditioning
-flood alert! Suggestion: get a shower liner for the shower so you are not standing in a puddle in your bathroom. That was a very fun clean up.
-the irons need to be replaced, as they stained a few articles of clothing.
-overall, just seemed that the room was cosmetically updated on the surface, but the foundation of the room was still dated. Almost like putting a picture over a hole in the wall.

The room was not what we expected. We did not expect a 5 star, four seasons stay. What we did expected was a clean room, friendly service and working wifi so we could plan our trip, etc... We did not have that. If you are on a budget, you may want to consider it, but if possible to stretch your budget another 20-30 bucks a night, I would suggest doing it. I know I will next time I come to SD.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcg8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 711 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice clean place to stay, and quiet, which is something I insist upon in a hotel. The place is right on the beach and the "strand", close to many shops and places to eat. The local surfer feel of the area was awesome. The rooms themselves were above average and will be coming back very soon I hope....when I come to San Diego, this is where I always stay....

Room Tip: The seaside rooms have the great views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I went in January for a romantic getaway and we were not disappointed. The beach view was terrific and the staff was very helpful. I personally loved the variety of birds that were hanging around. They actually took bread right from my hand while on the balcony. Its close to everything. I am def going back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alnjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location is ideal, literally feet from Mission Beach. Our kids enjoy moving from ocean to pool to ocean. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. We've stayed at the Surfer Beach Hotel 4 times in the past four years. While not a 5-star hotel, it is a good hotel at a 5-star location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful. And nothing beats being so close to the beach- great little restaurants are all within walking distance, too. Parking was a bit hard, so we paid the $15/night, which made everything much easier. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmlorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for to (sadly) brief nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was clean, the bed was comfy and the view was breath- taking. The staff were all friendly and quick to help with a cab request. The area is so mellow with excellent access to great little restaurants that also over-look the beach. I could have happily spent a week here and I hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Pick upper floors...there aren't too many bad rooms. Also January is off-season so it is probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aveart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked this hotel so that we could spend the last night in SoCal at the beach. The location of the hotel is terrific and is ocean front. This is an older hotel but well maintained with a friendly staff. We stayed on the four floor with a spectacular ocean view. There were vents from the restaurant below but they did not impede our view. When we walked into the room there was a smell of bleach that dissipated quickly when we opened the windows. The furnishing were nice but we suprised there was no place to sit other than the bed and no table to use. There are multiple restaurants in the neighborhood. I would recommend this hotel to my clients.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid rooms 202 and 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrientationsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#141 of 286 in San Diego
222 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,077 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#222 of 286 in San Diego
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#183 of 286 in San Diego
481 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#159 of 286 in San Diego
364 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $111 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing