We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach hotel is what it is.”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #100 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beach hotel is what it is.”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel right on the beach in San Diego, Pacific Beach actually, then the Surfer Beach Hotel is one of those. It has been there a long time and any beach front hotel will weather twice as fast as any inland hotel. Weekday prices before start of high season on June 15 are quite reasonable for a beach front location, around $120-$140 with weekends higher.

Room was clean but older. We upped to a jr. suite, a misnomer tho' as it is just a bigger room with small refrig and microwave ( didn't work tho'). Shower space for one only if your mate is friendl, big new flat screen TV with 28 channels. If you plan to spend day on the beach or at their rather big pool, then in-room amenities are no big deal. Why? Within 5-min walk along the beach are probably 7-8 friendly driinking/eating establishments running from bathing suit beer drinking crowd to cocktails and full menus.

There is the Crystal Pier just up the beach (up being north) built in the 1920's and another 10-15 drinking eating spots within a short block to the beach. Immediately behind the hotel is a Tony Roma's, a nice sit-down restaurant with sports oriented bar-lounge. And there is a good restaurant "World Famous" (the name not the rating) ataxhed to the beach side of the hotel.

Botom line: on-the-beach, reasonable prices for the beach, big pool, lots of drinking and eating within 5-min walk, and the sounds of the mild surf in background. But be flexible. It is an old place, has some upgrading, and a 2-star set of rooms. We parked our car for two days and easily walked everywhere.

Room Tip: All junior suites (just bigger rooms) are south facing on the bottom of the "L" shaped hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phineasfogg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    183
    102
    56
    65
See reviews for
219
191
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were horrified as to what was posted prior to arriving to the hotel, but it was the cheapest hotel in the area, so we decided to check it out for ourselves. The the front desk clerk grady was a gracious young man, very helpful and friendly. He let us see the rooms before checking in. The hotel was old, but nicely updated, the rooms looked very clean and we even looked for bed bugs which we didnt find any. To be honest, the smaller and cheaper rooms were not equally nice. The room interior is not fancy, but very basic which was fine for us. The housekeeping lady was very friendly and accomodated us with more towels as requested. Now if you are used to staying at a hilton or any other higher end hotel with room service, a spa, etc this place will probably not work for you. (Although tony romas will deliver to your rooms for free!) If you are looking for a view of the beach, which is directly across the boardwalk, clean rooms and a friendly atmosphere then this is the place to stay. It is also walking distance to garnnet st where there are many shops, bars and restaurants. The front desk folks will also give you coupons, recommendations, tips, etc. that will fit your budget and with what you're in the mood for. My family and I we very happy with our short stay and will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: the rooms on the 4th floor are the quietest, the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a wonderful 6 day stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel! After making hasty reservations at this hotel, we had a chance to read some reviews, and wondered what did we get ourselves into. We decided to check out the hotel room first and were willing to pay the first nights fees and walk away from this hotel. Upon arriving we spoke to Sue and Shane and were given several room keys to check out the rooms. The rooms were great and we had a hard time deciding between the rooms. My husband then picked out a different room that he wanted and they gave us a key to that room as well to check out. The view was absolutely amazing! We slept each night with the door open to hear the crashing sounds of the waves. Our view allowed us to watch the surfers, dolphins, kite surfers and sunsets from our balcony. Step from the pool area to the boardwalk and right onto the beach. Plenty of restaurants are located just steps away. Don't forget to go to the Green Flash restaurant for great fish and chips as well as clam chowder! Better than Anthony's Fish Grotto in our opinion. All of the rooms that we checked out were clean. Our housekeeper was wonderful and made sure she had everything perfect for us! The bathroom and showers were all different in each room. We chose the room with the tiny shower for the awesome view. We were there in the middle of April, so we didn't need an air conditioner, which they didn't have in our room. There was a fan in the closet if you needed it. The bed was really comfortable! We were not there during spring break so we didn't have the noise that others were speaking of. A couple of rooms would seem to have an obstructed view of the smokestack from the restaurant and we would recommend asking the manager about your room or ask to view your room first. Internet access was quick. There was no safe in our room but the front desk has safety deposit boxes for small items. Yes, as in other reviews, their hot chocolate was really good and worth mentioning. People looked as if they were enjoying the pool and it always looked very clean. Once again we had a wonderful experience and would like to thank Sue, Shane and the rest of the staff that made our stay so enjoyable. If you are looking for a really fancy room this is not for you but if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, falling asleep to the sound of the ocean, easy access to restaurants, shopping, steps from the beach and watching surfers and dolphins from your balcony, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Lori, thank you so much for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We are so pleased that you had such a great time. We hope you keep your promise and come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

SUFER BEACH HOTEL WAS AWESOME! I spent my 30th birthday there - and would do it again for my next birthday! The staff was extremely accommodating and eager to please. Our crew had a blast and we would all love to visit again! I recommend the Sunset Suite - big rooms - and a gorgeous view of the ocean. I would tell my friends to stay there - definitely! Thanks to Sue - the GM - for making it a memorable birthday!

Room Tip: Sunset Suite - book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the great comments! Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel is for the under 20 crowd who don't care that their windows overlook the restaurant smokestack. Do not stay here with young children - stay at the Best Western across the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel in San Diego. We apologize that you were not happy with the location of your room while you were with us. When you return to San Diego, please give us a call so that we can insure that you reserve the best room to suit your needs. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children under the age of 5 years old. The place was horrible. The noise was very loud with many young college student drinking, partying, and drugs. We requested a refund and the hotel refused. Horrible customer service. I would not waste your money. The are nicer places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay during Spring Break at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We certainly do apologize for your inconvenience. It is through your insight that we can improve to exceed our guest's expectations. Again, we offer our sincere apologizes and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed only one night (thank goodness) Reserved a junior suite. 4 adults
Plumbers putty around bar tap to stop leak! Pulled out couch to sleep on only to discover dirty towels underneath. Bedding for couch on top shelf on closet not sure really if they were clean. Ugly, dark shower......refused to use in the morning.
Should not have stayed or atleast asked for a better room if possible. Paid for the view I guess because it was not the room shown on the web pages!

Room Tip: Look at it and asked to be moved if not happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We certainly apologize for the issues that you encountered and that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the items mentioned in your comments with the appropriate staff. It is through comments such as yours that we can improve and help make the guest stay a pleasant and happy one. Again, please accept our apologies and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,044 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#209 of 278 in San Diego
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
908 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#223 of 278 in San Diego
173 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing