We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing vacation”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #104 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A relaxing vacation”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We've stayed here many times. The hotel management is warm and accommodating, the suite was very comfortable. Housekeeping provided us daily with fresh towels, toiletries and sundries. We even brought our puppy with us!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetuniaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    180
    99
    56
    65
See reviews for
212
188
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We were recommended this hotel by the Information people in San Diego and so stayed for one night while we decided what to do. We were flexible so we could have chosen to stay the five nights we planned in Pacific Beach. Instead we moved on to the Catamaran. The Surfer Beach Hotel is not quite how it appears in the photographs and does have a motel feel to it. Our room was not clean. There is no bath, just a dark tiled shower in the corner of the bathroom - rather depressing. Having said that, the view of the ocean was marvellous (although side on). The pool was out of order when we were there but we were told we could use the Best Western facilities opposite.

Room Tip: ask for a full ocean front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegalway_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Mission Beach has surfing, sand castles, sun bathing, football playing, and wakeboarding. Surfer Beach Hotel is directly on the beach. Most of the rooms have a view of the ocean. This is a 4 story hotel with elevator access, a restaurant onsite, and walking distance to board shops, restaurants, drug store, pizza places etc. People are laid back and friendly. There are a lot of rental villas, other motels, sandwich shops, gift shops, and things to do nearby. Parking is available at about 12 bucks a day onsite. Pets are allowed, but be aware that dogs are not allowed on the beach between 9 am and 4 pm. Teenagers, retirees, families with kids, vacationers, young couples, surfers, and beach bums are all there. A nice mix of nice people. Security is pretty good. Staff is very helpful and available 24 hours. Room had to double beds, a balcony, and a small fridge. There is also a pool in a wind protected area. Some days required a sweatshirt and other days required sun screen. Water was in the 50's but kids were in it. Recommend a wet suit if you want to be in the water more than 30 minutes in March.

This is not a fancy place, but we were there for the sun, the beach, the water, the relaxation, and the family time. This was a perfect place for all that. Reminded me of Florida beach hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLoaferPrinciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have been staying at "Surfer Beach" for years and have watched it disintegrate from the great place that it used to be. New management took over a few years ago and numberous mistakes were made with reservations, confirmed rooms not being available when we arrived and pet deposits and additonal parking fees added to our bill unknowingly. We ignored these problems because we love the location and extended family meets here twice a year. During our last stay, a fee of 80 dollars was charged to our card after check out. We were told that four pillows were taken from the room at check-out. There was nothing that I could do and I was being called a thief and a liar in slightly nicer words. After filing with the BBB they reversed the fee without an apology. No location is worth the treatment we received on what will be our last stay at "Surfer Beach". Besides horrible customer service, they have raised their prices almost 200% since new management took over.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZamboniMacaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

hotel is clean.bed is comfortable. we got a room with ocean view at a very reasonable rate. you can hear the ocean waves from your room.we had a good, relaxing experience at a tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

All I can say is the photographer who took the photos on the website is a genius!

This is more of a motel and not a bad place to stay but the reality is some way short of expectations.

We paid a room rate of $200 per night with 3rd night free in advance...yet friends just happened to stay on the Saturday we were there and got a walk up rate of $99!

Perhaps if we'd paid $99 we would have been happier.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The hotel is not the nicest, but for the price you can't beat the location! It was within walking distance to good food, the beach and shopping!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#129 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#173 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing