We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed in the Partial ocean view suite and had a 2 year old with us. The room was great! Quiet and beautiful at night. The bedding was nice and comfortable. Continental breakfast was awesome! Starbucks coffee was available all day also tea and lemonade...For FREE! If you must have a nice hotel when you travel this one is great especially with kids.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010family2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

Rest assured, this place is as good as all the reviews lead me to believe. From the moment we checked in, the service was superb. Having the "wide eyed" look of a first timer, even an employee leaving for the day stopped us and asked if this was our "first stay" ... and when we said yes, she told us "you are in for a real treat" ... and was she right. I can't add much to what others have to say. While the facility is great, it is the people that make it special. Everyone welcomes you and asks what they can do to make the visit more pleasurable. The only thing I'd nitpick -- and this is a function of staffing, not the individuals ... we found the pool beverage service to be a bit uneven, having to track down the person to order a drink once in a while. There is plenty of seating outside now for breakfast, and the food is excellent. I did the "cook to order" each morning and it was well prepared and fast. No restaurant on site is not an issue, as there are lots of places to eat very close, and room service is available. One comment on parking ... some have said to pass on the underground parking ($20 per day) and find a spot on the street. At least during the busy season forget it --- there is really no street parking close by. Try the first night in the garage, and then look yourself ... but the $20 is worth it. Great mix of the beach, the pool, and people watching on the boardwalk. I have already made reservations to return the same time next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Every day was a perfect day. Easy to get to anywhere, from the beach to the Midway aircraft carieer and Seaport Village. Next time we want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerSP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The customer service was great this year and what a great improvement I may say. Although I don't want to go into specifics about my experience last year, this year was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We (family of 5 with sons agaed from 14 to 20) stayed here on a family holiday. The location is perfect, right on the front at Pacific Beach. Even the partial view rooms have an excellent sea view. The room sizes are very good and if you have selected a room with two "queen size" beds, these are a genuine equivalent to a UK double bed size. Service is very professional and efficient but not in your face. Whilst staff are obviously looking to maximise their tips, they would never be so rude as to mention or suggest it. Facilities are a little limited (fitness room is small and no restaurant), but you have a plethora of eating and drinking establishments nearby. The "boardwalk" at Pacific beach is lively during the day, but not noisy at evening. There are one or two homeless around, but the area is very safe for walking around even late at night. It doesn't really have a spa, but the treatments/massages are as good as any we have encountered in many luxury spas in the UK and elsewhere. The place has personality rather than corporate blandness. It is not 5 star as it doesn't have the full facilities you would expect in a 5 star, but the quality of the hotel and the friendliness of service put many of these to shame. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Enjoyed our stay so much at the Pacific Terrace!!! Ignore reviews from 2005. All rooms have been updated. Our family of six planned a last minute (10days in advance) trip to San Diego. Our late plans ruled out renting a house on the beach--the next best thing was the Pacific Terrace (and about $5000 less than a house for six nights). We have traveled the Caribbean extensively, and the service was as great here as anywhere we have been! Nice, clean comfortable rooms. Because of alittle booking glitch (ours not theirs!) we did end up switching rooms, and saw four rooms in the hotel. I don't think there is a lousy view in the place! They all are "partial" which practically means "full" ocean views. The only rooms I spotted that could be questionable were the ones on the first floor facing north towards the parking ramp exit. Very clean, great beds, and very accomodating front desk. Purchased tickets at concierge for Zoo at a discount. Great restaurant within walking distance down Boardwalk (which is really concrete sidewalk) called JRDNS. Fantastic breakfast or lunch. Ate there twice. Did not eat there for dinner. Great little mom and pop owned breakfast place 2 blks called Sweet & Savory Cafe at 4600 Mission Blvd. Unbelievable stuff!! Great breakfast wraps etc. Only takes about 20 min to get downtown San Diego (in light traffic). Have to admit; the amount of homeless peeps in the San Diego area is a downer--but in this economy I'm sure that is up in all temperate climates. Drive down along the harbor in late afternoon. Great photo opportunities. Also the Seaport Village is rather interesting--not just for the touristy shops; but the live Mimes hoping for a handout.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Relax and enjoy all that this place has to offer. Great staff great place wonderful sunset views. You will return again I promise you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beezee168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $200 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing