We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Spent the 4th of July weekend at Pacifc Terrance. The room was awesome. The entire staff (front desk, bar, housekeeping) was great! It's probably the best service I've received in a long time--very refreshing. Pool side is comfortable with an awesome view of the ocean and boardwalk. Steps for the beach. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our room had a large size patio. Free WiFi! We're coming back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    318
    76
    40
    30
See reviews for
697
690
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Went to this hotel for a b-day "stay-cation" get-away and everything about it was awesome...from room amenities to view to service!!! The room overlooked the pool which overlooked the ocean...definitely recommend a room with a view and a balcony...spectacular! But beyond the hotel was the service...the service was 5+ star!!! From front desk to bellmen to guest services, they all went above and beyond. The hotel itself does not have it's own restaurant or bar, but have set up accommodations with other local restaurants and bars to be able to go, dine and have the bill charged to the room...total convenience for the guest all the way around. They also have their own in-room fridge with bar and snacks and finally a hotel that doesn't gouge you...everything from liquor to snacks is priced accordingly!!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to vacation with or without the family, a quick getaway, romantic rendezvous or a stay-cation for the locals...Pacific Terrace is one of the best!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flygirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The Pacific Terrace, although pricey, is all about location on the beach. You go around secretly gloating amonst other boardwalk walkers that you have the best accomodation in the area. The staff were courteous and the few glitches with the room were dealt with promptly. The smallish size makes you feel that after a day or so you are the special guest there. I would love to stay there again...maybe with a better discount.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fnbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

When I found out that I was having back surgery, I had my daughter book me the "nicest room in San Diego" for a mini-vacation. While recovering from surgery, my girlfriend always says, remember how you felt in San Diego. We stayed in the room the whole time, ordered room service and ate on our balcony. There is no reason to leave your room! Thank you for getting me through the most painful experience of my life. I look forward to a quick recovery and return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wangdang83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Pacific Terrace Hotel is a great place to stay in Pacific Beach. Right on the Ocean overlooking the waves, you can hear them from your room. The staff is very friendly and warm and the surroundings are perfect. I travel to San Diego on business and stay here whenever I can. It sure beats the more "sterile" hotels that most business travelers stay. It feels like I am on vacation after work and in most cases the price is the same as the bigger chains. I also stay here on vacation when my family travels with me to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We have stayed at Pacific Terrace Hotel for over 20 years, since it was Pacific Terrace Inn. This hotel is small and hidden in Pacific Beach, right on a cliff on the ocean. The adjacent boardwalk is beautiful and you can walk south all the way into Mission Beach.

The view of sunset is just perfect. It's true every room does not have a great view, but we have stayed in many rooms, and always thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff has always been great, and they seemed even better than ever this week. We understood when they began to charge for the full breakfast, but they also provide great service for paid or complimentary items, which are good quality, and we love the coffee. You should book directly with the hotel and make sure you understand what type of room and view you will get. Most of the views are truly fantastic, and some of the rooms have great additional features.

We travel a lot and enjoy beaches up and down the west coast and in Hawaii. We have never enjoyed another as much as we do the Pacific Terrace.

Pacific Beach has tons of restaurants of all kinds, several on the ocean, some better than others. This time, we returned to a favorite nearby restaurant, the Fishery. It is a fantastic little getaway I will also review.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBBigBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

From the time we checked in we were treated as if we were the only guests. All employees were very polite and helpful. Our room was lovely and the view, which was considered partial view was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azroepke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#1 of 282 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing