We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This place sits right on the beach (mission beach). This is a great place to stay if you want the beach experience. You can walk down mission beach and go to the boardwalk. Parking there is scarce so parking you vehicle at the hotel and walking up and down mission beach is the way to go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaBobbymcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    343
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
770
742
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We are staying here right this very minute. When walking into the room you are enveloped with sophisticated tropical decor. It really is awesome and very clean. We are in a full ocean view room with two double beds. There is so much room even with the large, wood furniture. Much more room than the pictures on the hotel site show. The view is breath taking, however, a partial view room would be really good to and would safe a few bucks. The balcony is very large, comes with four patio chairs and a small cocktail table. The bathroom is functional as well as the closet. Nice minibar and a refrigerator. The hotel really is right on the beach, lots of surfers and people walking on the boardwalk.

$20 for parking in a underground parking structure is a great deal. Free valet too. Warning to smokers; no smoking on the premises, however, the walk is short and safe to smoke. Also, there is only one electrical outlet for use in the main room and it's not by the desk.

We are staying 2 more nights so if anything changes I will add another review. By the way, we got a great deal on hotels.com

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvccoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

If you are coming to San Diego and want a fantastic view, great service, great location at an incredibly reasonable price, stay at Pacific Terrace Hotel. The staff is remarkable in taking care of your needs and making sure your stay is comfortable, convenient and memorable. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego. We live within a mile of the Hotel but rented a room for our visiting 13 year old nephew. He loved it and so did we. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Great place to stay right on the ocean. Good waves for boogie boarding and lots of surfers to watch. Rented wet suites and boogie boards from Pure Life for $10 per person. Needed the wet suites as the water is cold. Excellent service and very nice staff. Stayed in a Junior suite for a family of 4 which had plenty of space. Great counter/vanity space separate from the bathroom. Kitchenette area helpful for breakfast and snacks. Heated pool nice for night swimming. Boardwalk fun to walk and people watch. Underground secure parking but $20 per day. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. Great food at Nick's on Mission Bay Blvd. Good day trip to San Diego Zoo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckertravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The hotel was very clean and in a perfect location. Staff was very friendly. I've read reviews of people complaining about parking. There is some street parking available at certain times of the day. We paid for the parking garage during our stay and happy we did. Some reviews also complain about no restaurant on site. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance and breakfast can be ordered in the hotel for a charge. Most people walk to a coffee shop down the boardwalk where the food is good and cheap. Overall we loved this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I found this location on TripAdvisor when searching for a great location in San Diego to bring my mother for a "girls weekend" I cannot say enough about what a great stay we had at the Pacific Terrace and how great the folks at the Hotel made our stay in San Diego! Rachel at the front desk was amazing: always cheerful, loads of information and super helpful. Danny, the all around go-to-guy and bellman, couldn't have been more helpful. When we noticed the back gate to the beach wasn't locking on its own, service personnel were on it immediately.
We had a junior suite. It was beautifully furnished in a tropical style with a living room, comfortable sleeper sofa with an air mattress, furnished mini-kitchen and a large flat screen tv. The bedroom had two full beds very pretty furnishings and another large flat screen tv. Bathroom was updated and very nice; lighting could be a little better but very pleasant over all.
The location is incredible; it is right on a bluff on the beach with steps down to the beach and a boardwalk along the beach. Every night there was a large gathering to watch the sunset.
I would return to the Pacific Terrace in a minute. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very very nice boutique hotel whether for a getaway with a family or a comfortable upgraded weekend with a spouse or partner.
The pool was heated and the jacuzzi at a great temperature. Breakfast was included in our room; after breakfast was cleared coffee or tea is available in the breakfast area. Later in the day, complimentary tea and lemonade was available. There is a computer near the lobby available at no extra charge and a large bookshelf where you can borrow reading material.
The Pacific Terrace is a hidden gem!
The only downside that I have to say is that parking, sadly, was not included in our room rate; $20.00 a day was a a bit steep.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinegirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We chose this hotel because it had had such great reviews. It was nice and had the weather had been better Im sure we would have enjoyed it more but we felt overall it was just ok. Notes of caution... There are very limited facilities in terms of food and drink on the premises. There is no bar, no snacks and the breakfast area is badly designed and not able to cope with the volume of people. Food is available to order but comes from a local restaurant and is therefore expensive and takes a while. Pool are is ok but quite small. On the plus side the rooms are clean and well maintained - although furniture is a bit weird! The staff however were excellent and couldnt do enough for you. Its probably the best of what there is to offer in Pacific Beach but not sure if it represents value for money unless you get a good deal. Also we had an adjoining room and could hear everything next door were doing and their TV etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timamg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing