We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional view, nice breakfast, gorgeous pool, professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional view, nice breakfast, gorgeous pool, professional staff”
Reviewed October 25, 2006

I'd never been to San Diego and really wanted to be where we could see the ocean. Not only was the view breathtaking, but the sound of the crashing surf lulled us to sleep each night. It's hard to imagine a finer location in all of California.

On check-in we were generously upgraded from a partial ocean view to a full ocean view room. (#214, located nearly in the center of the hotel facing the ocean). The room was lavishly decorated and spotlessly clean. Throughout our 4 night stay (Oct 17-20, 2006) the maid service was fantastic and the evening turn-down and chocolates left on the pillows were such a nice touch. The beds were incredibly comfy. The giant flat screen TV had my husband in awe as he watched a baseball game. Now he wants one at home!

The continental breakfast was quite generous and very good: about a dozen dry cereals to choose from, milk, assorted juices, tea and fresh brewed coffee, better-quality pastries, a variety of fresh fruit including cut melons, bagels, muffins, bread, and even peanut butter and cream cheese to use as spreads.

The pool and hot tub were cleaned and serviced every morning and just the right temperature. There were always clean towels, including long lounge chair towels, right beside the pool. It was such fun to sit in the hot tub and watch the skaters on the path and the surfers on the beach. The staff was very attentive about keeping the pool area clean and tidy. During the 4-5pm wine reception you could even take a glass of wine (served in a special plastic glass) with you to the pool or hot tub.

Don't be alarmed by the older apartment complexes sandwiched between the hotel and the main drag of Mission Blvd. They look a little seedy compared to the sparkling Pacific Terrace Hotel, but seem to be inhabited by mostly laid-back surfer types. I thought the Pacific Beach area would be more upscale, but it is a colorful mixture of old and funky with new and trendy.

Our stay at Pacific Terrace was fantastic and I can't wait to return. My only regret is that we had so many plans for our time in San Diego, but the Pacific Terrace was so delightful that we hated to leave and ended up spending hours each day just relaxing by the pool, enjoying the complimentary breakfast and wine, and watching the sunset.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates the natural beauty of the ocean, clean rooms, comfortable beds, a good breakfast, and cheerful, professional staff.

Also I have to mention that we ate at Gringo's mexican restaurant 3 out of the 4 nights we were at the Pacific Terrace. It's a short stroll down the path from the hotel, located on the corner of Garnet and Mission Blvd. The food was very fresh and tasty. My daughters loved watching the tortillas being hand made as they have a window between the dining area and the kitchen.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
15 Thank PickyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    341
    81
    41
    30
See reviews for
760
741
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

We were on a road trip down the coast and didn't book until a few days before and so with limited internet acess were relying on the reviews on Trip Advisor being correct and OMG they were spot on with this one, it was FANTASTIC......

We were blown away when we walked in the room and felt we had been transported somewhere remote and tropical, what a treat and such a shame we were only there for 1 night.

It was expensive, and it is a shame they charge for parking when you really have very few other choices, but the price was worth it for the room and the view and the facilities, they let us use the pool for the full day the day we checked out, which in my mind is a big PRO for them!!! The staff were lovely all around, the breakfast ladies were really nice!! Very friendly! And the chocolates left on our bed after the turndown (which we weren't expecting!) were YUMMY!!! none of that cheap rubbish!!

So yep we loved it, big thumbs up from us, Well Done!!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Burn1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

This is the best hotel on Pacific Beach which is situated perfectly for all San Diego sight seeing vacations - close to everything. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful in every way. The room is perfect, clean, completely remodeled with the best of everything from new furniture, the best bed with a feather bed on top and views that overlook the pool with flaming torches and a jacuzzi as well as the ocean and the beach just on the other side of the glass wall. Nice robes in the bathroom, a kitchen, and a wide screen LCD TV with all of the comforts of home and more. Your own private balcony where you will leave the windows open all night and listen to the waves come in. We barely had time to stay in the room, but we didn't want to leave it and go home.

  • Liked — The view and the waves
  • Disliked — Having to leave it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't pay for parking underneath in the garage. You can usually find it outside.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank salsamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

My husband and I took our first trip to CA and despite the gloomy weather this hotel was wonderful. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The hotel is located a block from the main drag so the noise level is reduced. The breakfast was delicious, always fresh fruit. We had an oceanview room and were able to eat our breakfast on the balcony and take in the beautiful view. If we are to return to CA again in the future we would definitely stay at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. Even our Californian friends were impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank USANorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

The Pacific Terrace Hotel is nothing short of outstanding! My husband and I stayed here for four days in late September, and were absolutely blown away by the incredible accommodations and service. When we arrived at the hotel after an exhausting day travelling by car from Los Angeles, we were greeted warmly by Kimberly, who promptly informed us that the garden view room we booked had been upgraded to a premier ocean view junior suite. What a delightful surprise! The suite was amazing, with beautiful new furnishings, a 42" plasma TV, marble bathroom, a huge and comfortable king size bed, and the most spectacular view of the pool, beach, and ocean.

The hotel served a wonderful complimentary continental breakfast each morning and wine between 4 and 5 each evening. Cookies were also available at the front desk and let me tell you, they were yummy!

The pool and jacuzzi area was small but perfect for the size of the hotel. We even managed to sneak in an evening swim all to ourselves, just after 9 (the pool closes at 10).

The beach was clean and fairly quiet, though that could be attributed to the time of year (being off-season).

The hotel also offered a turn-down service at night, with high quality chocolates left on the pillows.

The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We have stayed at a number of hotels over the years, but the service at Pacific Terrace Hotel was incomparable - it was simply the best!

From the amazing accommodations to the choice amenities to the excellent staff, this hotel is in a class by itself. All the rave reviews are true! Book a stay here and I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

We will definitely stay here on our next visit to San Diego!

  • Liked — The beautiful hotel room and the incredible service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Alabaster_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Have been to “The Terrace” many times over the last six years and each time is just as exciting as the first time we were there. We were there in march of this year ‘06 and saw some of the new furnishings being moved into some of the rooms. Just returned from yet another wonderful stay and the new furnishings including the 40” TV’s really put this already wonderful place over the top. (the price is getting to be almost over the top to but worth it to a point. The pool area is always clean and like new and the continental breakfast is a real meal (not just bagels and coffee) with plenty of room to sit by the pool to enjoy while you read the SD union paper provided every morning and a great view of the ocean from the pool area. The surrounding locations provide a real variety of food and attractions. (You have to eat at the Green Flash, the food is great and affordable). All in all the best hotel in San Diego.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — can't think of anything I didn't like
  • Tips/Secrets — check their website for deals - found a week at 50% off just by checking
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MDJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

You always wonder when the reviews for a hotel are this good, whether you are going to be disappointed. Well, we weren't. It lived up to everything we expected, and more. The staff are very friendly, and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

We were upgraded to a junior suite - HOT TIP for anyone booking one - the cabinet lights are turned off by touching the hinges!! We kid you not. You feel as if you are somewhere tropical, but near to everything. There are some free parking spaces outside the hotel, but it is first come first served. Breakfast well worth a try, and the pool is a welcome treat after a day out & about. Free internet access available for guests. Hotel recommended a restaurant called Green Flash - a 9 block walk south down the broadwalk, which was well worth the walk.
We loved this hotel, and will be back again.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank lois.russ2@sky.... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelPower, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing