We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$283
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$217
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$690
$499
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,162)
Filter reviews
2,162 results
Traveler rating
1,640
361
87
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,640
361
87
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull ocean viewboogie boardssand toysocean frontbeach chairsla jollafamily suitepool areahear the wavesturn down serviceboard walkview roomcrystal pierfirst floorhot tubsmall hotelunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,771 - 1,776 of 2,162 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We had the most wonderful time at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. We have two children ages 2.5 and 5 years so we stayed in a Family Suite (two rooms) the first two nights. The prices went way up for Valentines Day weekend so we switched to a Junior Suite to be more economical. This room actually worked much better for us and we downgraded the rest of the trip to the Junior Suite from the Family Suite. We found we didn't need the bedroom closed off...the kids fell asleep easily after days at Legoland, Seaworld, Zoo etc. and then coming home and playing in the pool. The suite was well equipted and had a refrig, kitchen table, plates and utensils so we were able to eat fruit and cereal most days before heading out. This saved money and felt like we were having a healthy meal. We loved being pool side so it was easy getting back and forth to the pool with the kids and for cocktail hour supplies.

We were thrilled with the location. You are right on Pacific Beach and it is beautiful. The boardwalk runs for 3.5 miles or so and it is just gorgeous.

I could not recommend this hotel more. Rooms are very clean. Staff is very friendly and care deeply about your enjoyment and satisfaction. Plush robes are a nice touch and great for traveling out to the pool when the weather is only 60'f but the kids want to go in. Pool and hot tub were great and beautiful view from the pool. We can't wait to go back.

Some recommendations...Taco Surf across the street had great authentic Mexican food which we took back to our room for dinner on two nights. Walk down the boardwalk and there is a breakfast place Kono's. Not a healthy breakfast but delicious and people line up. The line moves very quickly. Joe's Crabshack also a nice walk down the boardwalk was delicious and the beers reasonable (3.99 for a microbrewed draft pint). We had the Dungeness crab and it was excellent. Great kids menu which was important to us. Ralph's grocery store was convenient and good prices if you get a store card. Longs Drugs of all places had good prices on wine and alcohol.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaureenM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

My husband and I took a long needed vacation to California and spent four nights at the Pacific Terrace. The room, the view, the location and the service was great. While there I had a biking accident. The employees couldn't have been more helpful, offering ice and wrap, a wheel chair and even a glass of wine to ease the pain. We enjoyed coming back to the room after our siteseeing, relaxing on the patio while watching the sunset. Lots of activity outside the window. Then a short walk to dinner down the boardwalk(concrete). It would be better if they had a restaurant and bar at the location.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saabco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

They made some mistakes with our reservation, but the front desk was very nice and helpful. They compensated us with lower rate and free parking plus a bottle of our choice of wine.

We got the oceanfront junior suite and the view was fantastic! The room was clean and very roomy. The only part that we don't like is the parking garage. The garage opener wasn't working all the time and parking space is very small. Other than that, everything was great. With 2 little boys (3 and 5), this is the 1st time that we actually felt like it was our vacation as well. We were chatting, drinking wine and enjoying the views on the balcony after kids fell into sleeps. It was really nice and relaxing. I will definitely go back and recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anlatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We checked in for a weekend getaway by booking our reservation through a 3rd part website. Once we arrived, they stated our booking had been lost and we would need to check in to another hotel 3 miles from the existing location. This was all done with a big smile with absolutely no concern for inconvenience we would have to endure. After speaking with 2 different managers, we were able to get a "wait one minute while I check with our General Manger" response. After waiting 30 minutes in the lobby, she came back and stated we were lucky and we would get a room even though they weren't obligated to honor our reservation since it was made through a 3rd party website. Never in my life have I ever met a hotel manager that was so rude, callous, and void of managerial competance. The view was spectacular and the rooms were sufficient but the service received by the woman front office manager with blonde hair and glasses will never be forgotten. I would never stay here ever again even if it was free.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank duckincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2009

The Pacific Terrace Hotel encourages guest reviews and appreciates all guests’ comments. We take customer feedback seriously and will continue to improve on communication with all guests regardless of the reservation booking method. It is the criticism that truly enables us to focus our energy and efforts on improving areas that actually make a difference in the guest’s experience.

-Pacific Terrace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Pacific Terrace was outstanding. My mother and I sadly only stayed for one night in January 09. We paid $119 on hotels.com and were upgraded to an oceanfront room upon arrival for an additional $50. The room normally is about $250 in the off season.

Our room was lovely - 'princess and the pea' beds, very high and cozy. Full mini bar with sink, but also with an empty fridge to stock your own goodies. We were happy that they had actual glassware - coffee mugs, wine glasses, and cocktail glasses. The room was clean and modern with a HUGE television. A nice layout with a more private bathroom / changing area - especially useful with the oceanfront boardwalk right outside your window.

The surrounding area included quite a number of restaurant choices - mostly pub / grill type places, which looked casual. We were only there one night and ordered room service, which was fast and yummy. The hotel offers a number of room service options from surrounding restaurants.

The only downside is that they charged $20 per day parking fee, but included 'free valet', which was efficient and friendly. I suppose they get away with charging this in the summer months, but in the winter, it seems a bit high - and I'm from Chicago.

Overall though, worth every penny and would highly recommend this lovely oceanfront hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews