We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay-Cation wonderful!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Decided to take my 14 year old kiddo away for the day as he had a small reprieve from reality.
I'd heard great things about this hotel, so I made a reservation and we drove the quick hour and fifteen down south. The staff was great, the location was outstanding, the Hawaiian rooms were beautiful....my son said the waves were fun too....
So many local restaurants to choose from too....
Hit this perfect, right before most of the public schools got out... Would love to do this again....

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kersteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is my pick for the best at Pacific Beach. It is at the end of the boardwalk, so you don't get the crowds of people walking in front of the hotel that you find at other properties oceanfront. You also miss the loud noise from all the happy hour places and restaurants. Yet the boardwalk is right there.

The rooms are perfect for the beach, clean and comfortable. The hotel has a very welcoming feel to it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Everybody we encountered made us feel special and appreciated. There is the usual hotel fee added on. This one is $14 a day, however you actually get something for it here. It is worth it! You get chairs and umbrellas, boogie boards... for the beach. You also get the use of bikes so you can ride down the boardwalk. It would be too far to walk, at least for me, so you need the bikes to see it all.

This is a lovely hotel, the only one I would want to stay at at Pacific Beach. My daughter and I had a wonderful, perfect getaway here and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Pacific Terrace Hotel. The hotel was immaculate and our room was comfortable and luxurious. We were on the 2nd floor and had a beautiful view of the pool and pacific beach. We are looking forward to staying here again in the near future!

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above facing the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dtinab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Pacific Terrace with our children in the Dominica Family suite. It had two large beds and a sleeper sofa in the nice living area. We were on the ground floor with a nice view of the ocean although the higher floors would have much better views. The hotel is in pacific beach and a good location to explore sea world, uss midway, the San Diego zoo, etc. We weren't thrilled with the restaurant options around the hotel but it is right on the boardwalk so the people watching and proximity to the beach are great! The kids loved it. It is a small and bland pool with hot tub but again, the kids loved it. I did feel bad for the couples without children there, it definitely seemed more like a family hotel. The breakfast buffet was efficient but not sure worth the price for the options considering other hotel buffets that are included. Overall it fit our needs, the staff was very kind and we had a wonderful trip.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pacific Terrace hotel is a fantastic hotel if you are looking to stay right on Pacific Beach hotel. The location is awesome and the property itself is very beautiful. The rooms have that old San Diego feel to it (see pics and you know what I mean) it is very cute. The service of front desk and concierge is very very good. They give lots of tips about the most cost effective way to get to areas. The hotel has bikes, boogie boards and other items you can borrow at no cost. Cafes, restaurants, bars, the pier, and shopping is everywhere.

Stay at this resort if it is within your budget!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YMASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

As luxury resorts go, the Pacific Terrace is a little tired and understaffed, but for the most part delivers. There are a ton of great things about this hotel, it's not a sprawling hotel complex so the beach and pool are really accessible. The pool is small but great, right on the boardwalk so you have fun people watching. And good poolside staff like Marcela, very attentive and friendly.

The problems are in expectations. Staffing issues make some things take time, as they play zone defense trying to serve your needs. The valet might also be your porter. Also strange loud noises are often heard. The area around the hotel is... colorful.

Soooo I did have a great time at this hotel, but you have to know what you want out of it. Definitely clean, friendly, close to the beach, great food nearby, granite countertops, surfing lessons right there. But it's not a Four Seasons. Best to get this hotel when it offers 3 nights for the price of two. You'll feel better about your choice.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jpicunko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We got an upgrade to the suites with ocean view on the third floor. This is our best hotel in SD so far. The price is considered reasonable given the location, it is right on the beach. We like the fact that it is a smaller hotel with just 3 level so we don't have to walk far to the pool, the parking etc. Yes parking is $25 a night for parking in the basement but very easy to access. Wonderful services and the location is unbeatable. The beach is right at the back of the hotel. The kids enjoyed time at the pool and spa and ran back and forth to the cafe to get lemonade. The quality of the bed and pillow are superior so we slept well. We definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,092 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,034 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $225 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing