We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Terrace Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pacific Terrace hotel is a fantastic hotel if you are looking to stay right on Pacific Beach hotel. The location is awesome and the property itself is very beautiful. The rooms have that old San Diego feel to it (see pics and you know what I mean) it is very cute. The service of front desk and concierge is very very good. They give lots of tips about the most cost effective way to get to areas. The hotel has bikes, boogie boards and other items you can borrow at no cost. Cafes, restaurants, bars, the pier, and shopping is everywhere.

Stay at this resort if it is within your budget!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YMASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

As luxury resorts go, the Pacific Terrace is a little tired and understaffed, but for the most part delivers. There are a ton of great things about this hotel, it's not a sprawling hotel complex so the beach and pool are really accessible. The pool is small but great, right on the boardwalk so you have fun people watching. And good poolside staff like Marcela, very attentive and friendly.

The problems are in expectations. Staffing issues make some things take time, as they play zone defense trying to serve your needs. The valet might also be your porter. Also strange loud noises are often heard. The area around the hotel is... colorful.

Soooo I did have a great time at this hotel, but you have to know what you want out of it. Definitely clean, friendly, close to the beach, great food nearby, granite countertops, surfing lessons right there. But it's not a Four Seasons. Best to get this hotel when it offers 3 nights for the price of two. You'll feel better about your choice.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jpicunko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We got an upgrade to the suites with ocean view on the third floor. This is our best hotel in SD so far. The price is considered reasonable given the location, it is right on the beach. We like the fact that it is a smaller hotel with just 3 level so we don't have to walk far to the pool, the parking etc. Yes parking is $25 a night for parking in the basement but very easy to access. Wonderful services and the location is unbeatable. The beach is right at the back of the hotel. The kids enjoyed time at the pool and spa and ran back and forth to the cafe to get lemonade. The quality of the bed and pillow are superior so we slept well. We definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just got back to CT from our 6 night stay at the Pacific Terrace. This was our first trip to San Diego. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with an awesome front desk. They brought our suitcases to our room without us even asking and parked our car. Yes it's $25 per day but it's rare when you don't pay for parking now. Every employee we encountered was fantastic. This was a family vacation and it was beyond my expectations. The view was awesome. Even my 20 year old daughter noticed the awesome service we received. Prior to our trip I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and I thought it can't be that good. BUT IT WAS!!!! The suggestions they gave us for restaurants and activities was perfect. We were able to buy tickets for some of the places we went too, ie, The San Diego Zoo and charged it to the room. So all we had to do was walk right to the turnstile saving a ton of time.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views. 2nd floor is great also. Don't think u only have to get full oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Director of Sales at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Our team of employees really do an awesome job, we will look forward to having you back again for your next San Diego va-ca!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel has the best Oceanview rooms it maybe expensive but if u r looking for romance go their.... For me at 1st I ordered a full Oceanview room with 1 king size bed but when I go their they gave me room with 2 queen bed it was bad as it was my honeymoon and when I told them they say all Oceanview rooms are with 2 queen bed they give me free upgrade for suit but it was not an full Oceanview but it was ok for me... The barking is very expensive 35 USD ber day but also u will find free barking next to the hotel.... Till now the hotel charged me for extra 100 UDS and they say it will be send back to my account and it will take from 3 to 5 days but till now it's 17 day and I got nothing when.I contact them again they told me sorry and it will take more 3 to 5 days and.am waiting... After all the hotel is good... I think I would recommend it for anyone need quite place with the best Oceanview ever

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mahmoud-Abou-Elkheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Top notch customer service.
Room was fantastic and we had such a great view.
The buffet breakfast was so delicous and a great price.
They were helpful with absolutely everything. Always greated with a hello when a worker walked past.
They really care about the people who stay with them.
Meet the owner and thanked him for such a fabulous visit. He was very proud of his business and he should be.
Great tie there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Director of Sales at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thanks very much for posting this review on the Pacific Terrace. I'm glad you met Bob, our General Manager, he has been here 23 years and is an amazing representative of our hotel! Hope to see you here again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We enjoy visiting SD and always look forward to staying at Pacific Terrace. The view of the ocean is spectacular and listening to the sound of the waves is fantastic for us desert dwellers. The staff are always friendly and we usually get the room placement requested. We enjoy the safety of the underground parking garage and walk to most beach destinations. This year they added a few fees to our daily stay that we were not aware of prior to checking out - that was the only disappointment to our stay.

We highly recommend this hotel and have always had a pleasant experience. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request a full ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $221 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing