We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healing and rejuvenating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Healing and rejuvenating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Oh how I love Pacific Terrace... We come from Arizona every 3 months for my son to have medical treatment.

Being a single parent of 5 is always a challenge until I check in at the hotel. The staff is family to me and they always extend themselves to make sure we have everything we need.

Our room is perfect in every way and I couldn't be happier! It's also a relief to see my son enjoy his time here even though he's here for medical.

Bottom line is I feel this hotel has a way about it to relax you! I'm not one to sit, but when I'm here, I do...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    332
    79
    41
    30
See reviews for
740
728
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This was the wedding hotel picked by the bride and the staff were exceptional. The front desk was informative and friendly, without exception. The young man who took care of bikes to cars was always pleasant each time we went to the lobby. Yes, the rooms are great and the view spectacular, but when a staff member gets you food wrapping at 10:30 pm so you can save the bridal cake layer for the happy couple you know you are in the right place!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CapnJack52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Director of Sales at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! We love being a part of special occasions, and this wedding was a wonderful one! The staff took pictures of the bride and her bridesmaids, as they came through the lobby, and we all felt like we were a part of the day. We hope you'll be back to see us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is as nice as everyone says. We visited in January and despite the cool weather, high 60s, the pool was warm enough for evening swims with the family. A definite plus. The beach is very nice in front of the hotel. A definite recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
366 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent 6 nights in this 3¼ Star hotel that charges 5 Star prices as this time of year is spring break and the prices are elevated astronomically. If you want an ocean view it is even more $. None of the first floor rooms have much of a view so of a view of the ocean is important, select the 2nd or third floor. Parking is nuts around this place and you might choose to park underground in the hotel's lot. There are more rooms than parking spaces so you might still loose out on paying the $25 per night fee. There is free parking along the side of the hotel and it is marked that the spaces are for hotel guests only, however it is not enforced so the local beach goers park there most of the day. Night is somewhat better.

The pool is very nice but chock full of kids most of the time, including the very large hot tub.

The staff is very friendly and accomodating making up for the high cost to some extent. The breakfasts are above average, but $14 per person unless you get a discount during booking. Make sure that full price is not on your bill at checkout if you do get the discount.

We had errors on our bill of some $60 and our daughter had over $70 in errors on her bill.

Room Tip: Book 2nd or third floor rooms for any sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Started our stay in a bad way with the hotel forgetting to book our transport from the airport so we landed after an 11 hour flight to find no one to meet us It took 3 telephone calls to get a car to us. They at least paid for the transfer as an apology.
Not a good start.
Once we got there, lovely staff, nice room, great location for the beach and views.
Only downside is it is a long way into the city and our pre. selected choice of restaurants.
Go there it is a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOFF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

During Christmas break we decided to spend a few nights at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. It was the best decision we made - balcony on the beach/pier view, sunrises/sunsets, a wonderful breakfast each morning, pool accomodations, and 80+ degree weather everyday was worth the price. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Hope to return this summer again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on the pier-side of the beach - sun all day and no shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4Mally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was a great place to stay and the staff was very freindly and helpful. We stayed in room 313 and it was fantastic. View was as good as you can get on the beach. Did the Champagne and strawberry suprize and it was very well done and was more than I expected My wife was thrilled ;).. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. We try to stay at nicer hotels and this one was as good as everyone has reviewed. We enjoyed the surf breaking at night and the comfortable bed and beddings.
Highly suggest Konos for breakfast/lunch, 2 blocks south on boardwalk. great food and great prices for the Board walk area. Actually great prices for the amount of food you recieve most anywhere. Smaller selection for a menu but more than enough for us. We also enjoyed eating at World Famous the food was very good but decor was just average, heater felt good and waitress did a nice job.
Between Pacific Terrace/Boardwalk area/surf/sand ...we had a very enjoyable "no" a great few days out of the grueling midwest winter.

Room Tip: top floor suite 313 could be the best for a couple - only downfall are I believe they are all semi p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric n Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing