We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great staff, great location and what a view!
Bikes and boards for hire - free sand toys for the beach. It may have been winter but we took full advantage of them all.
They welcomed our kids and could not do enough with spot on dining recommendations and things to do. Nice touch with the towel animals and of course the cookies every afternoon - kids were delighted.
Great breakfast buffet.
The outlook of the pool area is spectacular.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for an ocean view. Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves was bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jools2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    332
    79
    41
    30
See reviews for
741
729
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved watching the surfers, the sunsets, and just the steady stream of people on the boardwalk from our ocean view room. The sound of surf was incredible. The location was very convenient to a wide variety of restaurants. Staff was attentive and friendly. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Splurge on ocean front if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times and enjoyed it, but we recently went on line to book their winter deal: Stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free. Their website offer very clearly offered the rate for a partial ocean view room as follows: "stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free for a rate of $172.67 per night".
The regular rate was crossed out and replaced with the deal rate of $172.67 per night, plus taxes + fees.

When we tried to reserve a room on line, the total cost was coming out to be $200+ more than what the total stay should have cost, as advertised. So, we called the hotel. The Guest Services lady explained that the rate was not really $172.67 per night, as advertised, RATHER the rate was an AVERAGE room rate of $172.67. (As of today, the words "average room rate" are not used on their website.) When you click on the small "breakdown" link, the website brings up a separate fine print page that shows the rate is significantly more per night than $172.67, and if you do the math, and add in the $14 resort fee, on top of the other taxes and fees, you can get to the total they charge... but this cumbersome exercise in elementary math is a game they are playing to pretend to offer a winter deal that is no deal at all.

The manager of the hotel agreed with Guest Services and refused to honor the advertised $172.67 per night rate (plus taxes + fees). The effect of their confusing and misleading splash page information is to draw people in with a false rate and then say oh, never mind, what we REALLY meant was an AVERAGE room rate. haha got 'cha!

A reputable hotel chain would change the wording to accurately reflect the "deal" they are offering.... but, Pacific Terrace Hotel is standing by their confusing, misleading rate wording. They have lost us as a customer because there are too many other beautiful places to stay in San Diego that are honest with their patrons and don't engage in such deceptive and misleading business practices.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
18 Thank 2LGtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I just spent under a week at Pacific Terrace Hotel and cannot rave enough about the view from our room. We booked a full view, end unit room and were blown away by the view-- sunsets from the balcony were amazing!
The staff was friendly and courteous and the hotel itself was OK, nothing special but clean, very quiet (fell asleep every night to the sound of the ocean, not other guests) and relatively comfortable (bring your own pillows if you can, theirs were horrible). The grounds are also clean and very well kept, with nice landscaping. Parking is $25 a night (a little steep in my opinion), but I wouldn't bother trying to save a few bucks and park on the side streets since they were usually packed.
The location on Pacific Beach is perfect in walking distance to several restaurants and right on the boardwalk/beach.
Overall I would stay here again.

Tips:
1) end unit, full view room on 2nd or 3rd floor
2) bring your own pillows (if you can)
3) pay for parking

Room Tip: Full ocean view room, end unit on the 2nd or 3rd floor--- well worth the little extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BallardGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a great spot in Pacific Beach. Very well kept hotel, nice rooms and a very attentive staff. Stayed here during Christmas with the family and had a wonderful time. Hotel is nicely situated on the boardwalk. Staff was very helpful with local sites and restaurant recommendations. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShoeTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here during spring break with our family - the location of the hotel is right on the beach and within walking distance to shops etc. The hotel felt like a boutique hotel the staff are very friendly and worked well together. The front desk staff always welcomed us by name and were happy to help with the purchase of tickets for attractions or to just give us information about local venues. The rooms are big. very comfy beds and with a family of 4 we had room to spread out, it was EXTREMELY clean and well appointed with a large balcony that over looked the ocean. The only issue we had was that the breakfast selection was poor however it could work for others and there are many other places to eat around that are in walking distance. We as a family would highly recommend to ANY one who is looking for a great place to stay to do so at Pacific Terrace Hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great location, well trained & enthusiastic staff
Wilson on the front desk was very helpful
We enjoyed dinner at Fat Fish nearby - Mexican
Ocean view rooms have fantastic views - great sunsets
Boardwalk right outside with lots going on
Choose between pool or beach - lots of surf
Underground car park very safe & secure

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing