We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading "Deal" Rate Information”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times and enjoyed it, but we recently went on line to book their winter deal: Stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free. Their website offer very clearly offered the rate for a partial ocean view room as follows: "stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free for a rate of $172.67 per night".
The regular rate was crossed out and replaced with the deal rate of $172.67 per night, plus taxes + fees.

When we tried to reserve a room on line, the total cost was coming out to be $200+ more than what the total stay should have cost, as advertised. So, we called the hotel. The Guest Services lady explained that the rate was not really $172.67 per night, as advertised, RATHER the rate was an AVERAGE room rate of $172.67. (As of today, the words "average room rate" are not used on their website.) When you click on the small "breakdown" link, the website brings up a separate fine print page that shows the rate is significantly more per night than $172.67, and if you do the math, and add in the $14 resort fee, on top of the other taxes and fees, you can get to the total they charge... but this cumbersome exercise in elementary math is a game they are playing to pretend to offer a winter deal that is no deal at all.

The manager of the hotel agreed with Guest Services and refused to honor the advertised $172.67 per night rate (plus taxes + fees). The effect of their confusing and misleading splash page information is to draw people in with a false rate and then say oh, never mind, what we REALLY meant was an AVERAGE room rate. haha got 'cha!

A reputable hotel chain would change the wording to accurately reflect the "deal" they are offering.... but, Pacific Terrace Hotel is standing by their confusing, misleading rate wording. They have lost us as a customer because there are too many other beautiful places to stay in San Diego that are honest with their patrons and don't engage in such deceptive and misleading business practices.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
18  Thank 2LGtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

I just spent under a week at Pacific Terrace Hotel and cannot rave enough about the view from our room. We booked a full view, end unit room and were blown away by the view-- sunsets from the balcony were amazing!
The staff was friendly and courteous and the hotel itself was OK, nothing special but clean, very quiet (fell asleep every night to the sound of the ocean, not other guests) and relatively comfortable (bring your own pillows if you can, theirs were horrible). The grounds are also clean and very well kept, with nice landscaping. Parking is $25 a night (a little steep in my opinion), but I wouldn't bother trying to save a few bucks and park on the side streets since they were usually packed.
The location on Pacific Beach is perfect in walking distance to several restaurants and right on the boardwalk/beach.
Overall I would stay here again.

Tips:
1) end unit, full view room on 2nd or 3rd floor
2) bring your own pillows (if you can)
3) pay for parking

Room Tip: Full ocean view room, end unit on the 2nd or 3rd floor--- well worth the little extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BallardGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a great spot in Pacific Beach. Very well kept hotel, nice rooms and a very attentive staff. Stayed here during Christmas with the family and had a wonderful time. Hotel is nicely situated on the boardwalk. Staff was very helpful with local sites and restaurant recommendations. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShoeTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here during spring break with our family - the location of the hotel is right on the beach and within walking distance to shops etc. The hotel felt like a boutique hotel the staff are very friendly and worked well together. The front desk staff always welcomed us by name and were happy to help with the purchase of tickets for attractions or to just give us information about local venues. The rooms are big. very comfy beds and with a family of 4 we had room to spread out, it was EXTREMELY clean and well appointed with a large balcony that over looked the ocean. The only issue we had was that the breakfast selection was poor however it could work for others and there are many other places to eat around that are in walking distance. We as a family would highly recommend to ANY one who is looking for a great place to stay to do so at Pacific Terrace Hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great hotel, great location, well trained & enthusiastic staff
Wilson on the front desk was very helpful
We enjoyed dinner at Fat Fish nearby - Mexican
Ocean view rooms have fantastic views - great sunsets
Boardwalk right outside with lots going on
Choose between pool or beach - lots of surf
Underground car park very safe & secure

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I took our family of 5 to San Diego as a Christmas present. I wanted a family friendly hotel on the ocean. This hotel has it all. Great location right on the pacific ocean. Big rooms with very comfortable beds. Big bathrooms, flat screen TV, sink, fridge etc. We were on the 1st floor that walked right out to the pool area. This was perfect for us. Private patio leads to the pool area. There are gas fire pits at night, along with free cookies and drinks at the cantina. The staff at the hotel was terrific. Very friendly and ready to please. From the hotel you can walk along mission beach and find a lot of shops, restaurants, bars, breakfast places, coffee houses etc. The Zoo, Sea World, Harbor etc are all very close. No more that 20 min. We wish we were still there!

Room Tip: I would stay on the first floor in a room that walks out to the pool. Cheaper than the upper rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DP7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

There is so much to say about this property including many positive things, yet I want seasoned more mature and discerning travelers ( I include myself in this group)to be able to make an informed decision. The good news about PTH is the location and the bad news about PTH is the location. The beach is beautiful and most rooms have lovely ocean views. However, it is in a very noisy area that is not so desirable. I nearly tripped over someone sleeping against the wall of the hotel when I went out for an early morning walk as well as many sleeping on benches on the boardwalk. Another guest had a man come at her while on her terrace. I would not have ventured out alone at night.

The pool was unavailable for two days due to repairs which can happen but I had specifically inquired if there were any problems with any of the facilities and was told no. The hot tub was shut down another day. A different answer was given depending on to whom you asked.

The property is great for young families with young children and the young adult bar scene crowd. It is NOT a 4 star property and not for a quiet getaway. There are rules posted around the pool area but not enforced many screaming running children. People also smoke on the terrace even though I was told this is a non smoking property. Rooms are dated and somewhat dingy although spacious.

The vast majority of the staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make you comfortable especially Don the valet- he is management material. Kyle at the front desk is very professional and helpful as was the breakfast staff. The food is very good. The weekend manager was either incompetent, disinterested or both. If I brought up a problem he changed the subject. Walls are very thin and hope you get quiet people above you.

In summary, this is not a bad property but be clear about what you are looking for. This is a 3 star, family focused hotel.

Room Tip: Get a second or third floor for better views and security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,056 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
1,010 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $203 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing