We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Location”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with our 5 month old. The staff was very accommodating and the location was perfect as it was right on the beach and very close to shopping and restaurants. The rooms and views were excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a 3rd floor ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    343
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
771
742
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was so great. First the location is right on the beach by a lifeguard station. Second, the staff is wonderful, third the rooms and view are true to the website. We had a partial view room but I would say our view was full view. Also we had 2 kids 6 and 3 and could have had our whole vacation just within walking distance. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwithkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

OH My Goodness!
This is the place to be! if you are looking for a beautiful, ocean view, quiet, romantic, hotel or spot to celebrate something special quietly, the Pacific Terrace Hotel in San Diego is the place to be. Service is WONDERFUL! The staff really care if you are enjoying your stay. This was my 1st visit to this hotel and it will not be my last. I highly recommend this hotel, The view of the ocean was awesome. It is worth your money.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Make sure you request is a double (queen)or king bed room with a full OCEANVIEW. It is really, real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived for a 4 night stay and booked a partial sea view. We were provided an upgrade to a jr king suite.
Room was fantastic, well located and partial view of the ocean from our balcony.
Right on the beach - valet at $22was too much, but we got street parking 1 block away without cost.
Happy hour at 2 for 1 on all drinks was great value.
Beach towels provided and chair & buggy board rentals, free dependign on your room package.
Will definitely look to return in the future.
First class service from all staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Pacific Terrace Hotel is in a great location, right on the boardwalk overlooking the ocean with the most beautiful sunsets.
We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and we didn't regret it!
The staff are fantastic and leave you wanting for nothing. They almost fall over backwards to ensure you have the best stay possible.
We arrived to a complimentary bottle of Champagne on ice and a lovely card congratulating us on our wedding.
The rooms are comfortable with a fridge and up to date coffee making facilities. There is also fresh starbucks coffee available and apples at reception every morning.
The hotel also provide both beach and pool towels.
We enjoyed room service and the food was very nice, although breakfast was average charged at $14 per person.
The only negative comment I can make is the air conditioning does appear a little dated and can be noisy.
Parking can be a nightmare, but we fell lucky with a good spot near the hotel, otherwise it is a little pricey at $22 per night for valet parking.
The hotel also offers the turn down service, leaving chocolates and details of which staff are on duty for the following day and what the weather forecast is. The maids also did an excellent job everyday keeping the room clean and tidy, leaving a new 'towel animal' every day.
If we returned to San Diego we would definitely stay here again.
We paid approx. $280 per night which I feel was worth it, especially for the location. The attention from the staff is excellent and they are all so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Believe all rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouJon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband, 7 year old son and I spent a week here this month and I can't say enough about it. Location was amazing and the views are worth every penny. Breakfast buffet was so convenient and for the price, it was worth it. Staff are incredible and willing to go above and beyond to make your stay pleasent. The room was very nice and comfortable although I would agree the bathroom could do with a bit of a freshning up. The patio was so nice to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning and watch the surfers and dolphins. While I agree it would be nice for the hotel to have a restaurant, there are so many options just a few minutes walk away (I reccoment Fat Fish and Bite of Boston). If you are considering staying at this hotel, I assure you the pictures online do not lie...the views are that incredible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Worth every $$$. Great location on PB, within walking distance of some good restaurants. Loved the pool with comfortable lounges and a gorgeous view of the ocean. We were there to visiting our kids & grandkids and it was great to be able to invite them all to spend time with us at the hotel pool Management is very friendly and were gracious to our visitors. The breakfast buffet ($16pp) was adequate. Not gourmet but fresh and plentiful. Room was lovely. Very comfortable bed and finally and most importantly - friendly, professional staff. Will definately stay there again for a perfect vacation!

Room Tip: Second floor room with full ocean view is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V-MSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
923 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#21 of 278 in San Diego
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing