We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“When in San Diego, Do Yourself a Favor and Stay at Pacific Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“When in San Diego, Do Yourself a Favor and Stay at Pacific Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great stay. Everything was perfect from the time we checked in. Staff very knowledgable and everyone seemed to enjoy their jobs. Rooms are immaculate. Pictures I found of the rooms on the internet,were exactly what I got, no photoshopping. It was our first trip to San Diego and will definitely NOT be our last. Thanks to all at Pacific Terrace for welcoming your property to our family.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor which is the top floor, and had a great view of the pool, ocean and the Board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    318
    76
    40
    30
See reviews for
695
689
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here during a recent family vacation. Very service oriented staff and the rooms overlooking the pool and ocean were very nice, spacious and had good character. We could keep the sliding glass doors open all night without concern of temp or bugs, allowing the sound of the ocean to permeate the room. Great location and beach area. Overall it is not a cheap property but it shows well. Check out Tower 23's upscale setting for drinks, or Lahaina Grill for a fun barefoot low key beach deck happy hour. We visited Coronado briefly, Del Mar, and Ocean Beach. All very unique and different depending on the vibe you are seeking. Great meal at Trulucks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This a Nice hotel place right on the beach and in walking distance to a grocery store and many places to eat. The room we stayed in very clean. Staff is friendly you can borrow umbrellas beach towels and chairs for your entire stay. The Room had a small fridge and a microwave which is nice....We have stayed here several times and would stay here again

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. The front desk staff is terrific! Friendly, helpful and always delightful. The room was beautiful and provided a great view of the ocean. Housekeeping was efficient and very cooperative when we asked them to alter their schedule. Location is great--you can walk to numerous restaurants and shops. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rraklg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear rraklg,
Thank you for sharing your Pacific Terrace experience. I am glad to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your visit to San Diego. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the Desk and Housekeeping staff and please come see us again if you get our west.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our honeymoon & it was a great experience. The hotel is very nice, with great rooms, & we had a wonderful view of the beach & we able to sit on our patio watching people on the boardwalk. It was a wonderful stay all on all. Close to many restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Congratulations on your Wedding and thank you for spending your Honeymoon with us! The boardwalk is certainly great for people watching and I am glad you enjoyed the Pacific Beach area. We hope to celebrate many anniversaries with you in the future.
All the best from everyone at PT!
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed while traveling on a family vacation. Rooms are a little higher cost than what we would normally pay, but it was worth it during vacation. The hotel is in a great setting--oceanfront but with safe/easy walking access to many local restaurants and shops. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The rooms have nice amenities, and having a sizeable patio to walk around or sit on and look at the ocean really opens your room up. It was easy to go from the pool to the ocean and back. This was one of the most enjoyable stays on our entire trip. The only caution is that they get $22/night for self parking, which appears to be more than they need to charge. Still, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 nights with our 2 teen daughters. The location is fantastic - so close to everything you need for a beach vacation. The beach cruisers were a nice touch. While we didn't take advantage of all of the beach toys and setups, we will next time.

The rooms are very well appointed, clean and quite.

Happy hour with 2 for 1 was a nice touch along with the wine tasting. Nothing fancy, but just a nice touch.

The staff was fantastic. The Bell Service team was among the best I've ever experienced.

We had meals at Kono's, The Fishery, Papa Lunas, Caffe Bella Italia and Bare Back Grill. All were outstanding choices, very reasonably price and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Make sure you get on the 3rd floor. 2nd is OK, but 1st is not a very good view. Presidential Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billsinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello in Arizona!
Wonderful to hear about your stay and thanks for taking the time to write about your visit with us. Thank you for your compliments our Bell Staff, they are a hardworking group of guys with the best can-do attitudes. Looks like you did a restaurant tour of Pacific Beach- Papa Luna’s is one of my personal favorites. Café Bella Italia has new owners so I appreciate the feedback as we have not had a chance to stop in there since. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#1 of 282 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing