We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here during a recent family vacation. Very service oriented staff and the rooms overlooking the pool and ocean were very nice, spacious and had good character. We could keep the sliding glass doors open all night without concern of temp or bugs, allowing the sound of the ocean to permeate the room. Great location and beach area. Overall it is not a cheap property but it shows well. Check out Tower 23's upscale setting for drinks, or Lahaina Grill for a fun barefoot low key beach deck happy hour. We visited Coronado briefly, Del Mar, and Ocean Beach. All very unique and different depending on the vibe you are seeking. Great meal at Trulucks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Terrace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This a Nice hotel place right on the beach and in walking distance to a grocery store and many places to eat. The room we stayed in very clean. Staff is friendly you can borrow umbrellas beach towels and chairs for your entire stay. The Room had a small fridge and a microwave which is nice....We have stayed here several times and would stay here again

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. The front desk staff is terrific! Friendly, helpful and always delightful. The room was beautiful and provided a great view of the ocean. Housekeeping was efficient and very cooperative when we asked them to alter their schedule. Location is great--you can walk to numerous restaurants and shops. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rraklg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear rraklg,
Thank you for sharing your Pacific Terrace experience. I am glad to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your visit to San Diego. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the Desk and Housekeeping staff and please come see us again if you get our west.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our honeymoon & it was a great experience. The hotel is very nice, with great rooms, & we had a wonderful view of the beach & we able to sit on our patio watching people on the boardwalk. It was a wonderful stay all on all. Close to many restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Congratulations on your Wedding and thank you for spending your Honeymoon with us! The boardwalk is certainly great for people watching and I am glad you enjoyed the Pacific Beach area. We hope to celebrate many anniversaries with you in the future.
All the best from everyone at PT!
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed while traveling on a family vacation. Rooms are a little higher cost than what we would normally pay, but it was worth it during vacation. The hotel is in a great setting--oceanfront but with safe/easy walking access to many local restaurants and shops. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The rooms have nice amenities, and having a sizeable patio to walk around or sit on and look at the ocean really opens your room up. It was easy to go from the pool to the ocean and back. This was one of the most enjoyable stays on our entire trip. The only caution is that they get $22/night for self parking, which appears to be more than they need to charge. Still, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 nights with our 2 teen daughters. The location is fantastic - so close to everything you need for a beach vacation. The beach cruisers were a nice touch. While we didn't take advantage of all of the beach toys and setups, we will next time.

The rooms are very well appointed, clean and quite.

Happy hour with 2 for 1 was a nice touch along with the wine tasting. Nothing fancy, but just a nice touch.

The staff was fantastic. The Bell Service team was among the best I've ever experienced.

We had meals at Kono's, The Fishery, Papa Lunas, Caffe Bella Italia and Bare Back Grill. All were outstanding choices, very reasonably price and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Make sure you get on the 3rd floor. 2nd is OK, but 1st is not a very good view. Presidential Suite...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billsinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello in Arizona!
Wonderful to hear about your stay and thanks for taking the time to write about your visit with us. Thank you for your compliments our Bell Staff, they are a hardworking group of guys with the best can-do attitudes. Looks like you did a restaurant tour of Pacific Beach- Papa Luna’s is one of my personal favorites. Café Bella Italia has new owners so I appreciate the feedback as we have not had a chance to stop in there since. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

PACIFIC TERRACE HOTEL
SAN DIEGO, CA
July 13 – July 17, 2013

The Pacific Terrace Hotel is extraordinary in virtually every area. You don’t have to read all the way to the end to know that I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I could afford it.

Customer service was over-the-top attentive from the reservationist, tortured by the most delightful man trying to get it just right (and doing so), to the concierge to the food-service staff to the pool staff to the garage attendants to the maintenance staff. Have I forgotten anyone?

We arrived prior to our guaranteed check-in time of 4pm and, sure enough, we were told our room wouldn’t be ready until the “guaranteed check-in time of 4pm”. I admit, I wondered if our room wasn’t ready earlier. They were consistent when mentioning the scripted phrase “guaranteed check-in time of 4pm”. And, as promised, our room was ready at exactly 4pm. In the meantime, we were able to use the facilities and that was nice. There was a place to change into our suits and we enjoyed the pool while we waited.

We splurged on a full ocean view room with a balcony that couldn’t be seen from any other balcony (Room 206). The king sized bed was comfortable with plush linens everywhere. There was a mini kitchen with basic accessories, a mini fridge, microwave and a Keurig, although ours didn’t work. I didn’t mention it. The extras for the coffee included plastic wrapped flatware and powdered creamer that I wouldn’t have used.

The bathroom was large with nice amenities. It should be mentioned that, at 5’7” tall, I had a hard time reaching the shower head and it didn’t adjust to a lower position.

The windows had very cool large louvered wooden shutters that opened in the wrong direction. Instead of opening from the center out, they opened toward each other, leaving you with shutters sticking out.

The pool offered an ocean view with a glass enclosure. Beyond the glass enclosure was the boardwalk and then the beach. Plush towels were available with hooded tops that fit over the top of the lounge chairs. Also available were large, plush beach towels. The pool water was a perfect temperature and the pool was clean. There was a small hot tub that wasn’t hot. It didn’t appear clean. That was the biggest disappointment. I really needed that hot tub. That was a priority when choosing a place to stay.

There were a few covered cabanas that, although often occupied, were available at reasonable hours. Other than the cabanas, there was no shade at the pool. There were tables on the other side of the fence where there was shade. Food was served and the ocean was still in view.

Sitting there, late one night, security came around to turn off the heaters, but was kind enough to leave the one on above me. Security was exceptional with a room card needed to get in everywhere.

The hotel offered nice beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and bicycles at no charge. That might have been the only thing that was at no charge. Parking was $22 a day. Breakfast was $14 per person a day and was good but not worth the price. There were four hot dishes including eggs and a waffle station along with continental style extras. I was disappointed to see instant packets of oatmeal at a hotel of this caliber. The menu didn’t change much during our 4-day stay.

Even in prime season, the prices seemed a bit extreme, considering our room was over $500 per night. In all fairness, though, after a mention of a minor complaint, they compensated us with some discounts. Even though their prices are padded and they have the ability to do so, they didn't have to.

My friend, a resident of San Diego was told he could get the same room in January for $200. I would come back in January. I would come back if I could afford it. Splurge.

Room Tip: We were told Room 206 was the 3rd nicest room in the place. Which were 1st and 2nd?
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
973 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $264 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing