We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as our base to San Diego's attractions, and we were not disappointed. Loved the attention to detail, miss little towel elephant on my bed and the best moisturaiser I've had in years. Staff was great. I'd stay here again...

Room Tip: Ask for room on the first floor if yoiu have a toddler, they tend to run around the resort if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leki_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,507
    343
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
777
745
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Vegas to get married.

The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the beach, but also has a lovely secluded pool if you don't fancy getting sandy.

Rooms are clean and well decorated, but the staff are exceptional, and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Only had a day in San Diego and chose this wonderful beach-front hotel to make the most of it. Hotel sits above the beach so beach access is down some stairs. There is a bike and running path right outside the door. Left the balcony door open to hear the ocean at night. I want to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It all began with Stephanie – more of a crisis counselor than a reservations agent. For at least 15 minutes, she patiently and calmly managed to find a room to my specifications within days of arrival…then remained patient and calm when I changed my mind and canceled everything she’d work on…than again when I called later to put everything back the way it was. She is just representative of a fabulous staff. They seem not just glad to know you, but share part of their lives as well. (This makes it feel as if they want to know you, instead of have to.) Some plan to stay put; others are on the way to other adventures. But all make you feel as though making your day makes theirs.

A very good place more than meets your needs. A great place does all that and also anticipates your wishes. After running out of yogurt parfaits at breakfast, they volunteered to make more and put them in our room ‘frig. After a truly minor quibble about said buffet, they removed the charge entirely – without asking. (Unless you’re the New York Times food critic, the breakfast buffet is fine. If it were better it would be more expensive – and then people would complain about that.) Their valet patiently waited for >10 minutes while we tried to figure out how to get our luggage into a convertible whose folded top left the trunk little more than another glove compartment.

Be warned that the ocean is loud. Yes; I overheard someone actually complaining about this. (What a dark, unhappy life they must lead.) Every room is so close to the beach that the ocean waves are so noisy you’ll have trouble conversing on your cell phone. However, if you’re worried about making phone calls, just stay home. The ocean: Best. White noise. Ever.

At high-end properties, reviews are often impacted by how one perceives the value. This, in turn, is impacted by price. If you book in advance (unlike me), they sometimes have discounts and specials. If you book a partial-ocean-view (most reviewers found it fine), you’ll pay less. If you pay $500+ instead of $300, you tend to be less tolerant and more demanding. Keep that in mind when you read other reviews. There are a lot of rental condos around for probably less money that could suffice – for when you want to feel economical. If sometimes you’d rather feel special and pampered, a rental condo won’t suffice.

The property is small; ~75 rooms. So, it feels more homey than overwhelming. Just understand that, as a result, the number of staff in each category is limited. You may need to wait a bit for a valet or to have your free rental bike brought to you. But, if you’re in a huge hurry, you are an unrepentant Type-A personality, and shouldn’t be on vacation anyway.

This hotel has numerous recent reviews that already detail the property and its surroundings. One thing I will mention involves the boardwalk that borders the hotel, separate by a clear wall. Yes: at times, when you’re at the pool or on your balcony, you sometimes feel like a fish in an aquarium. However, you know that those looking in – just for the few moments they’re strolling by – really, really wish they were one of those fish.

Room Tip: Ocean-front king suites (compared with partial ocean view room) have balconies that are more hidden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleRefuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is amazing! The price was a little out of our budget, so we were a little hesitant to stay here. In fact, we made a reservation then cancelled once we found a cheaper place to stay. Big mistake on our part!!! We spent one miserable night in our cheaper choice and knew within 10 minutes of seeing the room, we were in trouble! My husband immediately called Pacific Terrace and they were able to get us in a room for the following night. Upon arriving at Pacific Terrace, we were treated with such hospitality! We had the choice to upgrade our room for a small fee and were shown both rooms before we made our decision. We ultimately stayed with our original because both rooms were great!! We were given a partial ocean view room, but I really do not think there are many rooms that the view is not phenomenal!! The boardwalk runs right in front of the hotel with the beach just on the other side. There are many places to eat within walking distance, and the hotel provides a list of their recommendations. Breakfast is served every morning for a fee. $14 for adults and I believe, $8 for children. They serve complimentary drinks throughout the day and fresh baked cookies during the evening. You can also have USA Today delivered to your room daily. This is also complimentary. They offer valet parking for an additional fee on top of the $22 a night parking fee. The parking is in a parking garage beneath the hotel that is gated at night. My husband loved this! His vehicle is very precious to him! :) The staff is exceptionally helpful and polite. We were always told to have a wonderful day upon leaving and welcomed back upon returning. The rooms are very clean and Eco-friendly (for those, like myself, who appreciate that in a hotel) My husband and I especially like the towel animals and chocolates on our bed each night when we returned! :) I really could go on and on about the Pacific Terrace hotel! We will NEVER stay anywhere else during future visits to Pacific Beach. Again, it's a little pricey, but well worth the money!! if you are looking for a great hotel right on the beach, you won't be sorry you stayed here!!

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view. We chose this option to save a little on the cost. I was so happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had an amazing stay at the Pacific Terrace hotel! It is right on the beach and the staff is fantastic especially Cameron and Dan were so helpful and friendly! We love them! The hotel is at a perfect location and I will definitely stay here again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location. Rooms are always clean. Staff are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. They have added a breakfast buffet since our last stay which was nice. Pool area is always imaculant. I apologize I cannot remember her name, but a special shout out to the young lady whose husband is a wildfire firefighter. Super nice and friendly. makes you feel right at home

Room Tip: beware, local taxes really add to your overall room cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
944 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing